Bitcoin Forum
October 14, 2019, 07:00:16 AM *
News: If you like a topic and you see an orange "bump" link, click it. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: [Review 10] Spondoolies SP20 - Tortured  (Read 1828 times)
Syke
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3108
Merit: 1036


View Profile
December 18, 2014, 01:53:51 AM
Last edit: December 19, 2014, 12:36:59 AM by Syke
 #1

I received my review unit from Spondoolies on Monday. https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=887807.0 As noted elsewhere, the unit was packed nicely. I appreciated the all-cardboard packaging which is fully recycled where I live.

Environment
Since I'm cold blooded, I like my place warm. Really warm. My old BitFury miners also love the heat. Let's see how the SP20 fares.

Setup
My Antec HCP-1300 Platinum 1300W PSU was ready and waiting. Most PSUs have a color coded mb connector wires, but this one has all black wires. I grabbed what I thought were the right two pins and plugged in my paperclip. Lights come on and the SP20 connects to the network. Must be the right two pins, right? I surf to myminer.io and see my machine up and running. I click on it and go to the Pools page and input my pool credentials. But the miner just won't mine. It's only using 4 watts and the supposedly loud fan isn't spinning. It finally occurs to me that the paperclip might be in the wrong pins. I switch to the right pins and this time the fan lets me know I found the right pins.
.

Tweaking
My BitFury miners are quite tweakable, but it's very difficult to do so (adding/removing cards, editing config files). But their modularity and tweakability allows me to maximize my hashrate per electrical circuit. While not modular, the SP20 allows very easy tweaking of voltage and power. Here are the results. All tests at 100% fan and 40c intake temperature.

VoltageWattage at wallGH/s
.657101240
.7010051468
.7511101520
.7911501534

Since my PSU is more than sufficient, the limiting factor in performance is the temps. The SP20's single exhaust fan just doesn't move enough air when in a hot room. Half the chips get hot air from the other half, like the old dual GPU 5970, so they get clocked down significantly. I wish there was also an intake fan on the other end for a nice push-pull configuration. This would also lower fan noise, although noise is not a concern for me. A half-size SP20 where the airflow goes over a single set of chips would also work well.

Summary
The SP20 excels in quality construction and ease of setup. Provide a good PSU and turn it on. It'll adjust itself for maximum performance, even in a hot room.  Later when efficiency becomes more important, lowering the voltage will come in very handy. Recent price drops by Spondoolies make the SP20 one of the best buys in the market.

Buy & Hold
1571036416
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571036416

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571036416
Reply with quote  #2

1571036416
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1571036416
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571036416

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571036416
Reply with quote  #2

1571036416
Report to moderator
raskul
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 250



View Profile
December 18, 2014, 03:22:10 AM
 #2

 Undecided 40 is quite a warm ambient


review made me LOL thanks.

tips    1APp826DqjJBdsAeqpEstx6Q8hD4urac8a
wh00per
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 570
Merit: 500



View Profile
December 18, 2014, 03:49:31 AM
 #3

Undecided 40 is quite a warm ambient


review made me LOL thanks.

This is what you get in California these days ..

CSA/cUL Certified Power Distribution Panels - Basic, Switched, Metered. 1-3 phases. Up to 600V. NMC:N4F9qvHz11BHcc4nh1LCJFsrZhA1EWgVwj
Guy Corem
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232
Merit: 1029


Spondoolies, Beam & DAGlabs


View Profile WWW
December 20, 2014, 09:20:59 AM
 #4

...
Summary
The SP20 excels in quality construction and ease of setup. Provide a good PSU and turn it on. It'll adjust itself for maximum performance, even in a hot room.  Later when efficiency becomes more important, lowering the voltage will come in very handy. Recent price drops by Spondoolies make the SP20 one of the best buys in the market.
Thank you for the review.

New Mimblewimble implementation: https://www.beam.mw
Spondoolies is back with the SPx36: https://www.spondoolies-tech.com/products/spx36
johnyj
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1848
Merit: 1000


Beyond Imagination


View Profile
December 20, 2014, 10:09:43 PM
 #5


Since my PSU is more than sufficient, the limiting factor in performance is the temps. The SP20's single exhaust fan just doesn't move enough air when in a hot room. Half the chips get hot air from the other half, like the old dual GPU 5970, so they get clocked down significantly. I wish there was also an intake fan on the other end for a nice push-pull configuration. This would also lower fan noise, although noise is not a concern for me. A half-size SP20 where the airflow goes over a single set of chips would also work well.


By opening the top cover and leave those two intake holes wide open for the highest temp ASIC, you can increase the cooling for the hottest ASICs thus improve the performance


wh00per
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 570
Merit: 500



View Profile
December 20, 2014, 10:17:17 PM
 #6

opening the unit voids something .. not sure what ..

CSA/cUL Certified Power Distribution Panels - Basic, Switched, Metered. 1-3 phases. Up to 600V. NMC:N4F9qvHz11BHcc4nh1LCJFsrZhA1EWgVwj
Syke
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3108
Merit: 1036


View Profile
December 20, 2014, 10:37:59 PM
 #7

opening the unit voids something .. not sure what ..


Buy & Hold
johnyj
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1848
Merit: 1000


Beyond Imagination


View Profile
December 21, 2014, 12:54:14 AM
 #8

opening the unit voids something .. not sure what ..

Ok, I'm not responsible for the damage cause by my advise, it is just some try and error experiment for my own amusement  Cool

AJRGale
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 768
Merit: 500



View Profile
December 23, 2014, 05:43:38 AM
 #9

opening the unit voids something .. not sure what ..

Ok, I'm not responsible for the damage cause by my advise, it is just some try and error experiment for my own amusement  Cool

You made me Poke a SCREWDRIVER though my Mommaboard! Ima Sue you!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!