Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 02:31:43 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitcoin Client Redeam private key?  (Read 3978 times)
adamstgBit
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1904


Trusted Bitcoiner


View Profile WWW
July 07, 2012, 11:39:41 AM
 #1

is their a Bitcoin that can Client Redeam private key?

1480905103
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480905103

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480905103
Reply with quote  #2

1480905103
Report to moderator
1480905103
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480905103

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480905103
Reply with quote  #2

1480905103
Report to moderator
Be very wary of relying on JavaScript for security on sites such as blockchain.info and brainwallet.org. The site can change the JavaScript at any time unless you take unusual precautions, and browsers are not generally known for their airtight security.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Jointops420
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 132


View Profile
July 07, 2012, 11:44:09 AM
 #2

I think The Armoury can.
jim618
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708



View Profile WWW
July 07, 2012, 11:58:44 AM
 #3

If you look at flatfly's excellent bitcoin client comparison you can see that all the desktop clients have some import private key capability:
http://dre.tx0.org/compare.htm

blockchain.info I think also has the option to import a key on the Import/ Export page (speaking from memory).

For MultiBit you can import the sipa private key format (the ones starting with '5').
The easiest way to do it is:
1) create a wallet
2) do a private key export WITHOUT encryption
3) have a look at the file generated - there is a whole load of commenting as to the format.
4) add in your private key and the date it is first used (explained in the comment)
5) import it back in.
6) it then has to sync the blockchain from the date you entered.

I think Armory you can just type in the key directly so that, or blockchain.info, are probably the easiest.

MultiBit HD   Lightweight desktop client.                    Bitcoin Solutions Ltd   Bespoke software. Consultancy.
Raoul Duke
aka psy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442



View Profile
July 07, 2012, 12:17:28 PM
 #4

Insert the following into your bitcoin.conf
Code:
server=1
and start your bitcoin-qt.

Open a command line and write
Code:
bitcoind importprivkey  <bitcoinprivkey> [label]
and press enter. The label is optional, but I would advise you to use it so you can recognize the address later.
Your private key is imported.



Sukrim
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1848


View Profile
July 07, 2012, 12:21:25 PM
 #5

It might be better though to have a seperate "watchlist" for private keys that others could potentially know as well which regularly get scanned + any balance is transferred asap to a private key that only you know.

https://bitfinex.com <-- leveraged trading of BTCUSD, LTCUSD and LTCBTC (long and short) - 10% discount on fees for the first 30 days with this refcode: x5K9YtL3Zb
Mail me at Bitmessage: BM-BbiHiVv5qh858ULsyRDtpRrG9WjXN3xf
Stephen Gornick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988



View Profile
July 08, 2012, 05:27:22 PM
 #6

is their a Bitcoin that can Client Redeam private key?

Also, Mt. Gox will redeem a key and create a sweep transaction to add that amount to your account balance.  It will then also monitor that address and if any funds arrive at a later point in time, automatically sweep them at that time as well.

This can be done from the website as well as Mt. Gox mobile app (which can be used to scan the QR code).

This allows Bitcoin Checks or BitAddress.org paper wallets to be redeemed by a merchant, for instance.

Spekulatius
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022



View Profile
August 13, 2012, 06:30:10 PM
 #7

Insert the following into your bitcoin.conf
Code:
server=1
and start your bitcoin-qt.

Open a command line and write
Code:
bitcoind importprivkey  <bitcoinprivkey> [label]
and press enter. The label is optional, but I would advise you to use it so you can recognize the address later.
Your private key is imported.




Could someone pls run me through it in the fewest possible steps? Im a complete noob and have no idea how to do even the first thing described above. Shocked Huh Huh

I have redeemed a private key successfully with blockchain.info already, but would like to learn how to do it without any thirdparty application also. So if bad gets worse, I can still retrieve my pressious bitcoins using only the original bitcoin client.

Thx
Stephen Gornick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988



View Profile
August 14, 2012, 06:56:45 AM
 #8

Could someone pls run me through it in the fewest possible steps? Im a complete noob and have no idea how to do even the first thing described above. Shocked Huh Huh


Step 1. Back up your wallet. You are messing with your wallet here, ... and it is easy to do things you might not have intended.


Run Bitcoin as a server, e.g.,

$ ./bitcoin-qt -server


then launch another shell / terminal window.

If you've encrypted your wallet you'll need to open it for RPC

$ ./bitcoind walletpassphrase [passphrase] 1000


then

$ ./bitcoind importprivkey  <bitcoinprivkey> [label]


then close bitcoin-qt.

then

$ ./bitcoind -rescan

BkkCoins
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


firstbits:1MinerQ


View Profile WWW
August 14, 2012, 07:57:44 AM
 #9

I've done it this way without using a bitcoin.conf file just to test as I think it's the easiest non-tech step-by-step way. Everything below I just checked myself with version 6.3 to ensure it's not wrong. Using this way you only start the server and send it commands. The Gui client must not be running.

Open a terminal / command prompt and type these commands:

bitcoind -daemon -rpc-user=Borg -rpc-password=Borg
(This may take some time to start and be ready as it loads the blockchain)
(If you get messages for the next commands saying "cannot connect to server" then just wait)
(user and pwd are just arbitrary)

(If your wallet is encrypted you need this next command. 300 means unlock for 300 seconds.)
(For this command you will type/paste in your passphrase to unlock the wallet.)
bitcoind walletpassphrase <passpharse> 300

(For this command paste in your <privkey>. Really, don't try typing it in.)
(This command also takes a long time usually)
bitcoind importprivkey <privkey> <label>

(If you gave a label above (optional) then you can quickly check it's there with this command)
bitcoind listaccounts

(Now shut down the server)
bitcoind stop

You can close the terminal and start your Gui client as usual and the key should be there.

I think the importprivkey does a rescan anyway so no need to do that, especially if you have never used the key/address yet. Well, I hope so since importprivkey takes so very long!





Spekulatius
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022



View Profile
August 16, 2012, 07:11:16 PM
 #10

Thx for your replies guys,

but please understand that I am a complete !N00b! indeed. I have no idea what to make of the commands given above.
I guess that I have to goto "Start" (im using windows 7), click "Run.." enter "cmd.exe", click "OK" and then enter the commands from above followed by hitting the "Enter" key after each line. The only thing is it doesnt work. It says something like "the command is either misspelled or couldnt be retrieved" in the console.

So what do I need to do (in REAAAALY simple terms pls;)

Thx
jwzguy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 868



View Profile
August 16, 2012, 07:16:03 PM
 #11

Thanks for the instructions, guys. The website mentioned in the earlier post doesn't seem to work any more. Does anyone know if moved? I would definitely like to repost a client comparison for people.

19wXnWTeGuraN9g5UsMAi119sWzDCQcr7S
Bitcoin Logo shirts!
BkkCoins
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


firstbits:1MinerQ


View Profile WWW
August 16, 2012, 11:53:52 PM
 #12

but please understand that I am a complete !N00b! indeed. I have no idea what to make of the commands given above.
I guess that I have to goto "Start" (im using windows 7), click "Run.." enter "cmd.exe", click "OK" and then enter the commands from above followed by hitting the "Enter" key after each line. The only thing is it doesnt work. It says something like "the command is either misspelled or couldnt be retrieved" in the console.
Yes. You have the right idea. But what's likely happened is that bitcoind is not in the path and cannot be found. So you will need to change to the correct directory before you run it. I'm not on Windows any more so I'm not sure where it gets installed. But lets say that it is in the directory,

C:\Program Files\Bitcoin

then before running you would need to type,

cd "\Program Files\Bitcoin"

and then type the commands above (yes, with Enter after each one). The command line server wasn't really designed to be easy for new users but flexible for advanced ones.

TYDIRocks
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 216


View Profile
August 17, 2012, 01:35:08 AM
 #13

Hey AdamstgBit, please check out my program which I feel can help you: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=101161.0

Import new address/private keys with ease: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=101161
Spekulatius
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022



View Profile
September 13, 2012, 06:13:32 PM
 #14

but please understand that I am a complete !N00b! indeed. I have no idea what to make of the commands given above.
I guess that I have to goto "Start" (im using windows 7), click "Run.." enter "cmd.exe", click "OK" and then enter the commands from above followed by hitting the "Enter" key after each line. The only thing is it doesnt work. It says something like "the command is either misspelled or couldnt be retrieved" in the console.
Yes. You have the right idea. But what's likely happened is that bitcoind is not in the path and cannot be found. So you will need to change to the correct directory before you run it. I'm not on Windows any more so I'm not sure where it gets installed. But lets say that it is in the directory,

C:\Program Files\Bitcoin

then before running you would need to type,

cd "\Program Files\Bitcoin"

and then type the commands above (yes, with Enter after each one). The command line server wasn't really designed to be easy for new users but flexible for advanced ones.

Hmm, stil doesnt work. My install directory is in:
D:\Programme\Bitcoin

thats where the "bitcoin-qt.exe" together with the folders "daemon" and "src".

So I opened the cmd.exe and typed in:

Code:
cd D:\Programme\Bitcoin
hit enter

then nothing happens and a new line for me to enter anything appears right below. I also tried all other possible commands mentioned in this thread- without success. Have a look:


* "Der Befehl '...' ist entweder falsch geschrieben oder konnte nicht gefunden werden." is German and translates to: "The command is either misspelled or couldnt be retrieved."
Pieter Wuille
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036


View Profile WWW
September 13, 2012, 06:21:13 PM
 #15

The bitcoind executable is in the daemon directory. cd there first.

aka sipa, core dev team

Tips and donations: 1KwDYMJMS4xq3ZEWYfdBRwYG2fHwhZsipa
gbl08ma
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 306


Donations: http://tny.im/nx


View Profile WWW
September 13, 2012, 06:27:00 PM
 #16

cd to the daemon directory like Pieter Wuille said.
You're on Windows, so instead of ./ you should use backwards slashes instead: .\
You shouldn't be writing the $ as that is the end of the command line of Unix systems (> on Windows).

Anyway, try typing the bitcoind commands starting with .\ after changing directory to the Bitcoin directory. Like this:
Code:
cd D:\Programme\Bitcoin\daemon
.\bitcoind -daemon -rpc-user=Borg -rpc-password=Borg
.\bitcoind walletpassphrase <passpharse> 300
.\bitcoind importprivkey <privkey> <label>
...and so on.

Spekulatius
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022



View Profile
September 13, 2012, 06:41:24 PM
 #17

cd to the daemon directory like Pieter Wuille said.
You're on Windows, so instead of ./ you should use backwards slashes instead: .\
You shouldn't be writing the $ as that is the end of the command line of Unix systems (> on Windows).

Anyway, try typing the bitcoind commands starting with .\ after changing directory to the Bitcoin directory. Like this:
Code:
cd D:\Programme\Bitcoin\daemon
.\bitcoind -daemon -rpc-user=Borg -rpc-password=Borg
.\bitcoind walletpassphrase <passpharse> 300
.\bitcoind importprivkey <privkey> <label>
...and so on.

Hmm, I think we are getting there. But cmd.exe seems not to recognize the new commands yet:

Code:
C:\Users\Sgt.Banana>.\bitcoind -daemon -rpc-user=Borg -rpc-password=Borg
Der Befehl ".\bitcoind" ist entweder falsch geschrieben oder
konnte nicht gefunden werden.

Translation:
Code:
C:\Users\Sgt.Banana>.\bitcoind -daemon -rpc-user=Borg -rpc-password=Borg
The command ".\bitcoind" is either misspelled or couldnt be retrieved.
gbl08ma
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 306


Donations: http://tny.im/nx


View Profile WWW
September 13, 2012, 06:58:04 PM
 #18

It doesn't look like the command line is changing to the directory, as the part before the > keeps being the path to your home directory.
Since you need to change to another drive, try doing the following instead:
Code:
D:
(yes, just type D followed by : and press enter)
and then
Code:
cd Programme\Bitcoin\daemon

By now the last line of the command line should read "D:\Programme\Bitcoin\daemon>".
Now type the bitcoind commands with .\ at the beginning like you were doing.

Spekulatius
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022



View Profile
September 13, 2012, 07:15:12 PM
 #19

It doesn't look like the command line is changing to the directory, as the part before the > keeps being the path to your home directory.
Since you need to change to another drive, try doing the following instead:
Code:
D:
(yes, just type D followed by : and press enter)
and then
Code:
cd Programme\Bitcoin\daemon

By now the last line of the command line should read "D:\Programme\Bitcoin\daemon>".
Now type the bitcoind commands with .\ at the beginning like you were doing.

Ok, thx I entered:

Code:
D:
Wink

and it changed to the correct path instantly. Next thing I entered was:

Code:
D:\Programme\Bitcoin\daemon>.\bitcoind -daemon -rpc-user=Borg -rpc-password=Borg

Error: To use the "-daemon" option, you must set a rpcpassword in the configurat
ion file:
 C:\Users\Sgt.Banana\AppData\Roaming\Bitcoin\bitcoin.conf
It is recommended you use the following random password:
rpcuser=bitcoinrpc
rpcpassword=DTX3ZCFaKjzcHDxtuRuFYcLVeUUXBL7oHh7LkXjfqNFh
(you do not need to remember this password)
If the file does not exist, create it with owner-readable-only file permissions.

Maybe I should mention, that I changed the blockchain file to a new destination folder, because the default path (C:\Users\Sgt.Banana\AppData\Roaming\Bitcoin\bitcoin.conf) clogs up my partition C: .

I accomplished that by creating a shortcut of bitcoin-qt.exe and wrote in its properties in the field "Destination":

Code:
D:\Programme\Bitcoin\bitcoin-qt.exe -datadir=D:\Programme\Bitcoin\Blockchain
you can imagine how long it took me to figure that out;)

So now the blockchain is saved in D:\Programme\Bitcoin\Blockchain.

Is it still possible to import a private key though?


gbl08ma
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 306


Donations: http://tny.im/nx


View Profile WWW
September 13, 2012, 07:43:45 PM
 #20

You should really edit your bitcoin.conf and add the settings it said.
It is either in D:\Programme\Bitcoin\Blockchain or C:\Users\Sgt.Banana\AppData\Roaming\Bitcoin\bitcoin.conf

It's not that hard, just open the file with Notepad and add the rpcuser and rpcpassword settings.

For providing the settings through the command line, I have no idea (I thought it would work like BkkCoin said).

Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!