Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 03:10:24 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: [Solved]poclbm.exe and cpu usage  (Read 6084 times)
pekv2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770



View Profile
June 25, 2012, 02:37:23 AM
 #1

Solved: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=89736.msg989555#msg989555

poclbm.exe suppose to use so much cpu usage? I'm on 12.1 ccc with 2.5 sdk.

1481339424
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481339424

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481339424
Reply with quote  #2

1481339424
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481339424
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481339424

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481339424
Reply with quote  #2

1481339424
Report to moderator
1481339424
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481339424

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481339424
Reply with quote  #2

1481339424
Report to moderator
Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
June 25, 2012, 02:41:48 AM
 #2

poclbm.exe suppose to use so much cpu usage? I'm on 12.1 ccc with 2.5 sdk.



o.0 I literally just typed a whole paragraph down and then went "wait what the fuck. he's got the optimum drivers... the bug should be gone"

Is your aggression really high? I hear that somepeople get cpu usage from that... But your at 100%, Suggesting that peices of other drivers are still laying around, Still causing you the bug..

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
pekv2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770



View Profile
June 25, 2012, 04:12:05 AM
 #3

poclbm.exe suppose to use so much cpu usage? I'm on 12.1 ccc with 2.5 sdk.



o.0 I literally just typed a whole paragraph down and then went "wait what the fuck. he's got the optimum drivers... the bug should be gone"

Is your aggression really high? I hear that somepeople get cpu usage from that... But your at 100%, Suggesting that peices of other drivers are still laying around, Still causing you the bug..

I did have 11.12, and installed 12.1 over it.  I am using these flags -v -w128 -f 1 on both miners.

I been sitting here mining the whole time, thinking, man, didn't they fix this. So had to ask, what is going on.
scifimike12
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 304



View Profile
June 25, 2012, 04:26:55 AM
 #4

Try going back to CCC 11.12.  I didn't experience any CPU bug with the same settings when I had 5xxx/6xxx cards.
pekv2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770



View Profile
June 25, 2012, 05:21:31 AM
 #5

And if I recall correctly, back in nov-dec 2011, the cpu bug was still there, but for some, it was fixed and others not.
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288



View Profile
June 25, 2012, 11:20:20 AM
 #6

IIRC, 11.12 and beyond come with 2.6 SDK, not 2.5.

Anyways, I use 11.12 + 2.1 SDK on all my rigs and phoenix 2 miner, no cpu bug

12% cpu indicates you have an 8 core cpu? If its a single core cpu though.. 12% sounds "ok" to me, might have a weird setting which causes exponentially higher cpu with higher aggressions/lower -f flags. I had that for a while, but it eventually fixe ditself with a driver change, but I dont know which. It was a long time ago.

pekv2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770



View Profile
June 25, 2012, 12:57:37 PM
 #7

IIRC, 11.12 and beyond come with 2.6 SDK, not 2.5.

Anyways, I use 11.12 + 2.1 SDK on all my rigs and phoenix 2 miner, no cpu bug

12% cpu indicates you have an 8 core cpu? If its a single core cpu though.. 12% sounds "ok" to me, might have a weird setting which causes exponentially higher cpu with higher aggressions/lower -f flags. I had that for a while, but it eventually fixe ditself with a driver change, but I dont know which. It was a long time ago.

I am sure 11.12 comes with 2.6 sdk, but as stated, I have 12.1 with 2.5 SDK installed.

Yea ppl keep telling me they are using 2.1 with 11.12, dunno how but they are.

I have a duel core processor with HT. I3-2100.
Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
June 25, 2012, 02:54:49 PM
 #8

IIRC, 11.12 and beyond come with 2.6 SDK, not 2.5.

Anyways, I use 11.12 + 2.1 SDK on all my rigs and phoenix 2 miner, no cpu bug

12% cpu indicates you have an 8 core cpu? If its a single core cpu though.. 12% sounds "ok" to me, might have a weird setting which causes exponentially higher cpu with higher aggressions/lower -f flags. I had that for a while, but it eventually fixe ditself with a driver change, but I dont know which. It was a long time ago.

I am sure 11.12 comes with 2.6 sdk, but as stated, I have 12.1 with 2.5 SDK installed.

Yea ppl keep telling me they are using 2.1 with 11.12, dunno how but they are.

I have a duel core processor with HT. I3-2100.

So you have Four selectable cores? 12% isnt that bad atall... it would be at 25% if you had a Bug pegging your core, have you tried messing with the -f param?

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
pekv2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770



View Profile
June 25, 2012, 07:03:22 PM
 #9

IIRC, 11.12 and beyond come with 2.6 SDK, not 2.5.

Anyways, I use 11.12 + 2.1 SDK on all my rigs and phoenix 2 miner, no cpu bug

12% cpu indicates you have an 8 core cpu? If its a single core cpu though.. 12% sounds "ok" to me, might have a weird setting which causes exponentially higher cpu with higher aggressions/lower -f flags. I had that for a while, but it eventually fixe ditself with a driver change, but I dont know which. It was a long time ago.

I am sure 11.12 comes with 2.6 sdk, but as stated, I have 12.1 with 2.5 SDK installed.

Yea ppl keep telling me they are using 2.1 with 11.12, dunno how but they are.

I have a duel core processor with HT. I3-2100.

So you have Four selectable cores? 12% isnt that bad atall... it would be at 25% if you had a Bug pegging your core, have you tried messing with the -f param?

Yea, the cores aren't fully utilized, for core 0 is for workerone, core 1 is for workertwo. If I set core 0 for both workers, either workerone or two will get horrible mhash/s.

Crap, that is what the problem was. I changed the f 1 flag to f 10, I am receiving 00 cpu utilization on both miners. Why would this be?
pekv2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770



View Profile
June 25, 2012, 07:08:30 PM
 #10

Small donation sent to you, jackrabbit & ssateneth.
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288



View Profile
June 26, 2012, 01:19:38 AM
 #11

Small donation sent to you, jackrabbit & ssateneth.

Lower f number = higher aggression = typically more cpu. It means the GPU is working a larger set of nonces before finishing work and asking for more.

If poclbm -f argument is anything like diablominer -f, it is essentially trying to complete an entire kernel run -f amount of times per second. Assuming a 1 ghash/sec GPU, -f 1 would attempt to complete an 1 billion hashes in a single kernel run before asking for more nonces to hash, which would be about once every second. -f 10 would attempt to complete 100 million hashes per kernel run, requiring new nonce ranges 10 times per second. -f 100 would do 10 million hashes per kernel run and ask for more nonce ranges 100 times/second. Requiring new work more often generally leaves the gpu more open to other requests, such as rendering desktop, or games, or whatever, which means less lag.

Some drivers had a bug that made high cpu usage with higher aggressions.

Lastly, people use 2.1 SDK by installing the standalone SDK here https://dl.dropbox.com/u/9768004/ATIStreamSDK_dev.msi or locating it on AMD's website (The .msi I linked is part of the package that AMD offers for 2.1 SDK, but it is the only thing you need to enable 2.1 sdk. Everything else is useless as far as mining goes). It is an entirely different platform than AMD APP (2.4+) so it can be installed at the same time. Your miner needs to be able to select a different platform though. Some miners don't allow you to do this though, but instead list the same device under a different platform as a different device, so you would mine under the "new" device. Say you had 2 5870's. Generally, your newer SDK would come up first (AMD APP) and you would have device 0 and 1, and maybe device 2 if the miner shows cpu devices as well. SDK 2.1 would be listed after that and show device 3 (cpu) then device 4 and 5 as the 5870's. For some reason, 2.1 SDK lists the CPU as the first device. AMD APP lists the CPU as the last device.

Oh, TY for donation too

pekv2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770



View Profile
June 26, 2012, 01:59:37 AM
 #12

You're welcomed. Great explanation. I tried to install 2.1, but it said, a higher version is already installed.
pekv2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770



View Profile
June 26, 2012, 03:54:41 AM
 #13


Lower f number = higher aggression = typically more cpu. It means the GPU is working a larger set of nonces before finishing work and asking for more.

If poclbm -f argument is anything like diablominer -f, it is essentially trying to complete an entire kernel run -f amount of times per second. Assuming a 1 ghash/sec GPU, -f 1 would attempt to complete an 1 billion hashes in a single kernel run before asking for more nonces to hash, which would be about once every second. -f 10 would attempt to complete 100 million hashes per kernel run, requiring new nonce ranges 10 times per second. -f 100 would do 10 million hashes per kernel run and ask for more nonce ranges 100 times/second. Requiring new work more often generally leaves the gpu more open to other requests, such as rendering desktop, or games, or whatever, which means less lag.

Some drivers had a bug that made high cpu usage with higher aggressions.

Lastly, people use 2.1 SDK by installing the standalone SDK here https://dl.dropbox.com/u/9768004/ATIStreamSDK_dev.msi or locating it on AMD's website (The .msi I linked is part of the package that AMD offers for 2.1 SDK, but it is the only thing you need to enable 2.1 sdk. Everything else is useless as far as mining goes). It is an entirely different platform than AMD APP (2.4+) so it can be installed at the same time. Your miner needs to be able to select a different platform though. Some miners don't allow you to do this though, but instead list the same device under a different platform as a different device, so you would mine under the "new" device. Say you had 2 5870's. Generally, your newer SDK would come up first (AMD APP) and you would have device 0 and 1, and maybe device 2 if the miner shows cpu devices as well. SDK 2.1 would be listed after that and show device 3 (cpu) then device 4 and 5 as the 5870's. For some reason, 2.1 SDK lists the CPU as the first device. AMD APP lists the CPU as the last device.

Oh, TY for donation too

Ok, I got the standalone installed. I see the extra devices under GUIMiner. It's mining away with 12.1ccc & 2.1 SDK.

From what I can tell for 2.1 & 2.5, either they both seem to mine away at the same speeds or 2.1 might seem more stable at mhash/s or 2.1 seems like it might have lost 1 or 2 mhash/s. Very hard to tell if there is a difference. And actually, my desktop is laggy when 2.1 is used in which I believe you had stated something about this previously. Good to know that I got this working though, with 2.1 and learned about the extra devices.

So, from your experience, what difference can you tell between 2.1 and 2.5?

ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288



View Profile
June 26, 2012, 08:30:07 AM
 #14


Lower f number = higher aggression = typically more cpu. It means the GPU is working a larger set of nonces before finishing work and asking for more.

If poclbm -f argument is anything like diablominer -f, it is essentially trying to complete an entire kernel run -f amount of times per second. Assuming a 1 ghash/sec GPU, -f 1 would attempt to complete an 1 billion hashes in a single kernel run before asking for more nonces to hash, which would be about once every second. -f 10 would attempt to complete 100 million hashes per kernel run, requiring new nonce ranges 10 times per second. -f 100 would do 10 million hashes per kernel run and ask for more nonce ranges 100 times/second. Requiring new work more often generally leaves the gpu more open to other requests, such as rendering desktop, or games, or whatever, which means less lag.

Some drivers had a bug that made high cpu usage with higher aggressions.

Lastly, people use 2.1 SDK by installing the standalone SDK here https://dl.dropbox.com/u/9768004/ATIStreamSDK_dev.msi or locating it on AMD's website (The .msi I linked is part of the package that AMD offers for 2.1 SDK, but it is the only thing you need to enable 2.1 sdk. Everything else is useless as far as mining goes). It is an entirely different platform than AMD APP (2.4+) so it can be installed at the same time. Your miner needs to be able to select a different platform though. Some miners don't allow you to do this though, but instead list the same device under a different platform as a different device, so you would mine under the "new" device. Say you had 2 5870's. Generally, your newer SDK would come up first (AMD APP) and you would have device 0 and 1, and maybe device 2 if the miner shows cpu devices as well. SDK 2.1 would be listed after that and show device 3 (cpu) then device 4 and 5 as the 5870's. For some reason, 2.1 SDK lists the CPU as the first device. AMD APP lists the CPU as the last device.

Oh, TY for donation too

Ok, I got the standalone installed. I see the extra devices under GUIMiner. It's mining away with 12.1ccc & 2.1 SDK.

From what I can tell for 2.1 & 2.5, either they both seem to mine away at the same speeds or 2.1 might seem more stable at mhash/s or 2.1 seems like it might have lost 1 or 2 mhash/s. Very hard to tell if there is a difference. And actually, my desktop is laggy when 2.1 is used in which I believe you had stated something about this previously. Good to know that I got this working though, with 2.1 and learned about the extra devices.

So, from your experience, what difference can you tell between 2.1 and 2.5?



2.1 is generally a more aggressive SDK. You will notice more desktop lag and even mouse lag at lower aggressions on 2.1 compared to 2.4/2.5. It's great for dedicated 5xxx/60xx-68xx cards. You may need to use slightly different memory speeds or miner/kernel settings, but for me, its a couple mhash more per card using phoenix + phatk2

Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
June 26, 2012, 04:43:10 PM
 #15

Small donation sent to you, jackrabbit & ssateneth.
Thankyou so very very much!, I have not yet loaded my client to see the amount but im still super happy to have finally gotten a tip for attempting to help

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!