Bitcoin Forum
December 12, 2017, 05:31:54 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: how do I create multiple wallets on electrum.  (Read 13679 times)
stan.stan
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36


View Profile
January 16, 2015, 08:03:05 PM
 #1

I would appreciate if someone could tell me how to create multiple wallets on electrum . Thanks in advance.
1513056714
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513056714

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513056714
Reply with quote  #2

1513056714
Report to moderator
1513056714
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513056714

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513056714
Reply with quote  #2

1513056714
Report to moderator
1513056714
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513056714

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513056714
Reply with quote  #2

1513056714
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Amph
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile
January 16, 2015, 08:58:16 PM
 #2

if ti work like core, you just need to remove your wallet from the roaming folder, and restart the client
stan.stan
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36


View Profile
January 16, 2015, 09:15:04 PM
 #3

if ti work like core, you just need to remove your wallet from the roaming folder, and restart the client

I don't really understand but I don't want to get rid of my current wallet, I just want to create another one so that I can have multiple wallets.
Wusolini
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1120

Ruler of the planet Bitcoin Persei 8


View Profile
January 16, 2015, 09:54:09 PM
 #4

go FILE/new/restore

P.S you can have multiple wallets (no need to delete old one, they can be all at same place) but only one of them can be open at the time.

BUY HW WALLET    |  WALLET with DAILY INTEREST     | BUY BTC using CREDITCARD   |  FREEBITco.in FAUCET (60% RCB)   |  AD PLATFORMs  Bitmedia - Mellowads  &  Adbit  |   PLAY BOMBERMAN & WIN BTC  | FREE BITCOIN LOTTO   |     PLAY GAMES & EARN BITCOINS at BITFUN
stan.stan
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36


View Profile
January 16, 2015, 10:28:28 PM
 #5

go FILE/new/restore

P.S you can have multiple wallets (no need to delete old one, they can be all at same place) but only one of them can be open at the time.

I clicked on file on my electrum but I can't find the "new" option. how do I go about this?
cryptworld
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658



View Profile
January 17, 2015, 01:05:24 AM
 #6

go FILE/new/restore

P.S you can have multiple wallets (no need to delete old one, they can be all at same place) but only one of them can be open at the time.

I clicked on file on my electrum but I can't find the "new" option. how do I go about this?
the option is "new/restore"
Q7
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


View Profile WWW
January 17, 2015, 01:55:37 AM
 #7

I don't think what OP meant was to delete the wallet and restart with a new seed. What is needed is to generate another set of addressees with the same seed, more than the default 5 which we have currently. Yeah, I don't see the option as well and the new addresses which I got was from the new addresses after the old one has been recycled. Maybe it could involve changing some codes so maybe by mailing the dev can help out here.

dabura667
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 478


View Profile
January 17, 2015, 06:51:44 AM
 #8

Please note that "Address" = one bitcoin address, but "wallet" in the context of Electrum means a single 12 word seed that generates addresses deterministically.

1. If you mean you want to create multiple wallets (each one having their own 12 word seed) then just click "File" on the toolbar, then click "New/Restore" to bring up a save as... box. Type in the name you want to give your wallet (do NOT overwrite your existing wallets, so choose a different name) Then you will be asked whether you will create a new wallet or restore. This is the same menu you saw when you first made your wallet.

To open the second wallet, click "Open Wallet" from the File menu, and select the second wallet to open it.


2. If you mean that you want to generate as many addresses as you want with the same Electrum seed, then this is not safe to do for the normal user.

If you were a programmer, then it would be safe... but my rule of thumb is "if they aren't smart enough to figure out how to do it themselves, then they don't have the knowledge necessary to properly manage the addresses.

Electrum was made the way it was to make managing your wallet easy. It was not made for managing Bitcoin faucets or businesses.

If you would like to use Electrum with your business, find a programmer who understands Electrum well enough to code something for you.

My Tip Address:
1DXcHTJS2DJ3xDoxw22wCt11FeAsgfzdBU
stan.stan
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36


View Profile
March 03, 2015, 09:08:06 PM
 #9

Hey guys, sorry for bumping an old thread its just that I am still having problems with this. I clicked on file and all I can see is this:



I would really appreciate if someone could help me out here. Thanks in advance.
ThomasV
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1892



View Profile WWW
March 03, 2015, 09:31:32 PM
 #10

just install the latest version

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
stan.stan
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36


View Profile
March 04, 2015, 07:19:12 AM
 #11

Do I uninstall the old version before installing the new one ? if I install the old version then what happens to my wallet and the funds in it? how do I restore the wallet?
Q7
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


View Profile WWW
March 04, 2015, 02:23:11 PM
 #12

Do I uninstall the old version before installing the new one ? if I install the old version then what happens to my wallet and the funds in it? how do I restore the wallet?

If you have the 12-word seed with you, there shouldn't be any problem. Just uninstall the program like what you would normally do with other programs and then reinstall it back. Look under File menu and click New/Restore. Choose a file name and then save it. The program will prompt you whether you want to start with a new wallet or restore one from a seed.
As in your case, you should select restore from seed

stan.stan
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36


View Profile
March 04, 2015, 09:26:27 PM
 #13

Do I uninstall the old version before installing the new one ? if I install the old version then what happens to my wallet and the funds in it? how do I restore the wallet?

If you have the 12-word seed with you, there shouldn't be any problem. Just uninstall the program like what you would normally do with other programs and then reinstall it back. Look under File menu and click New/Restore. Choose a file name and then save it. The program will prompt you whether you want to start with a new wallet or restore one from a seed.
As in your case, you should select restore from seed

Thanks for replying. I can't seem to find electrum in my control panel / list of programs. Please how do I uninstall electrum?
stan.stan
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36


View Profile
March 05, 2015, 06:29:35 AM
 #14

Anyone ? ? ?
dabura667
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 478


View Profile
March 07, 2015, 03:52:03 AM
 #15

Anyone ? ? ?
delete the folder.

Just make sure you have your seed backed up.

My Tip Address:
1DXcHTJS2DJ3xDoxw22wCt11FeAsgfzdBU
Abdussamad
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1582



View Profile WWW
July 03, 2017, 10:22:29 PM
 #16

You shouldn't have used the portable version. Always use the installer version for your operating system. When you want to update to a newer version you simply download the installer and run it again. It will update electrum for you.

pooya87
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1120


Buy bitcoin they said... who listened?


View Profile
July 04, 2017, 04:40:44 AM
 #17

Anyone ? ? ?
delete the folder.

Just make sure you have your seed backed up.

Unfortunately,all comments for your transactions will be deleted too  Undecided
Yes I was updating comments where do I spend money or receive from and why  Roll Eyes

this is an OLD topic about a very OLD version of electrum with very OLD answers which none of them apply to the current version of electrum.

and DO NOT delete anything without knowing what it is and what it does.

if you have any problems please make a new topic instead of bumping an old one.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!