Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 10:29:25 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Mining with Asus Eee 1012 (CUDA - ION) - How?  (Read 4395 times)
Creepster
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
May 20, 2011, 09:37:15 AM
 #1

I started mining for coins yesterday, and i already joined a pool - Took some time to get working, but i'm crunching away ^^

My primary computer overheats when hashing, so the client (giuminer) isn't running atm - only did some 750 khash on my XP3000+ anyways :-/

I have an Asus Eee 1012 which i use for media center, and i already have the CPU up and running, but when i try and use the cuda client in guiminer, it just keeps on saying "connecting..." - it did the same with the cpu for a few hours, and then suddenly started working, but still not crunching on the GPU, and the cpu (dual atom 1.6) also only delivers around 750 khash

my guess is that i need to download the cuda sdk, and after a quick search, i give up on finding out what to download and install 0.o So i thought i'd ask you guys for help

If anyone is running it on an eee/ion i'm curious about figures as well (16 1.1 cores @ 450 Mhz)

I'm running win7 32bit btw, with only BitCoin and GUIminer installed.

Halp
1481149765
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481149765

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481149765
Reply with quote  #2

1481149765
Report to moderator
1481149765
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481149765

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481149765
Reply with quote  #2

1481149765
Report to moderator
1481149765
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481149765

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481149765
Reply with quote  #2

1481149765
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481149765
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481149765

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481149765
Reply with quote  #2

1481149765
Report to moderator
1481149765
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481149765

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481149765
Reply with quote  #2

1481149765
Report to moderator
1481149765
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481149765

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481149765
Reply with quote  #2

1481149765
Report to moderator
Creepster
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
May 21, 2011, 02:43:28 AM
 #2

Update:

Installed the latest nVidia drivers for the ion chipset - still "connecting" - Weird thing i noticed is that the CPU drops from almost 900 khash, to 700 when i start the cuda miner 0.o - which isn't getting any work.

Do i need to install any cuda software to get it going? SDK? Toolkit?
Creepster
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
May 21, 2011, 05:29:23 PM
 #3

Update: Got it running

I downloaded and installed the "Developer Drivers" and "Cuda Toolkit" from this link: http://developer.nvidia.com/cuda-toolkit-32-downloads#Windows And i'm getting 2.1 Mhash from the cuda cores.

Not sure you need to install the toolkit though.

Running both CPU+GPU in guiminer gets me 2.7 Mhash on avarage.

Will post further updates if i find some tweaked settings or better drivers.

If you found any of my ramblings useful, consider a donation Smiley
1Ct93gST8QSumw6XAamDxBE1AM6FRAhpuJ
jorijnsmit
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36



View Profile WWW
August 13, 2011, 06:18:57 PM
 #4

Thanks! Trying to get an ASUS Eee 1000HD mining here. From this thread I understand it's not possible though because my GPU is an Intel GMA 950, which doesn't support OpenCL.

Although I won't donate, I would like to thank you for your ramblings ;-)
Graet
VIP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 980



View Profile WWW
August 14, 2011, 12:05:12 AM
 #5



Running both CPU+GPU in guiminer gets me 2.7 Mhash on avarage.


you are killing your eee for 0.01USD /day? and thats before even taking electricity cost in.

| Ozcoin Pooled Mining Pty Ltd https://ozcoin.net Double Geometric Reward System https://lc.ozcoin.net for Litecoin mining DGM| https://crowncloud.net VPS and Dedicated Servers for the BTC community
deslok
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


It's all about the game, and how you play it


View Profile
August 14, 2011, 01:49:53 AM
 #6

jorijnsmit you're right on the 950 being useless for mining too primaive. Being what it is the 1000hd may net 900kh at best and be detrimental to the hardware in the process. it would be good for a secured wallet. as far as ion mining you're running the equivelent of a 9400 in most respects it's old enough nvidias drivers shouldn't include any updates to it at all and may not be supported in newer versions of cuda.
there are serveral cheap ways to build low cost mining rigs if either of you are interested you can look through these forums for information or if you so desire pm me

"If we don't hang together, by Heavens we shall hang separately." - Benjamin Franklin

If you found that funny or something i said useful i always appreciate spare change
1PczDQHfEj3dJgp6wN3CXPft1bGB23TzTM
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!