Bitcoin Forum
April 21, 2014, 09:37:31 AM *
News: Due to the OpenSSL heartbleed bug, changing your forum password is recommended.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: CUDA Mining with a GTX 460  (Read 7544 times)
ItsASpork
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 82


View Profile

Ignore
May 22, 2011, 01:27:10 AM
 #1

I'm trying to use puddinpop's CUDA rpcminer to mine with my GTX 460 in GUIminer, but it won't go past 'Connecting'. I'm able to use the 4way and CPU miners fine. Do I need to install certain drivers or add a flag or something?

Sorry to bother you guys; any help is much appreciated.

Feeling Generous? 16Zo6werKP4akoTfHc9P5XXBGS2jFqeuSt
Support the Bitcoin Faucet
1398073051
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1398073051

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1398073051
Reply with quote  #2

1398073051
Report to moderator
1398073051
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1398073051

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1398073051
Reply with quote  #2

1398073051
Report to moderator
1398073051
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1398073051

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1398073051
Reply with quote  #2

1398073051
Report to moderator
Private Internet Access™ - No logs, Unlimited Bandwidth, PC Magazine's Editor's Choice
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1398073051
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1398073051

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1398073051
Reply with quote  #2

1398073051
Report to moderator
1398073051
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1398073051

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1398073051
Reply with quote  #2

1398073051
Report to moderator
lebish
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile WWW

Ignore
May 22, 2011, 01:32:19 AM
 #2

You're doing this on Windows? Make sure the NVIDIA CUDA drivers are installed and the GTX 460 drivers, that should be all you need!

bitcoin://1N8v3K9JkNsMaffJZNzRmyUnwtuAxZv7Qa
namecoin://MwsunGebPhErL9fFPi3JLZqFZGJxfzV98b
Namecoin Us! (http://namecoin.us/)
ItsASpork
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 82


View Profile

Ignore
May 22, 2011, 01:42:23 AM
 #3

You're doing this on Windows? Make sure the NVIDIA CUDA drivers are installed and the GTX 460 drivers, that should be all you need!
Thank you very much, I wasn't aware CUDA needed separate driver.

I'm only getting about 8.5 Mhash though, is this normal, or are there flags I should use to increase performance. On the chart it says a GTX 460 should pull about 60 Mhash.

Feeling Generous? 16Zo6werKP4akoTfHc9P5XXBGS2jFqeuSt
Support the Bitcoin Faucet
lebish
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile WWW

Ignore
May 22, 2011, 01:54:28 AM
 #4

Hm, if you're only getting 8.5 Mhash my guess is that the GPU mining isn't kicking in and it's just using your CPU. Which miner are you using?

I get 65-70 Mhash on my overclocked 460.

bitcoin://1N8v3K9JkNsMaffJZNzRmyUnwtuAxZv7Qa
namecoin://MwsunGebPhErL9fFPi3JLZqFZGJxfzV98b
Namecoin Us! (http://namecoin.us/)
ItsASpork
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 82


View Profile

Ignore
May 22, 2011, 05:20:12 AM
 #5

Hm, if you're only getting 8.5 Mhash my guess is that the GPU mining isn't kicking in and it's just using your CPU. Which miner are you using?

I get 65-70 Mhash on my overclocked 460.
That's weird, because I was using a CPU miner at the same time, which was also pulling about 9Mh, and on task manager it showed it was using all the CPU, while the CUDA miner was using 0.

I'm using GUIminer, with puddinpop's CUDA miner.

Feeling Generous? 16Zo6werKP4akoTfHc9P5XXBGS2jFqeuSt
Support the Bitcoin Faucet
lebish
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile WWW

Ignore
May 22, 2011, 06:51:13 PM
 #6

The CUDA miner should always show 0% or 1% cpu usage since it's, well, using your graphics card :-)

Give the Phoenix miner a try. It has yielded the best results for me out of all the miners. Also, have you overclocked your 460 yet? Paste your GPU-Z here if ya have, would love to see what yours is running stable at!

bitcoin://1N8v3K9JkNsMaffJZNzRmyUnwtuAxZv7Qa
namecoin://MwsunGebPhErL9fFPi3JLZqFZGJxfzV98b
Namecoin Us! (http://namecoin.us/)
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!