Bitcoin Forum
May 23, 2018, 01:24:33 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: This forum was down for me for sometime  (Read 1245 times)
TinEye
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 640
Merit: 500



View Profile
December 27, 2014, 02:33:36 PM
 #1

Is there anything there to be worried about? Or was it only my ISP?



                                                                    ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
                                                                   ▄█████████                  ██████
                                                                   ███    ███                 ██   ██
         ████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████    ██████████████████████   ████████▀
        ██            ▄█          █▄                 █▄          ███            █▄          █        ▄██▀
       ██            ██           ███                ██   ▄▄▄▄▄  ███            ██   ▄▄▄▄▄  ██   █████▀
       ██   █████    ██   ████   ████   ██     ██    ██   ▀▀▀▀   ██    ██████   ██   ▀▀▀▀   ██   ████▀
      ██    █████   ██    ████   ████   ██     ██   ██          ███   ██████   ██          ██   ████▀
      ██            ██           ███   ███    ███   ██    ▀▀▀▀▀▀███            ██    ▀▀▀▀▀▀██   ▀▀▀████
      ███           ██▄            █   ██     ██    ██▄          █             ▀█▄          ██      ███
       █████████   ████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
      ██           ██
    ██▀           ███
  ████████████████▀
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Parazyd
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602
Merit: 500


Space Lord


View Profile WWW
December 27, 2014, 02:37:09 PM
 #2

It was unavailable fot me too about half an hour ago... Nothing to be worried about.
justinetime
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308
Merit: 250



View Profile
December 27, 2014, 02:44:14 PM
 #3

Is there anything there to be worried about? Or was it only my ISP?
Me too.
It happens to me about 20 minutes.
TinEye
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 640
Merit: 500



View Profile
December 27, 2014, 02:46:54 PM
 #4

It was unavailable fot me too about half an hour ago... Nothing to be worried about.

The worry was whether the site itself was under some trouble or if any data was compromised. Thinking I should change my password, but don't want to do that either before I know its secure again.



                                                                    ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
                                                                   ▄█████████                  ██████
                                                                   ███    ███                 ██   ██
         ████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████    ██████████████████████   ████████▀
        ██            ▄█          █▄                 █▄          ███            █▄          █        ▄██▀
       ██            ██           ███                ██   ▄▄▄▄▄  ███            ██   ▄▄▄▄▄  ██   █████▀
       ██   █████    ██   ████   ████   ██     ██    ██   ▀▀▀▀   ██    ██████   ██   ▀▀▀▀   ██   ████▀
      ██    █████   ██    ████   ████   ██     ██   ██          ███   ██████   ██          ██   ████▀
      ██            ██           ███   ███    ███   ██    ▀▀▀▀▀▀███            ██    ▀▀▀▀▀▀██   ▀▀▀████
      ███           ██▄            █   ██     ██    ██▄          █             ▀█▄          ██      ███
       █████████   ████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
      ██           ██
    ██▀           ███
  ████████████████▀
jokerboy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266
Merit: 250


View Profile
December 27, 2014, 02:47:53 PM
 #5

Are you using any proxy ?
Parazyd
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602
Merit: 500


Space Lord


View Profile WWW
December 27, 2014, 02:50:05 PM
 #6

It was unavailable fot me too about half an hour ago... Nothing to be worried about.

The worry was whether the site itself was under some trouble or if any data was compromised. Thinking I should change my password, but don't want to do that either before I know its secure again.

Actual good practice would be changing your password each month at least Wink
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526
Merit: 1050


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
December 27, 2014, 02:51:13 PM
 #7

I've been having the same problems but for the last month or so. Donate page goes down, wiki stays up.

TinEye
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 640
Merit: 500



View Profile
December 27, 2014, 02:52:49 PM
 #8

It was unavailable fot me too about half an hour ago... Nothing to be worried about.

The worry was whether the site itself was under some trouble or if any data was compromised. Thinking I should change my password, but don't want to do that either before I know its secure again.

Actual good practice would be changing your password each month at least Wink

I don't want to change before I receive any word. Anyone shouldn't be typing in any kind of password right now. I was logged in through cookie.



                                                                    ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
                                                                   ▄█████████                  ██████
                                                                   ███    ███                 ██   ██
         ████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████    ██████████████████████   ████████▀
        ██            ▄█          █▄                 █▄          ███            █▄          █        ▄██▀
       ██            ██           ███                ██   ▄▄▄▄▄  ███            ██   ▄▄▄▄▄  ██   █████▀
       ██   █████    ██   ████   ████   ██     ██    ██   ▀▀▀▀   ██    ██████   ██   ▀▀▀▀   ██   ████▀
      ██    █████   ██    ████   ████   ██     ██   ██          ███   ██████   ██          ██   ████▀
      ██            ██           ███   ███    ███   ██    ▀▀▀▀▀▀███            ██    ▀▀▀▀▀▀██   ▀▀▀████
      ███           ██▄            █   ██     ██    ██▄          █             ▀█▄          ██      ███
       █████████   ████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
      ██           ██
    ██▀           ███
  ████████████████▀
jbrnt
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672
Merit: 500



View Profile
December 27, 2014, 02:59:59 PM
 #9

The forum was down for me an hour ago. I was thought we might be getting the forum software upgrade! Apparently not.
Techniclz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 27, 2014, 03:10:44 PM
 #10

Is there anything there to be worried about? Or was it only my ISP?
Me too.
It happens to me about 20 minutes.

also my pc down

DonationPizaBTC:1B3NPA93w4m4fJHtJJy7MCDmZzNLeY9Vsz
LOBSTER
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 500


View Profile
December 27, 2014, 03:11:43 PM
 #11

I had also some issues nearly one hour ago. I hope it won't be down again.
hilariousandco
Lamborghini Member
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1666
Merit: 1211


Bitcoib is my succesfull


View Profile
December 27, 2014, 03:13:19 PM
 #12

Was in the bath so didn't notice anything, but it's probably nothing to worry about changing your password over. I remember when this forum used to go down for 10-30 minutes at a time quite often but this is the first time in a very long time it has apparently happened.

Itun
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238
Merit: 100


View Profile
December 28, 2014, 11:52:56 AM
 #13

It happens to me once in a while

Were you able to connect to other websites though?
Soros Shorts
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1592
Merit: 1000



View Profile
December 28, 2014, 12:12:42 PM
 #14

There was apparently a glitch in the DNS switchover to the NSA-hosted servers. The good thing is that with the better new hardware there should be less downtime in the future.

Seriously though there usually would be an announcement if the site was compromised.
Blazr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 882
Merit: 1000



View Profile
December 28, 2014, 12:15:25 PM
 #15

The forum gets flooded with DDoS attempts from time to time and theymos doesn't want to use any DDoS mitigation that will aid an attacker in MiTM'ing the forum so it's somewhat difficult to prevent.

hilariousandco
Lamborghini Member
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1666
Merit: 1211


Bitcoib is my succesfull


View Profile
December 28, 2014, 12:49:05 PM
 #16

Seriously though there usually would be an announcement if the site was compromised.

Unlikely when the admins are away for the holidays.

theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3038
Merit: 3122


View Profile
December 28, 2014, 05:54:05 PM
 #17

It was apparently a short DoS attack. This kind of thing happens from time to time. It's nothing to worry about.

What you should worry about is if the HTTPS public key or IP address changes. I'll always post a PGP-signed announcement for such changes.

HOWEYCOINS   ▮      Excitement and         ⭐  ● TWITTER  ● FACEBOOK   ⭐       
  ▮    guaranteed returns                 ●TELEGRAM                         
  ▮  of the travel industry
    ⭐  ●Ann Thread ●Instagram   ⭐ 
✅    U.S.Sec    ➡️
✅  approved!  ➡️
Raize
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1414
Merit: 1004


View Profile
December 28, 2014, 06:23:45 PM
 #18

It was apparently a short DoS attack. This kind of thing happens from time to time. It's nothing to worry about.

What you should worry about is if the HTTPS public key or IP address changes. I'll always post a PGP-signed announcement for such changes.

For reference purposes, his last post on this is here.

OrganofCorti's Neighbourhood Pool Watch - The most informative website on blockchain health
TinEye
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 640
Merit: 500



View Profile
December 29, 2014, 11:38:41 AM
 #19

It was apparently a short DoS attack. This kind of thing happens from time to time. It's nothing to worry about.

What you should worry about is if the HTTPS public key or IP address changes. I'll always post a PGP-signed announcement for such changes.

For reference purposes, his last post on this is here.

What does it mean for normal users like me? All I have to do is to make sure that the site link is https://.... ?



                                                                    ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
                                                                   ▄█████████                  ██████
                                                                   ███    ███                 ██   ██
         ████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████    ██████████████████████   ████████▀
        ██            ▄█          █▄                 █▄          ███            █▄          █        ▄██▀
       ██            ██           ███                ██   ▄▄▄▄▄  ███            ██   ▄▄▄▄▄  ██   █████▀
       ██   █████    ██   ████   ████   ██     ██    ██   ▀▀▀▀   ██    ██████   ██   ▀▀▀▀   ██   ████▀
      ██    █████   ██    ████   ████   ██     ██   ██          ███   ██████   ██          ██   ████▀
      ██            ██           ███   ███    ███   ██    ▀▀▀▀▀▀███            ██    ▀▀▀▀▀▀██   ▀▀▀████
      ███           ██▄            █   ██     ██    ██▄          █             ▀█▄          ██      ███
       █████████   ████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
      ██           ██
    ██▀           ███
  ████████████████▀
Parazyd
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602
Merit: 500


Space Lord


View Profile WWW
December 29, 2014, 11:59:55 AM
 #20

It was apparently a short DoS attack. This kind of thing happens from time to time. It's nothing to worry about.

What you should worry about is if the HTTPS public key or IP address changes. I'll always post a PGP-signed announcement for such changes.

For reference purposes, his last post on this is here.

What doe sit mean for normal users like me? All I have to do is to make sure that the site link is https://.... ?

If something like this happens:
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!