Bitcoin Forum
May 27, 2018, 08:50:03 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Configure Bitcoind to NOT relay 0 fee transactions  (Read 1462 times)
RandomQ
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 500



View Profile
July 15, 2012, 02:56:49 AM
 #1

I've been searching for more information on how to do this? almost 30 mins now.

I want my bitcoind to not relay any transaction that has a 0 fee included. Yes, I'm a greedy miner lol

Do i have to use a forked client? patch?

Someone point me in the right direction lol
1527454203
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527454203

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527454203
Reply with quote  #2

1527454203
Report to moderator
1527454203
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527454203

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527454203
Reply with quote  #2

1527454203
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1527454203
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527454203

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527454203
Reply with quote  #2

1527454203
Report to moderator
1527454203
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527454203

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527454203
Reply with quote  #2

1527454203
Report to moderator
Stephen Gornick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2478
Merit: 1001


View Profile
July 15, 2012, 03:08:59 AM
 #2

I want my bitcoind to not relay any transaction that has a 0 fee included. Yes, I'm a greedy miner lol

Heh thousands of nodes will relay it, but yours won't.  So if I'm connected to eight nodes, and yours is one of them, it might then take 3.6 seconds for my transaction to propagate globally rather than 3.5 seconds.
RandomQ
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 500



View Profile
July 15, 2012, 03:14:17 AM
 #3

Yea I know let the free loaders leech someone else blocks lol.
I'm sure 99% of the clients will relay them, I want to be the 1% lol
-----
I want my sub pool/pool to not relay them
randomproof
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 61
Merit: 10


View Profile
July 23, 2012, 03:23:50 PM
 #4

Here is what I found after a quick check:

Look for this code in main.cpp
Code:
       // Note: if you modify this code to accept non-standard transactions, then
        // you should add code here to check that the transaction does a
        // reasonable number of ECDSA signature verifications.

        int64 nFees = tx.GetValueIn(mapInputs)-tx.GetValueOut();
        unsigned int nSize = ::GetSerializeSize(tx, SER_NETWORK, PROTOCOL_VERSION);

        // Don't accept it if it can't get into a block
        if (nFees < tx.GetMinFee(1000, true, GMF_RELAY))
            return error("CTxMemPool::accept() : not enough fees");

and change to this:

Code:
       // Note: if you modify this code to accept non-standard transactions, then
        // you should add code here to check that the transaction does a
        // reasonable number of ECDSA signature verifications.

        int64 nFees = tx.GetValueIn(mapInputs)-tx.GetValueOut();

        if (nFees == 0)
                return false;

        unsigned int nSize = ::GetSerializeSize(tx, SER_NETWORK, PROTOCOL_VERSION);

        // Don't accept it if it can't get into a block
        if (nFees < tx.GetMinFee(1000, true, GMF_RELAY))
            return error("CTxMemPool::accept() : not enough fees");

Donations to me:   19599Y3PTRF1mNdzVjQzePr67ttMiBG5LS
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!