Bitcoin Forum
June 23, 2018, 10:06:49 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Running bitcoin in a screen under *nix?  (Read 829 times)
madmaze
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 20, 2011, 06:05:06 AM
 #1

Hello everyone,

Im being a noob here. it seems the gui runs on my linux box,
But I cannot seem to be able to run it without the gui.

Is there anything special I gotta do?
1529791609
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529791609

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529791609
Reply with quote  #2

1529791609
Report to moderator
1529791609
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529791609

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529791609
Reply with quote  #2

1529791609
Report to moderator
The World's Betting Exchange

Bet with play money. Win real Bitcoin. 5BTC Prize Fund for World Cup 2018.

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1529791609
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529791609

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529791609
Reply with quote  #2

1529791609
Report to moderator
1529791609
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529791609

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529791609
Reply with quote  #2

1529791609
Report to moderator
1529791609
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529791609

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529791609
Reply with quote  #2

1529791609
Report to moderator
Jaime Frontero
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 20, 2011, 06:14:26 AM
 #2

Hello everyone,

Im being a noob here. it seems the gui runs on my linux box,
But I cannot seem to be able to run it without the gui.

Is there anything special I gotta do?

in nautilus (or whatever file manager you use) go to the directory that the appropriate "bitcoind" is in - the 32 or the 64.

right-click the 'bitcoind' executable.  choose 'open' - or double-click it.

check sysinfo to make sure the process started.

then wait awhile (two or three minutes), open a terminal in that same directory and type: ./bitcoind getinfo

hit enter.
madmaze
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 20, 2011, 06:21:09 AM
 #3

thank you, thats what i needed
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!