Bitcoin Forum
November 22, 2017, 01:53:19 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Running bitcoin in a screen under *nix?  (Read 820 times)
madmaze
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
May 20, 2011, 06:05:06 AM
 #1

Hello everyone,

Im being a noob here. it seems the gui runs on my linux box,
But I cannot seem to be able to run it without the gui.

Is there anything special I gotta do?
1511358799
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511358799

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511358799
Reply with quote  #2

1511358799
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now Coinlancer is Disrupting the Freelance marketplace!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511358799
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511358799

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511358799
Reply with quote  #2

1511358799
Report to moderator
Jaime Frontero
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
May 20, 2011, 06:14:26 AM
 #2

Hello everyone,

Im being a noob here. it seems the gui runs on my linux box,
But I cannot seem to be able to run it without the gui.

Is there anything special I gotta do?

in nautilus (or whatever file manager you use) go to the directory that the appropriate "bitcoind" is in - the 32 or the 64.

right-click the 'bitcoind' executable.  choose 'open' - or double-click it.

check sysinfo to make sure the process started.

then wait awhile (two or three minutes), open a terminal in that same directory and type: ./bitcoind getinfo

hit enter.
madmaze
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
May 20, 2011, 06:21:09 AM
 #3

thank you, thats what i needed
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!