Bitcoin Forum
September 25, 2016, 07:07:15 PM *
News: Due to DDoS attacks, there may be periodic downtime.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Gentoo Linux Ebuild  (Read 11415 times)
BioMike
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


View Profile
September 05, 2010, 07:24:00 PM
 #21

You should specify which ebuild is yours so that others know.  Currently there are two ebuild versions in the repository.

Message says:
"bitcoin-0.3.11 ebuild from BioMike"
1474830435
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1474830435

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1474830435
Reply with quote  #2

1474830435
Report to moderator
1474830435
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1474830435

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1474830435
Reply with quote  #2

1474830435
Report to moderator
1474830435
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1474830435

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1474830435
Reply with quote  #2

1474830435
Report to moderator
Some PGP public keys you should import: theymos, BadBear, Sirius, Stefan, Wladimir, Gavin, Gregory, Jeff, Pieter
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
BioMike
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


View Profile
September 07, 2010, 07:59:08 PM
 #22

Updated the ebuild on github for version 0.3.12.
mizerydearia
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574



View Profile
September 18, 2010, 11:15:18 PM
 #23

Updated bitcoin-9999.ebuild to work with revision 155
mizerydearia
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574



View Profile
September 19, 2010, 11:04:45 PM
 #24

bitcoin-9999.ebuild tested to work with latest svn snapshot 156: http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1048.msg13219#msg13219
Also, fixed this, however, init script is still buggy/unfinished.
mizerydearia
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574



View Profile
September 29, 2010, 05:44:08 PM
 #25

svn ebuild: bitcoin-9999.ebuild updated (currently revision 157)

http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=611.msg14576#msg14576
http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=984.msg14575#msg14575
BioMike
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


View Profile
October 01, 2010, 06:32:15 AM
 #26

bitcoin-0.3.13 ebuild is now available. Made some small changes in the process (bitcoin is C++, so renamed the CFLAGS to CXXFLAGS).

Have fun.
Ewald
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
October 04, 2010, 06:13:54 PM
 #27

Any chance of a CUDA use flag, maybe restricted to a certain revision? Grin
BioMike
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


View Profile
October 04, 2010, 09:13:53 PM
 #28

As CUDA isn't in the main releases yet, I'm not going to include it (my goal is to get it as stable as possible to get it included into the main gentoo tree). Mizerydearia is taking care of the live ebuild and might want to include it.
mizerydearia
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574



View Profile
October 05, 2010, 12:07:55 AM
 #29

I do not have an nVidia gpu and cannot afford to buy anything for the foreseeable future.  If another gentoo user is willing to provide an ebuild for the CUDA client, that would be appreciated.  I can provide access to the github repository if somene is willing to contribute a CUDA ebuild.  Otherwise instead of an entirely separate ebuild, if there are patches (just like the others) that can be applied when "cuda" USEFLAG is enabled, then you're welcome to modify my ebuild as well.
BioMike
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


View Profile
October 05, 2010, 06:52:43 AM
 #30

 Otherwise instead of an entirely separate ebuild, if there are patches (just like the others) that can be applied when "cuda" USEFLAG is enabled, then you're welcome to modify my ebuild as well.

I think that would be the way to go. If the patches are right you could build it with USE="cuda", but the program would just not use it. People with Cuda hardware could then test it for you.
Ewald
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
October 08, 2010, 08:03:05 AM
 #31

As CUDA isn't in the main releases yet, I'm not going to include it (my goal is to get it as stable as possible to get it included into the main gentoo tree). Mizerydearia is taking care of the live ebuild and might want to include it.

Thanks for the replies, getting it into the main tree is indeed a lot more important. Good luck! Smiley
ShadowOfHarbringer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470


Bringing Legendary Har® to you since 1952


View Profile
October 08, 2010, 08:23:23 AM
 #32

I do not have an nVidia gpu and cannot afford to buy anything for the foreseeable future.  If another gentoo user is willing to provide an ebuild for the CUDA client, that would be appreciated.  I can provide access to the github repository if somene is willing to contribute a CUDA ebuild.  Otherwise instead of an entirely separate ebuild, if there are patches (just like the others) that can be applied when "cuda" USEFLAG is enabled, then you're welcome to modify my ebuild as well.

I will contribute a CUDA ebuild, once i get the damn makefile to work.
I guess perhaps this weekend.

mizerydearia
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574



View Profile
October 08, 2010, 05:23:05 PM
 #33

What github username do you use?  I'll add commit access.
neofutur
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 147



View Profile WWW
October 18, 2010, 09:09:05 AM
 #34

bitcoin-0.3.13 ebuild is now available. Made some small changes in the process (bitcoin is C++, so renamed the CFLAGS to CXXFLAGS).

Have fun.

 hi,

 I m new to bitcoin and have just built bitcoin on my gentoo using your ebuild :
http://github.com/mizerydearia/bitcoin_gentoo_ebuild/tree/master

 I use gentoo for years but never had to use a custom ebuild until now, so I had to search how to use it .

 My small contribution for the next one wanted to test bitcoin on gentoo, I just did :

 First I added in make.conf :
Code:
PORTDIR_OVERLAY=/usr/local/portage
to be able to use a custon ebuild

 Then :

Code:
emerge git # install git
git clone http://github.com/mizerydearia/bitcoin_gentoo_ebuild.git #to get the ebuild
cp -af net-p2p /usr/local/portage # put the ebuild in the overlay
emerge -pv bitcoin # check everything is ok and see the default use flags


then  in /etc/portage/package.use :

Code:
=net-p2p/bitcoin-0.3.13  nls sse2 daemon -gui

and in /etc/portage/package.keywords
Code:
=net-p2p/bitcoin-0.3.13         ~x86

 and finally build it :

Code:
emerge -pv bitcoin # check again the useflags
emerge bitcoin # build and install it

but I got :

Code:
>>> Unpacking source...
>>> Unpacking bitcoin-0.3.13-linux.tar.gz to /var/tmp/portage/net-p2p/bitcoin-0.3.13/work
>>> Source unpacked in /var/tmp/portage/net-p2p/bitcoin-0.3.13/work
>>> Preparing source in /var/tmp/portage/net-p2p/bitcoin-0.3.13/work/bitcoin-0.3.13 ...
 * Berkeley DB:
include version 4.8
 * Enabling SSE2 code
>>> Source prepared.
>>> Configuring source in /var/tmp/portage/net-p2p/bitcoin-0.3.13/work/bitcoin-0.3.13 ...
>>> Source configured.
>>> Compiling source in /var/tmp/portage/net-p2p/bitcoin-0.3.13/work/bitcoin-0.3.13 ...
make bitcoind
g++ -c -O2 -mtune=i686 -pipe -Wno-invalid-offsetof -Wformat @@GENTOO_CFLAGS_SSE2@@ -I"/usr/include" -I"/usr/include/crypto++" -I"/usr/include/db4.8"  -o obj/nogui/util.o util.cpp
g++: @@GENTOO_CFLAGS_SSE2@@: No such file or directory
util.cpp: In function 'void ShrinkDebugFile()':
util.cpp:739: warning: ignoring return value of 'size_t fwrite(const void*, size_t, size_t, FILE*)', declared with attribute warn_unused_result
make: *** [obj/nogui/util.o] Error 1
 * ERROR: net-p2p/bitcoin-0.3.13 failed:
 *   emake bitcoind failed
 *
 * Call stack:
 *     ebuild.sh, line  54:  Called src_compile
 *   environment, line 5203:  Called die
 * The specific snippet of code:
 *           emake bitcoind || die "emake bitcoind failed";
 *
 * If you need support, post the output of 'emerge --info =net-p2p/bitcoin-0.3.13',
 * the complete build log and the output of 'emerge -pqv =net-p2p/bitcoin-0.3.13'.
 * This ebuild is from an overlay: '/usr/local/portage/'
 * The complete build log is located at '/var/tmp/portage/net-p2p/bitcoin-0.3.13/temp/build.log'.
 * The ebuild environment file is located at '/var/tmp/portage/net-p2p/bitcoin-0.3.13/temp/environment'.
 * S: '/var/tmp/portage/net-p2p/bitcoin-0.3.13/work/bitcoin-0.3.13'

>>> Failed to emerge net-p2p/bitcoin-0.3.13


any ideas ? did I miss something ? should I disable this sse2 ?

full build log : http://paste.pocoo.org/show/276889/
build environment : http://paste.pocoo.org/show/276890/

ShadowOfHarbringer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470


Bringing Legendary Har® to you since 1952


View Profile
October 18, 2010, 09:36:28 AM
 #35

Clearly i can see that Your makefile is not reading the @@GENTOO_CFLAGS_SSE2@@ variable.
Another question is, WHY.

I am using exactly the same ebuild as You are and everything works.

Perhaps something is wrong with Your cflags. Check make.conf. perhaps You should add processor type/architecture to the $CFLAGS variable.

----
You can post Your make.conf here, i will take a look at it.


----
EDIT: Correction, I'm not using the same ebuild as You, I'm using its older version.
Perhaps something broke later ?

ShadowOfHarbringer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470


Bringing Legendary Har® to you since 1952


View Profile
October 18, 2010, 10:05:43 AM
 #36

I think that Your cflags are wrong (too general). You need to set them for specifically Your processor type, so SSE2 will be detected and set.
But i might be wrong.

Code:
CFLAGS="-O2 -mtune=i686 -pipe"
declare -x CXXFLAGS="-O2 -mtune=i686 -pipe"

Look at mine in comparison:

Code:
CFLAGS="-march=k8 -O2 -pipe"
CXXFLAGS="-march=k8 -O2 -pipe"

Those are set specifically for AMD64 processor with SSE2 support.
Another thing is that perhaps Your processor does not support SSE2 ?

You could post Your hardware specs.

----
EDIT:
Also, here are lists for safe Gentoo CFLAGS for every Intel/AMD processor:
http://en.gentoo-wiki.com/wiki/Safe_Cflags/AMD
http://en.gentoo-wiki.com/wiki/Safe_Cflags/Intel

neofutur
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 147



View Profile WWW
October 18, 2010, 10:32:55 AM
 #37

my CPU is :

model name     : Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU     E6550  @ 2.33GHz
flags   : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts pni monitor ds_cpl vmx smx est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr lahf_lm

should have this sse2 support according to the flags

EDIT :

 same problem after changing my CFLAGS  ;(

 I tried :

CFLAGS="-march=prescott -O2 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer"

and

CFLAGS="-O2 -march=native -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer"

I think that Your cflags are wrong (too general). You need to set them for specifically Your processor type, so SSE2 will be detected and set.
But i might be wrong.

Code:
CFLAGS="-O2 -mtune=i686 -pipe"
declare -x CXXFLAGS="-O2 -mtune=i686 -pipe"

Look at mine in comparison:

Code:
CFLAGS="-march=k8 -O2 -pipe"
CXXFLAGS="-march=k8 -O2 -pipe"

Those are set specifically for AMD64 processor with SSE2 support.
Another thing is that perhaps Your processor does not support SSE2 ?

You could post Your hardware specs.

----
EDIT:
Also, here are lists for safe Gentoo CFLAGS for every Intel/AMD processor:
http://en.gentoo-wiki.com/wiki/Safe_Cflags/AMD
http://en.gentoo-wiki.com/wiki/Safe_Cflags/Intel

ShadowOfHarbringer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470


Bringing Legendary Har® to you since 1952


View Profile
October 18, 2010, 01:17:31 PM
 #38

I think You should ask this question at Gentoo Forums as it seems that Your Gentoo is misconfigured somehow.

They will know why is Your SSE2 variable not set.

BTW,
Did You do $ env-update && source /etc/profile as root after changing your CFLAGS ?
Alternatively, You may restart Your computer - that should work too.

ShadowOfHarbringer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470


Bringing Legendary Har® to you since 1952


View Profile
October 18, 2010, 01:37:01 PM
 #39

Never mind my previous post.

I've studied the code of the ebuild and i know what the @@GENTOO_CFLAGS_SSE2@@ is.

This "@@GENTOO_CFLAGS_SSE2@@" gets replaced by "-DFOURWAYSSE2" by emerge, which is defined in the ebuild. If it is not replaced, something wrong is going on with the ebuild.

My advice: try the older version (as it worked for me).

BioMike
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


View Profile
October 18, 2010, 06:12:08 PM
 #40

I see my Makefile.gentoo got reverted to an older version, caused by an update by mizerydearea. That is causing the problem.

I'll see if I can get my version in again.

<edit>Corrected Makefile.gentoo is in github again</edit>
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!