Bitcoin Forum
May 27, 2018, 10:06:58 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Verification failed, check hardware!  (Read 7156 times)
antz123
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12
Merit: 0


BlightyCoin - UK Custom Bitcoin Miners!


View Profile
May 21, 2011, 01:57:31 AM
 #1

Hey all, just finished setting up a dedicated rig, but having a few problems...

For some reason when using poclbm I'm getting this Verification failed, check hardware message on one of my cards. This only happens if I run both of my cards at once.

When using diabloMiner, it is happy to run both miners on both cards but one of them ends up mining at a rate of about 5mhash

What do you think could be causing the problem? Specs:

AMD Sempron 140
2 x 6950
Windows XP 32 bit
running catalyst 11.5 (crossfire enabled)

Thanks in advance!  Wink

http://i.imgur.com/XiDcM.png (http://blightycoin.nfshost.com/)
1527458818
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527458818

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527458818
Reply with quote  #2

1527458818
Report to moderator
1527458818
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527458818

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527458818
Reply with quote  #2

1527458818
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1527458818
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527458818

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527458818
Reply with quote  #2

1527458818
Report to moderator
1527458818
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527458818

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527458818
Reply with quote  #2

1527458818
Report to moderator
1527458818
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527458818

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527458818
Reply with quote  #2

1527458818
Report to moderator
benjamindees
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330
Merit: 1000


View Profile
May 21, 2011, 02:04:12 AM
 #2

Power supply?

Civil Liberty Through Complex Mathematics
antz123
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12
Merit: 0


BlightyCoin - UK Custom Bitcoin Miners!


View Profile
May 21, 2011, 02:07:55 AM
 #3

600W OCZ psu, more than enough for the system. I ran furmark for a while too... it didn't have any problems and ran both cards fine.

http://i.imgur.com/XiDcM.png (http://blightycoin.nfshost.com/)
Littleshop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1316
Merit: 1000



View Profile WWW
May 21, 2011, 04:02:45 AM
 #4

600W OCZ psu, more than enough for the system. I ran furmark for a while too... it didn't have any problems and ran both cards fine.
Seems a little close to me.  I would think you would want 700w for two video cards.

willaien
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 21, 2011, 04:24:32 AM
 #5

Quote
running catalyst 11.5 (crossfire enabled)

Disable crossfire and try again.
benjamindees
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330
Merit: 1000


View Profile
May 21, 2011, 05:09:53 AM
 #6

I would open up the PS and check for bad caps.  Only if you're comfortable with that sort of thing, of course.

Civil Liberty Through Complex Mathematics
Basiley
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 21, 2011, 12:38:47 PM
 #7

600W OCZ psu, more than enough for the system. I ran furmark for a while too... it didn't have any problems and ran both cards fine.
what 12V caps had that "600W" PSU ?
in Amps.
picollo7
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 23, 2011, 05:53:06 PM
 #8

I am having this same problem too.  It's not the PSU.

4850
750 W PSU
win7 32 bit
using 2.1

works anywhere from 5 - 30 minutes and then says Verification failed check hardware.

Tried with poclbm from 4/28 and 3/25.

the -v flag does not help.

Very frustrating and I know many other are experiencing this.  One dude had a hack to restart poclbm automatically every 5 minutes.  Sounds like a terrible plan to me.

Please help.  Thanks!
Isepick
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 181
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 23, 2011, 06:16:23 PM
 #9

I had this problem in a single card rig powered by an Atom board. I slowed down my overclock on the 5850...problem went away. I think the Atom might have been a bit overtaxed. Every system is different, so YMMV.
Kluge
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218
Merit: 1001



View Profile
May 23, 2011, 06:24:54 PM
 #10

I slowed down my overclock on the 5850...problem went away.
This solved the problem in one of my cards having that issue as well.
sniper_sniperson
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 122
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 23, 2011, 07:53:45 PM
 #11

I got the same problem yesterday so reading posts here minds me that one of the cards has bad bios/bad gpu. This happened on my test cross rig - 5870 + 5850, well after 30 mins the 5870 throttles down and goes to 725Mhz from 870 under linux, nevertheless that the dedicated room has average 18-20'C temp in 48h interval. Under Windows disabling crossfire in the CCC doesn't help, only the second card disappears from GUIMiner's device list. Sapphires are popular with their bad bioses, have 3 5970OC editions and all of them give BSODs unless I change it with ASUS or Gigabyte firms ...

Specs of the rig:
Windows XP 32bit
AsRock N7AD-SLI (sli-singlecard bridge)
E2180 downclocked to 1.6GHz
Gigabyte 5870OC - all leds are in green state
Sapphire 5850 Xtreme
1000W Cooler Master for cards and 400W Fortron Saga for the other components
picollo7
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 26, 2011, 05:05:39 PM
 #12

Ok, I feel kind of dumb.  With the 4850, I just updated the drivers (including latest SDK) to the latest version, and the problem went away, and I got even better performance.

So, update your drivers if you get this. Wink
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!