Bitcoin Forum
October 21, 2018, 04:49:41 AM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: SP20 PSU efficiency question  (Read 892 times)
xZork
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 642
Merit: 500


View Profile
December 28, 2014, 05:06:43 AM
 #1

I know a modest amount about power supplies and how they can perform under load and would love some feedback. I have a limited amount of power that I can draw so efficiency is key. The way I see it I have 3 possibilities for powering this unit. My first though is buying a new (used) 1200 watt server PSU but I would rather not spend more than I have to since I have ATX PSU's laying around not being used. My options for what I have on hand are several Corsair 750's, one hx1050 and one dell server PSU rated @ 750 watts. Now what I am not sure about is how these possibilities will effect load on a circuit. Would buying a 1200 watt server PSU pull less than running two 750's? Then there is the questions of underclocking an running the 1050. Currently I have 2 ant S3+ units on the 1050 but I could spread those out if needed. I would assume that a single server PSU would be the best bet, but how much of a difference could it make. I am still running as many S1's as I can while I upgrade.

I had a kill-a-watt that I lent out and it was returned fried, kind of a long story I need to get a new one...

Thanks for reading!

1540097381
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540097381

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540097381
Reply with quote  #2

1540097381
Report to moderator
1540097381
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540097381

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540097381
Reply with quote  #2

1540097381
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1848
Merit: 1172

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
December 28, 2014, 05:16:43 AM
 #2

Spreading across a pair of 750W, unless the PSUs are pretty tired and/or underperforming, will likely run more efficient than a single 1200W. Efficiency curves typically peak near the middle of the load range so you might squeak a percent or two out of it by loading down 1500W to the 2/3 point over loading 1200W to the 5/6 point.

Got a new 28-90GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
Syke
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2744
Merit: 1019


View Profile
December 28, 2014, 05:27:44 AM
 #3

Spreading across a pair of 750W, unless the PSUs are pretty tired and/or underperforming, will likely run more efficient than a single 1200W. Efficiency curves typically peak near the middle of the load range so you might squeak a percent or two out of it by loading down 1500W to the 2/3 point over loading 1200W to the 5/6 point.

Mostly true if they're all rated the same. If not, for example, 2x 750 Bronze PSUs will be less efficient than a single 1200 Gold PSU.

Buy & Hold
xZork
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 642
Merit: 500


View Profile
December 28, 2014, 05:52:26 AM
 #4

Spreading across a pair of 750W, unless the PSUs are pretty tired and/or underperforming, will likely run more efficient than a single 1200W. Efficiency curves typically peak near the middle of the load range so you might squeak a percent or two out of it by loading down 1500W to the 2/3 point over loading 1200W to the 5/6 point.

Mostly true if they're all rated the same. If not, for example, 2x 750 Bronze PSUs will be less efficient than a single 1200 Gold PSU.

These are CX750's and 750m so all bronze. If the difference is negligible then sticking with the pair of 750's would obviously be better, they are all right at a year old and if one did fail there are extras. I have zero knowledge of server PSU's and just assumed that if it was designed specifically for handling constant high load it might be worth it. I am not sure the standard server PSU's are rated and if the expenseis worth it. Basically asking if one way or another would allow me to keep running 1 more S1 or not. Trying to squeeze these things dry.

I guess a pair of 750's it is, and if there are any issues I may have to ask for more wisdom.

Thank you both for the replies!

sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1848
Merit: 1172

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
December 28, 2014, 06:00:55 AM
 #5

True, nominal efficiency ratings are important. A topped-out 1200W server PSU is probably more efficient than a bronze-rated PSU at its best possible operating point.

Got a new 28-90GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
Gamla
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 28, 2014, 02:36:44 PM
 #6

I trust Corsair RM series, I have 2 x RM750, also Enermax Platimax series is good.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!