Bitcoin Forum
September 22, 2018, 02:28:54 AM *
News: ♦♦ New info! Bitcoin Core users absolutely must upgrade to previously-announced 0.16.3 [Torrent]. All Bitcoin users should temporarily trust confirmations slightly less. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How much Data/Month Would a Miner use?  (Read 2714 times)
ac130
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 25, 2014, 09:16:35 PM
 #1

I am getting a Miner that is 10TH/s.  I am going to be putting it in my grandpa's hangar where there isn't any Electricity bills.  I need a internet connection there so I was thinking of getting a 4G router instead of a traditional internet connection, since I don't want any data overages I need to get the right data plan.  So how much would it use?


Also is this a trusted site?:  https://www.minerslab.com/product/smart-miner-2-se-10ths-rack-mount-bitcoin-miner/
1537583334
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537583334

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537583334
Reply with quote  #2

1537583334
Report to moderator
1537583334
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537583334

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537583334
Reply with quote  #2

1537583334
Report to moderator
Einax Airdrops and Bounties made easy! List your ERC-20 token
FREE
ETH markets launching soon!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
mufa23
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 1000


I'd fight Gandhi.


View Profile
December 25, 2014, 09:18:35 PM
 #2

Hold on a second, I'm pulling up my specs right now...

EDIT:
Alright, it looks like with my setup I'd do under 3GB per month. It's only pulling 1KB/s at max. You could mine on an old POTS dial-up line. It basically sends small texts back and forth. It's hardly any data. And when the stratum protocol came out, it made it even less.

And I've never heard of the website. I'm running some AntMiners.

Positive rep with: pekv2, AzN1337c0d3r, Vince Torres, underworld07, Chimsley, omegaaf, Bogart, Gleason, SuperTramp, John K. and guitarplinker
mwizard
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 205
Merit: 100


View Profile
December 25, 2014, 10:51:33 PM
 #3

I am getting a Miner that is 10TH/s.  I am going to be putting it in my grandpa's hangar where there isn't any Electricity bills.  I need a internet connection there so I was thinking of getting a 4G router instead of a traditional internet connection, since I don't want any data overages I need to get the right data plan.  So how much would it use?


Also is this a trusted site?:  https://www.minerslab.com/product/smart-miner-2-se-10ths-rack-mount-bitcoin-miner/

That site has all the signs of being a total scam.  It is just too good to be true.  

For example they claim to use a 20nm ASIC chip.  As far as I know KNC are the only people with 20nm chips and that took a major development effort.

Also drawing just 2100 Watts to run 10 Terrahash makes it the most energy efficient miner I have ever heard off, by a wide margin.

I like their 10 year warranty.  It would be nice if it was all true.

There are also lots of other indicators of this being a scam - exactly 500 Facebook likes,  no prior history etc etc.

In summary treat minerslab as a total scam.
ac130
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 25, 2014, 11:12:33 PM
 #4

Hold on a second, I'm pulling up my specs right now...

EDIT:
Alright, it looks like with my setup I'd do under 3GB per month. It's only pulling 1KB/s at max. You could mine on an old POTS dial-up line. It basically sends small texts back and forth. It's hardly any data. And when the stratum protocol came out, it made it even less.

And I've never heard of the website. I'm running some AntMiners.

Thanks for your input.

Also what miner would you recommend?  [Power draw doesn't matter]

I was thinking http://www.spondoolies-tech.com/products/sp35-yukon-power-shipping-from-stock or the previous one if the site turns up to be legit.
TheRealSteve
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686
Merit: 500

FUN > ROI


View Profile
December 25, 2014, 11:15:00 PM
 #5

re: the subject line
There's some decent threads over on reddit about the bandwidth use of a full node, example:
http://www.reddit.com/r/Bitcoin/comments/29t5eu/graph_bandwidth_usage_for_1_month_of_hosting_a/

ac130
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 25, 2014, 11:27:38 PM
 #6

re: the subject line
There's some decent threads over on reddit about the bandwidth use of a full node, example:
http://www.reddit.com/r/Bitcoin/comments/29t5eu/graph_bandwidth_usage_for_1_month_of_hosting_a/
I was thinking about getting this:  http://www.tp-link.us/products/details/?categoryid=218&model=TL-MR3420#spec
and then using a cheap data plan from metropcs.  Since they have unlimited data I wouldn't go over, but would it be too slow after throttling?
mwizard
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 205
Merit: 100


View Profile
December 26, 2014, 12:04:21 AM
 #7

I am getting a Miner that is 10TH/s.  I am going to be putting it in my grandpa's hangar where there isn't any Electricity bills.  I need a internet connection there so I was thinking of getting a 4G router instead of a traditional internet connection, since I don't want any data overages I need to get the right data plan.  So how much would it use?


Also is this a trusted site?:  https://www.minerslab.com/product/smart-miner-2-se-10ths-rack-mount-bitcoin-miner/


Minerslab is definite Scam site.  See

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=883534.0

ac130
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 26, 2014, 02:07:38 AM
 #8

I am getting a Miner that is 10TH/s.  I am going to be putting it in my grandpa's hangar where there isn't any Electricity bills.  I need a internet connection there so I was thinking of getting a 4G router instead of a traditional internet connection, since I don't want any data overages I need to get the right data plan.  So how much would it use?


Also is this a trusted site?:  https://www.minerslab.com/product/smart-miner-2-se-10ths-rack-mount-bitcoin-miner/


Minerslab is definite Scam site.  See

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=883534.0



Thanks.  I'm just going to get some ANTMiners from BITMAIN then.
timk225
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 963
Merit: 1000


View Profile
December 30, 2014, 03:52:07 PM
 #9

Do not buy any ASIC.  You will never recoup your investment.  You will LOSE MONEY, and the only people who will make a profit are the ASIC manufacturers.

Search my previous posts.  I have been proven correct time and time again, and yet fools who cannot math continue to buy them and lose their asses on the deal.

And what's the sense of a 10 year warranty on an ASIC that will be obsolete in 6 months?
Reynaldo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1130
Merit: 1000


View Profile
December 30, 2014, 05:11:23 PM
 #10

Do not buy any ASIC.  You will never recoup your investment.  You will LOSE MONEY, and the only people who will make a profit are the ASIC manufacturers.

Search my previous posts.  I have been proven correct time and time again, and yet fools who cannot math continue to buy them and lose their asses on the deal.

And what's the sense of a 10 year warranty on an ASIC that will be obsolete in 6 months?

This is not true if you have low kW prices.. For less than 0.15 cents per KW you'll may ROI with current asic generation.

timk225
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 963
Merit: 1000


View Profile
January 01, 2015, 02:26:18 PM
 #11

If you have to depend on the price of power to squeak out the slightest profit, you're doing it wrong.  What if BTC price continues to drop?  What if difficulty continues to rise?  In either case, you make less and will most likely lose money.

Maybe I'm just smarter than most of the people here, but I didn't get into coin mining to lose money.  I made some nice tax free cash on it, about $5000 profit after parts purchases and power usage and all that was taken into account.  And when the profit started dropping off, I got out.  I looked for ways to keep making money in coin mining, but there were far less opportunities.
rpandassociates
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 174
Merit: 100


View Profile
January 10, 2015, 06:25:17 AM
 #12

haha 10 TH/s @ 2100 watts ROFL
most efficent miner to date is .55 w per GHS that i know of and thats the S5
which equates to 5500 watts per 10 ths
KNC announced a 20nm chip in march http://www.coindesk.com/kncminer-finalizes-design-worlds-first-20nm-bitcoin-asic-miner/
but we all know what KNC did with their customers money Smiley they ran off and created cloud mining in iceland with it.

Maybe they are using this https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vcbw-t-CCx4 hahaha
kano
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 2576
Merit: 1054


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
January 11, 2015, 11:21:32 AM
 #13

It also depends on the pool you mine on and the protocol you use.

If you mine Stratum vs GBT to a pool, then the Stratum pool will use way less data than a GBT pool.

Also, even on Stratum, there is a minor difference depending on how often the pools sends you work.
However, in this case, it is better for bitcoin transaction processing if the pool sends you work every 30s, and the pool itself, on average, will get more transaction payments due to using 30s rather than a longer work delay.
Some pools delay longer than 30s, but the data saving is minor, and it is better for bitcoin (and block reward) if it is 30s.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
kanazawa
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 500



View Profile
January 11, 2015, 07:32:51 PM
 #14

Hi. I got a limit of 2gb on 3g connec4ion. It works with to mine some btc?


]░░░░░░▄▄███████████▄▄
░░░░▄███▀░░░░░░░░░░░▀▀██▄
░░░██░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░██
░░███▀░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▀███
███░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░███
██░█░░░░░░░█▀▀▀█░░░░░░░░░█░██
█▌░█░░░░░░░█░░░█░░░░░░░░░█░▐█
█▌░░█░░░░░░██▀▀▀░░░░░░░░█░░▐█
█▌░▄▄░░░░░░█░█░░░░░░░░░░▄▄░▐█
███▀░░░░░░░█░░▀▄░░░░░░░░░▀███
██▄░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▄██
░░██░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░██
░░░██░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░██
░░░░▀██▄▄█▄░░░░░░░▄█▄▄██▀
░░░░░░░▀▀███████████▀▀


]░░░░░░▄▄███████████▄▄
░░░░▄███▀░░░░░░░░░░░▀▀██▄
░░░██░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░██
░░███▀░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▀███
███░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░███
██░█░░░░░░░█▀▀▀█░░░░░░░░░█░██
█▌░█░░░░░░░█░░░█░░░░░░░░░█░▐█
█▌░░█░░░░░░██▀▀▀░░░░░░░░█░░▐█
█▌░▄▄░░░░░░█░█░░░░░░░░░░▄▄░▐█
███▀░░░░░░░█░░▀▄░░░░░░░░░▀███
██▄░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▄██
░░██░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░██
░░░██░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░██
░░░░▀██▄▄█▄░░░░░░░▄█▄▄██▀
░░░░░░░▀▀███████████▀▀

crazyearner
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1806
Merit: 1001



View Profile
January 12, 2015, 01:24:29 AM
 #15

Few GB per month at most depending on what coin your mining and how many shares are being submitted per min. More shares more data but to be honest they don't use that much but id make sure you got unlimited data connection to cover its use.

=
  R E B E L L I O U S 
  ▄▀▀▀▀▀▄▄                           ▄▄▀▀▀▀▀▄
▄▀        █▄▄                     ▄▄█        ▀▄
█            █████████████████████            █
█▄          ██       ██ ██       ██          ▄█
█        █            █            █        █
  █    █               █               █    █
   █ ██               █ █               ██ █
    █ █               █ █               █ █
    █ ███▄  █████▄   ██ ██   ▄█████  ▄███ █
    █     ███     █         █     ███     █
     █   █   ▀███ █  █   █  █ ███▀   █   █
     █   █      █ █  █   █  █ █      █   █
     █   █      ██  █     █  ██      █   █
      █  █     ██  █       █  ██     █  █
      █  █    ██  █ ███████ █  ██    █  █
      █ ███   ██  █         █  ██   ███ █
       █   ▀███      █   █      ███▀   █
        █     ██       █       ██     █
         █      █   ▄▄███▄▄   █      █
          ███   ███▀       ▀███   ███
             █████           █████
                  ███████████
  ▄▀▀▀▀▀▄▄                           ▄▄▀▀▀▀▀▄
▄▀        █▄▄                     ▄▄█        ▀▄
█            █████████████████████            █
█▄          ██       ██ ██       ██          ▄█
█        █            █            █        █
  █    █               █               █    █
   █ ██               █ █               ██ █
    █ █               █ █               █ █
    █ ███▄  █████▄   ██ ██   ▄█████  ▄███ █
    █     ███     █         █     ███     █
     █   █   ▀███ █  █   █  █ ███▀   █   █
     █   █      █ █  █   █  █ █      █   █
     █   █      ██  █     █  ██      █   █
      █  █     ██  █       █  ██     █  █
      █  █    ██  █ ███████ █  ██    █  █
      █ ███   ██  █         █  ██   ███ █
       █   ▀███      █   █      ███▀   █
        █     ██       █       ██     █
         █      █   ▄▄███▄▄   █      █
          ███   ███▀       ▀███   ███
             █████           █████
                  ███████████
  R E B E L L I O U S
SargeR33
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112
Merit: 10

★Bitin.io★ - Instant Exchange


View Profile
January 12, 2015, 06:51:10 AM
 #16

The only concern would be the stability of the connection. I don't know what its like over where you are but down here in Australia, wireless is pretty shit.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!