Bitcoin Forum
November 23, 2017, 03:03:36 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Mining without bitcoin-qt.exe?  (Read 2045 times)
bitcoinnewbie
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
June 25, 2012, 11:18:40 PM
 #1

Hi,
I've read a lot about Bitcoin and have decided to try solo mining. I realize that it's a bit like playing the lottery now - probably not economical to do so, usually - but operational costs are not a concern for me at this time. However, I have run into problems with the bitcoin official client, bitcoin-qt.exe: after two unintended shutdowns, I got the error with the blkindex.dat file. I know I can clear appdata and reinstall it, but that requires spending hours downloading the blocks all over again each time, and I suspect further shutdowns may occur so it'll be quite a pain having to re-do it each time. I'm using guiminer and it seems to require this particular client for solo mining. Is there any other client with faster load times and/or a different miner I can try? Is it possible to solo mine with a light client, or no client at all?

Thank you.
1511449416
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511449416

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511449416
Reply with quote  #2

1511449416
Report to moderator
1511449416
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511449416

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511449416
Reply with quote  #2

1511449416
Report to moderator
1511449416
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511449416

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511449416
Reply with quote  #2

1511449416
Report to moderator
It is a common myth that Bitcoin is ruled by a majority of miners. This is not true. Bitcoin miners "vote" on the ordering of transactions, but that's all they do. They can't vote to change the network rules.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511449416
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511449416

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511449416
Reply with quote  #2

1511449416
Report to moderator
1511449416
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511449416

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511449416
Reply with quote  #2

1511449416
Report to moderator
1511449416
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511449416

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511449416
Reply with quote  #2

1511449416
Report to moderator
janbanan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
June 26, 2012, 07:26:32 AM
 #2

first; let me discourage you from solo mining, a pool will provide a more stable income.
bitcoind is a headless daemon you could use instead of bitcoin-qt.
NothinG
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560



View Profile
June 26, 2012, 07:31:56 AM
 #3

You don't need the Bitcoin client to mine coins in pools, which is recommended unless you're pushing +20Gh/s.

If you want to download the latest (nightly) copy of the blockchain for restores, check out http://eu1.bitcoincharts.com/blockchain/.

bitcoinnewbie
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
June 26, 2012, 07:54:42 AM
 #4

Yeah, I know I probably won't strike it lucky, but as a newbie to this, solo mining is something I'd like to try once before probably inevitably giving up on it. Thanks, I'll look into bitcoind. If I download the latest blockchain from http://eu1.bitcoincharts.com/blockchain/ will that correct the blkindex.dat error on a current bitcoin client installation?
NothinG
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560



View Profile
June 26, 2012, 08:14:55 AM
 #5

Yeah, I know I probably won't strike it lucky, but as a newbie to this, solo mining is something I'd like to try once before probably inevitably giving up on it. Thanks, I'll look into bitcoind. If I download the latest blockchain from http://eu1.bitcoincharts.com/blockchain/ will that correct the blkindex.dat error on a current bitcoin client installation?
It should.

If not, make sure you're at the latest Bitcoin version (0.6.3).

Gabi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078


If you want to walk on water, get out of the boat


View Profile
June 26, 2012, 09:51:01 AM
 #6

You need to run it if you want to mine with P2Pool, wich i suggest.

Or there are some pools based on it, you can mine on them without having bitcoin-qt.exe running
bitcoinnewbie
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
June 26, 2012, 09:54:59 AM
 #7

Well I am mainly concerned with solo mining at this time. I just want to try it awhile and see what happens. Thanks to this forum's assistance I have fixed some problems and am now mining for the first time. In other news, today I made my first bitcoins (from some ad viewing program). A whole 0.00306. I'm rich.  Wink
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!