Bitcoin Forum
May 15, 2021, 09:38:56 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.21.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Why is the maximum target 00000000ffff00...00?  (Read 1756 times)
codemojo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 19, 2011, 01:25:47 PM
 #1

This is probably a silly question, but why is maxtarget:

Code:
00000000ffff0000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000

Since sha256 hash has 32 bits, shouldn't the maximum possible target be:

Code:
ffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffff
1621071536
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1621071536

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1621071536
Reply with quote  #2

1621071536
Report to moderator
1621071536
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1621071536

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1621071536
Reply with quote  #2

1621071536
Report to moderator
1621071536
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1621071536

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1621071536
Reply with quote  #2

1621071536
Report to moderator
"You Asked For Change, We Gave You Coins" -- casascius
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1621071536
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1621071536

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1621071536
Reply with quote  #2

1621071536
Report to moderator
1621071536
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1621071536

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1621071536
Reply with quote  #2

1621071536
Report to moderator
gigitrix
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 697
Merit: 500



View Profile
May 19, 2011, 01:28:29 PM
 #2

Yeah, but you'd be sending data with every single calculation.

Satoshi started it off to be "easy", but he didn't make it generate 50 coins per single hash!
codemojo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 19, 2011, 02:06:39 PM
 #3

Yeah, but you'd be sending data with every single calculation.

Satoshi started it off to be "easy", but he didn't make it generate 50 coins per single hash!

Thanks, I see now that the other calculations take the actual maximum into account:

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Difficulty
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!