Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 02:11:04 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Setting up Bitcoin accounts  (Read 6196 times)
glassartists
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
May 21, 2011, 02:32:20 AM
 #1

Hi not sure how all this works yet..but a question, can two people set up bitcoin accounts from the same computer
1480817464
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480817464

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480817464
Reply with quote  #2

1480817464
Report to moderator
1480817464
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480817464

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480817464
Reply with quote  #2

1480817464
Report to moderator
1480817464
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480817464

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480817464
Reply with quote  #2

1480817464
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480817464
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480817464

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480817464
Reply with quote  #2

1480817464
Report to moderator
bittrader
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42



View Profile
May 21, 2011, 02:43:41 AM
 #2

Welcome to the bitcoin community!

If you're using the official client from bitcoin.org then the answer to your question is "yes".

By default the program will use a different Bitcoint account for each Windows user account on your computer (I'm making the assumption that you're on Windows). To switch between Bitcoin accounts, log in as a different user on your computer, and Bitcoin will automatically switch accounts.

If you're only using one Windows user account, you can still get Bitcoin to use multiple bitcoin accounts. However, you'll have to provide it with custom command-line arguments: https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Running_Bitcoin

The -datadir argument is the one you're interested in. Specify a different datadir for each Bitcoin account that you want.
glassartists
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
May 21, 2011, 02:49:01 AM
 #3

Hi Bittrade, thanks for that.......will give it a try have not set anything up yet...code..eek... am just a dumb artist.......but will give it a try...thanks again for the info...Joe
glassartists
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
May 21, 2011, 02:50:18 AM
 #4

Forgot the "r" in bittrader sorry.....!!!
bittrader
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42



View Profile
May 21, 2011, 03:04:50 AM
 #5

By the way, the interface on the official program is rather simple, but it does kind of assume that you know what's going on and you understand how you're supposed to use Bitcoin.

If you take a few looks at it and realize that you're not quite sure what's going on, I'd encourage you to check out some of these resources:

-The Bitcoin Wiki: https://bitcoin.it/wiki/
Though the wiki has grown more and more over the months and isn't always as organized as it should be, the answers to your questions can probably be found somewhere there.

-MyBitcoin: https://www.mybitcoin.com/
The Bitcoin network is quite open. While the program you can download from bitcoin.org is the way that many of us get access to the network, there are other ways of doing so. MyBitcoin is an example of this. It's simpler to use that the official client, although it doesn't have as many features. You may find that you are initially more comfortable with using a service such as MyBitcoin rather than the main client.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!