Bitcoin Forum
December 18, 2017, 06:50:29 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Installing BitcoinD when Bitcoin-qt is already installed (Ubuntu 12.04)?  (Read 1107 times)
JackH
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 380


View Profile
December 27, 2014, 10:38:53 PM
 #1

Are there any complications installing BitcoinD when Bitcoin-qt is already installed? I am running Ubuntu 12.04 and wanted to know if it gives any problems to have both installed on the same machine.

I wanted to install BitcoinD in order to play around with some of the RPC commands via Python.

<helo> funny that this proposal grows the maximum block size to 8GB, and is seen as a compromise
<helo> oh, you don't like a 20x increase? well how about 8192x increase?
<JackH> lmao
1513623029
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513623029

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513623029
Reply with quote  #2

1513623029
Report to moderator
1513623029
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513623029

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513623029
Reply with quote  #2

1513623029
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513623029
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513623029

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513623029
Reply with quote  #2

1513623029
Report to moderator
1513623029
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513623029

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513623029
Reply with quote  #2

1513623029
Report to moderator
TechnoBibble
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 77


View Profile
December 27, 2014, 11:31:48 PM
 #2

shouldnt be a problem, just stop bitcoin-qt when you go to run bitcoind as bitcoin-qt will be using the database.

On ubuntu if you have the PPA installed it should just be a matter of installing from apt.

apt-get install bitcoind

or

sudo apt-get install bitcoind
JackH
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 380


View Profile
December 27, 2014, 11:39:19 PM
 #3

Will installing BitcoinD require to re-download the entire blockchain, or does it "know"?

<helo> funny that this proposal grows the maximum block size to 8GB, and is seen as a compromise
<helo> oh, you don't like a 20x increase? well how about 8192x increase?
<JackH> lmao
TechnoBibble
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 77


View Profile
December 28, 2014, 12:16:27 AM
 #4

no, if you install it as the same user as bitcoin-qt the blockchain will still be downloaded in ~/.bitcoin/ usually or whetever path you specified.
siameze
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1064



View Profile
December 28, 2014, 01:46:23 AM
 #5

Also as an aside, you will need to add/edit your .conf file. I can't remember if the new version populates it automatically for you or not.

EDIT: Also try the bitcoin-cli. The daemon-rpc calls will eventually be obsolete.


                     ▀▀█████████▀████████████████▄
                        ████▄      ▄████████████████
                     ▄██████▀  ▄  ███████████████████
                  ▄█████████▄████▄███████████████████
                ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀████████
                                               ▀▀███▀
    ▄█▀█       ▄▀  ▄▀▀█  ▄▀   █████████████████▄ ██▀         ▄▀█
   ▄█ ▄▀      ▀█▀ █▀ █▀ ▀█▀  ███████████████████ █▀ ▀▀      ▄▀▄▀
  ▄█    ▄███  █     █   █   ████████████████████  ▄█     ▄▀▀██▀ ▄███
███▄▄▄  █▄▄▄ █▄▄ ▄▄▀   █▄▄ ██████████████████▀▀   █▄▄ ▄▄ █▄▄█▄▄▄█▄▄▄
                           ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
                            ▀▀█████████████▄
                                █████████████▄
                                  █████████████▄
                                    ▀███████▀▀▀▀▀
                                      ▀████▀
                                        ▀█▀
LetItRideINNOVATIVE ▬▬▬
DICE GAME
                        ▄███████████▄
                       ██  ██████████▄
                     ▄█████████████  ██▄
            ▄▄▀█▄▄▄▄▄████████████████████▄
        ▄▄█▀   ███████████  █████  ████  █
    ▄██████ ▄▄███████████████████████████▀
 ▄▀▀ ██████████████████████████  ████  █
█  ▄███████████▀▀▀█████████████████████
██████████████    ████████▀▀██████  █▀
██████████████▄▄▄██████████   ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
███▀ ▀██████████████████████
██    ███████████████████████
██▄▄██████████████████████████
██████████████▀   ██████████
  █████████████   ▄██████▀▀
     ▀▀██████████████▀▀
         ▀▀██████▀▀
PROVABLY
F A I R
▄█████████████▀ ▄█
██            ▄█▀
██          ▄██ ▄█
██ ▄█▄    ▄███  ██
██ ▀███▄ ▄███   ██
██  ▀███████    ██
██    █████     ██
██     ███      ██
██      ▀       ██
██              ██
▀████████████████▀
BUY  BACK
PLANS
[BTC]
ranochigo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288


View Profile WWW
December 28, 2014, 01:24:45 PM
 #6

Will installing BitcoinD require to re-download the entire blockchain, or does it "know"?
No, Bitcoind will search for blockchain on the directory the same as the bitcoin-qt one. If you downloaded it to other places, run this:
Code:
bitcoind -datadir=insert directory here
Before running bitcoind, you will also need a conf file. Detailed explaination here:http://we.lovebitco.in/bitcoin-qt/configuration-file/














 

 

█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
BitBlender 

 













 















 












 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!