Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 06:37:05 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How much Data does the Bitcoin Client use  (Read 1764 times)
Possum
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70



View Profile WWW
July 08, 2012, 05:26:10 AM
 #1

Hi

When I use the bitcoin client it will Synchronise with the network. How much data does this use. Would the data used when Synchronising vary, depending on how many times you use the Bitcoin Client..

Thank you..
1481438225
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481438225

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481438225
Reply with quote  #2

1481438225
Report to moderator
1481438225
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481438225

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481438225
Reply with quote  #2

1481438225
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481438225
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481438225

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481438225
Reply with quote  #2

1481438225
Report to moderator
gweedo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


Java, PHP, HTML/CSS Programmer for Hire!


View Profile WWW
July 08, 2012, 06:34:57 AM
 #2

It is about ~2.7 gb so what it does it is downloading the blockchain, which is every transaction ever made in bitcoins. This is so you can verify your balance. It downloads the chucks of the blockchains from the time you quit to the time you start it again. So those can vary depending how long it has been since you downloaded the remaining blocks in the blockchain.

Want to earn 2500 SATOSHIS per hour? Come Chat and Chill in https://goseemybits.com/lobby
pekv2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770



View Profile
July 08, 2012, 06:37:45 AM
 #3

Yup, 2.64 GB over here. When I first started, it was like one gig or 800mb.
4EverMaAT
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19


Forex Automation Expert


View Profile WWW
July 09, 2012, 04:16:07 AM
 #4

I think the OP was not only referring to the initial blockchain download, but was also referring to how much data is used for each active connections that are left open by the client?  To receive payments, make confirmations, receive new block information, etc.

Is your income fully automated? Financial trading is the only proven way to do this:  AwarenessForex.com (http://www.AwarenessForex.com)
20% discount for the first 10 bitcoin payments.
casascius
Mike Caldwell
VIP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344


The Casascius 1oz 10BTC Silver Round (w/ Gold B)


View Profile WWW
July 09, 2012, 04:20:22 AM
 #5

Hi

When I use the bitcoin client it will Synchronise with the network. How much data does this use. Would the data used when Synchronising vary, depending on how many times you use the Bitcoin Client..

Thank you..

It varies by the needs of the clients you're connected to.  If you connect to a client who wants to download the blockchain from you, you'll see vastly different usage versus connecting only to clients who don't ask you for information.

Companies claiming they got hacked and lost your coins sounds like fraud so perfect it could be called fashionable.  I never believe them.  If I ever experience the misfortune of a real intrusion, I declare I have been honest about the way I have managed the keys in Casascius Coins.  I maintain no ability to recover or reproduce the keys, not even under limitless duress or total intrusion.  Remember that trusting strangers with your coins without any recourse is, as a matter of principle, not a best practice.  Don't keep coins online. Use paper wallets instead.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!