Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 12:29:16 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Electrum servers not working  (Read 3276 times)
Joe200
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
July 05, 2012, 01:16:36 PM
 #1

Electrum not connecting to its servers. Anyone else have this issue?

1480724956
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480724956

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480724956
Reply with quote  #2

1480724956
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
July 05, 2012, 02:52:14 PM
 #2

Electrum not connecting to its servers. Anyone else have this issue?

I am able to connect just fine.
You might have a problem with the wallet file (electrum.dat).
Do you remember doing something particular in Electrum when the problem started?

If you're in a hurry to fix the issue, try this and let me know if that helps:
just rename the electrum.dat file to electrum.aaa and restore the wallet from
your seed or mnemonic code.


1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
Joe200
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
July 05, 2012, 03:13:12 PM
 #3

I am trying to use it for the first time. Where is the wallet file stored in portable mode? I don't see it.

flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
July 05, 2012, 03:21:15 PM
 #4

I am trying to use it for the first time. Where is the wallet file stored in portable mode? I don't see it.


Portable mode:
 The wallet (electrum.dat) is stored in the same directory as the executable file.

Which server are you connecting to? Can you try ecdsa.org?

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
Joe200
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
July 05, 2012, 06:16:22 PM
 #5

There is no wallet file.

Also, it no longer asks me which server to use. It tries to connect, I assume to the latest server used.

I assume there is a configuration file where I can tell it to ask me for the server again? Where is that?

flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
July 05, 2012, 06:24:09 PM
 #6

There is no wallet file.

Also, it no longer asks me which server to use. It tries to connect, I assume to the latest server used.

I assume there is a configuration file where I can tell it to ask me for the server again? Where is that?


That is pretty strange that you have no wallet file.
All configuration settings are stored in the wallet file as well.

Can you confirm what are your versions of Windows and Electrum?
Are you running Electrum from USB drive?

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
Deafboy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 484



View Profile WWW
July 05, 2012, 06:31:08 PM
 #7

You can click on red or green circle on the bottom right and choose another server. If you were trying to connect to electrum.bitcoins.sk, I'm sorry. There are some issues with my server (again Sad ). If you don't see list of servers, try to manually enter one of these:

ecdsa.org
uncle-enzo.info
electrum.bytesized-hosting.com
electrum.novit.ro
electrum.bitfoo.org

in form of
Quote
server.name:50001:t
ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
July 05, 2012, 06:35:04 PM
 #8

I confirm that ecdsa.org has been down for a few hours yesterday.
(it was rebooted by my ISP, and there was an error in the reboot cron script)

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
July 05, 2012, 07:02:27 PM
 #9

I am trying to use it for the first time. Where is the wallet file stored in portable mode? I don't see it.


Just another thought, by any chance, did you rename the executable before running it?
If so, it's probably not running in portable mode anymore and the wallet file will be in its
standard location, which is %AppData%\Electrum if you have Windows XP (or %AppData%\Roaming\Electrum on Win 7)

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!