Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 08:23:24 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 »
  Print  
Author Topic: BBQCoin, the coin you want to eat.  (Read 105105 times)
Nolo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686


Whoa, there are a lot of cats in this wall.


View Profile
February 23, 2013, 02:29:41 AM
 #141

Nice. Finally got around to getting this setup.  Just mined my first block. 

Charlie Kelly: I'm pleading the 5th.  The Attorney: I would advise you do that.  Charlie Kelly: I'll take that advice under cooperation, alright? Now, let's say you and I go toe-to-toe on bird law and see who comes out the victor?  The Attorney: You know, I don't think I'm going to do anything close to that and I can clearly see you know nothing about the law.
19GpqFsNGP8jS941YYZZjmCSrHwvX3QjiC
Even if you use Bitcoin through Tor, the way transactions are handled by the network makes anonymity difficult to achieve. Do not expect your transactions to be anonymous unless you really know what you're doing.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481228604
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481228604

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481228604
Reply with quote  #2

1481228604
Report to moderator
1481228604
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481228604

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481228604
Reply with quote  #2

1481228604
Report to moderator
markm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1792



View Profile WWW
February 23, 2013, 05:06:53 AM
 #142

Congratulations!

Now I know that once an exchange opens for a coin, it can really spoil things, for example start jumping on the coin just to mine-and-dump it.

So don't get all worried when I start getting set up in Ripple to enable trade on the Ripple network; this just seems a fun coin for people to play with on Ripple, I might even be able to set up a web-app that automatically accepts Ripple IOUs and sends out real coins on the blockchain and vice-versa.

Since that is a risky thing to do - opening a web-protocol port to all the hxors on the internetz - it will be good that it is just a fun coin we are doing it with.

At the same time though, it might make it easier for game players to be able to make use of these coins in games.

-MarkM-

P.S. When people go out back to grill sausages/steak etc they do use BBQ as short form of the name of the thing they do it on. I think using BCQ instead is just arbitrary obfuscation/confusing, BBQ is simply more natural/normal/recognisable.

Browser-launched Crossfire client now online (select CrossCiv server for Galactic  Milieu)
Free website hosting with PHP, MySQL etc: http://hosting.knotwork.com/
xorxor
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392



View Profile WWW
February 23, 2013, 05:36:23 AM
 #143

what would happen if we started a new genesis block now ant try to reclaim the chain ?
what would win? 51% clients or client with the highest block ?

if 51% clients would force the new clean blockchain , than we can try it, and than the bbq would be truly reborn. 

markm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1792



View Profile WWW
February 23, 2013, 08:24:09 AM
 #144

Well you'd have to throw away the checkpoints list, too, of course.

And maybe it might be a bit rude to fight for the same port number people are already using for the current chain.

I'm not sure who would compensate all the players who parted with "valuable" game items for this game currency you now propose to pull out from under them. You? Or is all the "fun" of this "fun" coin to be taken away from them now?

The players who spent their CPU cycles on GRouPcoin instead will be relieved it isn't the coin they chose to play with that vanished, but if they have any wars of feuds going with characters or clans who chose to go with this coin instead that could end up changing the whole battlefield considerably.

I expect therefore that it would end up with two coins trying to use the same port number and from the sound of it you don't even plan to change the handshaking "magic bytes" so they'll know not to connect to the other coin's nodes?

-MarkM-

Browser-launched Crossfire client now online (select CrossCiv server for Galactic  Milieu)
Free website hosting with PHP, MySQL etc: http://hosting.knotwork.com/
CaptChadd
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854

Product Marketing & Promotion / Software Developer


View Profile WWW
February 23, 2013, 11:36:50 AM
 #145

I am really liking this coin so much and I like the fact that the vast majority of people have ignored it and think it is dead.

Can you explain what this ripple thing is please? I guess I have been out of the loop.

I do get scared about exchanged, as that can turn into a pump and dump.

I have alot of BBQcoin's but they are not for dumping but to increase transactions.

When I mine the only transaction free that I see are my own ones that I sent to my GF and another friend, is nobody else adding transaction fees?
markm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1792



View Profile WWW
February 23, 2013, 12:05:01 PM
 #146

We can use them "by proxy" as it were in Ripple.

Basically if you trust my claim that I have mined some blocks of the coin way long time ago, long enough ago that there is more then one hard-coded checkpoint in the code now, so that even a 51%-plus attacker cannot undo those coins, you could consider trusting me for some number of IOUs, denominated in what I guess I will be listing as BBQ not as BQC since I think ordinary folk are far more likely to figure out at a glance the name of the coin if they see BBQ than they are likely to "intuitively know" what "BQC" stands for.

If you have told Ripple you trust me for X number of BBQ IOUs, presto I will be able to send you up to that many such IOUs, and presto BBQ will be useable in Ripple by proxy of these IOUs.

Once I get hold of source code for the Ripple server, I plan to get a Ripple server running so I can flag a Ripple account as the type of account used by Ripple gateways, which will let me start trying to get their example web-based app for transfers between blockchains and IOUs adapted to work with the BBQ blockchain; until then there is no automated way to turn the IOUs back into actual coins on the blockchain.

We'd be playing with our fun coin in Ripple as a fun way to check out Ripple, basically.

I also would prefer not to actually dig out those virgin coins because once moved there would be no hardcoded checkpoints protecting them. So I would not be redeeming IOUs with ancient coins, unless of course I had no more-recently-moved coins to redeem them with.

Thus I will be operating at at least 100% reserve and usually more than 100% reserve.

-MarkM-

Browser-launched Crossfire client now online (select CrossCiv server for Galactic  Milieu)
Free website hosting with PHP, MySQL etc: http://hosting.knotwork.com/
Cubox
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


Creator of BBQCoin.


View Profile
February 23, 2013, 12:20:16 PM
 #147

Hi,

I am really happy of how this is going.
I made the #bbqcoin IRC channel up. It's on freenode.
I don't have any sources here. I can rebuild the repo on GitHub if someone have them and can maintain it. (I don't know coding.)

And, I am really happy that Greedi have left crypto coins. Please, tell me that Luke-Jr did this too. (He killed BBQCoin.)

Thanks for your support, and see you soon on the IRC channel!

Andy "Cubox" Pilate.
CaptChadd
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854

Product Marketing & Promotion / Software Developer


View Profile WWW
February 23, 2013, 12:58:17 PM
 #148

We can use them "by proxy" as it were in Ripple.

Basically if you trust my claim that I have mined some blocks of the coin way long time ago, long enough ago that there is more then one hard-coded checkpoint in the code now, so that even a 51%-plus attacker cannot undo those coins, you could consider trusting me for some number of IOUs, denominated in what I guess I will be listing as BBQ not as BQC since I think ordinary folk are far more likely to figure out at a glance the name of the coin if they see BBQ than they are likely to "intuitively know" what "BQC" stands for.

If you have told Ripple you trust me for X number of BBQ IOUs, presto I will be able to send you up to that many such IOUs, and presto BBQ will be useable in Ripple by proxy of these IOUs.

Once I get hold of source code for the Ripple server, I plan to get a Ripple server running so I can flag a Ripple account as the type of account used by Ripple gateways, which will let me start trying to get their example web-based app for transfers between blockchains and IOUs adapted to work with the BBQ blockchain; until then there is no automated way to turn the IOUs back into actual coins on the blockchain.

We'd be playing with our fun coin in Ripple as a fun way to check out Ripple, basically.

I also would prefer not to actually dig out those virgin coins because once moved there would be no hardcoded checkpoints protecting them. So I would not be redeeming IOUs with ancient coins, unless of course I had no more-recently-moved coins to redeem them with.

Thus I will be operating at at least 100% reserve and usually more than 100% reserve.

-MarkM-


Just wondering how this ripple will help BBQcoin and protect it?
markm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1792



View Profile WWW
February 23, 2013, 12:59:10 PM
 #149

Okay, I managed to push it to https://github.com/knotwork/bbqcoin

-MarkM-

Browser-launched Crossfire client now online (select CrossCiv server for Galactic  Milieu)
Free website hosting with PHP, MySQL etc: http://hosting.knotwork.com/
markm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1792



View Profile WWW
February 23, 2013, 01:03:05 PM
 #150

Just wondering how this ripple will help BBQcoin and protect it?

Hmm I don't know that it would protect BBQcoin.

It would let us trade off the chain though, using IOUs, until some day when the chain is secure enough by enough hashing that people feel confident transactions they do on the chain will not be reversed by a 51% attack.

Mostly it just seemed a convenient coin to use for playing with Ripple and testing the IOUs-to-blockchains code.

-MarkM-

Browser-launched Crossfire client now online (select CrossCiv server for Galactic  Milieu)
Free website hosting with PHP, MySQL etc: http://hosting.knotwork.com/
K1773R
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526


/dev/null


View Profile
February 23, 2013, 01:26:29 PM
 #151

Okay, I managed to push it to https://github.com/knotwork/bbqcoin

-MarkM-

its STILL wrong! seriously, how hard is it to use the hashes of the actual chain? i did it for u!
Code:
k1773r@AltcoinVM:~$ bbqcoind getblockhash 86425
5bb676c3ea2d9cdc2589e7fa53874c425317aa9dadf0ae503fb7cf804cab9762
k1773r@AltcoinVM:~$ bbqcoind getblock 5bb676c3ea2d9cdc2589e7fa53874c425317aa9dadf0ae503fb7cf804cab9762
{
    "hash" : "5bb676c3ea2d9cdc2589e7fa53874c425317aa9dadf0ae503fb7cf804cab9762",
    "confirmations" : 217002,
    "size" : 190,
    "height" : 86425,
    "version" : 1,
    "merkleroot" : "a0df5ebb02972257912d5528777df379ca052110f8c078ad5ad176cdef7e3dea",
    "time" : 1347952774,
    "nonce" : 3554,
    "bits" : "1e3d14e2",
    "difficulty" : 0.00006395,
    "tx" : [
        "a0df5ebb02972257912d5528777df379ca052110f8c078ad5ad176cdef7e3dea"
    ],
    "previousblockhash" : "48aa019d01345dc5e8e6c188d419497de6a1b53df1ac9fe84cfedfc98d77b5a1",
    "nextblockhash" : "5c5db91066822f2c20682320c19cbbac74e37f38a0d40a01cc6a20f99d736807"
}
the newer checkpoint u set is again wrong (there is no such block in our actual chain, same as the one before u made)
Code:
k1773r@AltcoinVM:~$ bbqcoind getblockhash 303403
6d7493ffc82a9553cf20ffca41ace762c3e4e7db4fe6f820675cdf387116342f
k1773r@AltcoinVM:~$ bbqcoind getblock 6d7493ffc82a9553cf20ffca41ace762c3e4e7db4fe6f820675cdf387116342f
{
    "hash" : "6d7493ffc82a9553cf20ffca41ace762c3e4e7db4fe6f820675cdf387116342f",
    "confirmations" : 25,
    "size" : 190,
    "height" : 303403,
    "version" : 1,
    "merkleroot" : "9fbb3e71cf0666bbd06cb84640afa0ef49ee072dda8d4c41106d52b50e27e150",
    "time" : 1361624074,
    "nonce" : 2147484914,
    "bits" : "1d5441cf",
    "difficulty" : 0.01186826,
    "tx" : [
        "9fbb3e71cf0666bbd06cb84640afa0ef49ee072dda8d4c41106d52b50e27e150"
    ],
    "previousblockhash" : "09846e10a0b699bc95ea14730f56ded61f4f13602d357b9f3ec35920e79a24c5",
    "nextblockhash" : "71bb287ea8dd40d5537dd422fc97899ad3711ab0f3434c41e9de81438cfc8648"
}

[GPG Public Key]  [Devcoin Builds]  [BBQCoin Builds]  [Multichain Blockexplorer]  [Multichain Blockexplorer - PoS Coins]  [Ufasoft Miner Linux Builds]
BTC/DVC/TRC/FRC: 1K1773RbXRZVRQSSXe9N6N2MUFERvrdu6y ANC/XPM AK1773RTmRKtvbKBCrUu95UQg5iegrqyeA NMC: NK1773Rzv8b4ugmCgX789PbjewA9fL9Dy1 LTC: LKi773RBuPepQH8E6Zb1ponoCvgbU7hHmd EMC: EK1773RxUes1HX1YAGMZ1xVYBBRUCqfDoF BQC: bK1773R1APJz4yTgRkmdKQhjhiMyQpJgfN
markm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1792



View Profile WWW
February 23, 2013, 01:30:47 PM
 #152

There must be more than one chain maybe, and I am on one, you on the other?

I wanted to try to figure out what had gone wrong before, so I scrolled back in my debug.log to see if I had managed to find a block (on some chains I often do not find a block in the timespan between cleaning away all the debug.log files of the various blockchains so wasn't even sure I would find what I was looking for at all).

I found this in my debug.log:

Code:
BitcoinMiner:
proof-of-work found  
  hash: 000000055630929f820ae426788290a5c0235c1f6d7d2d6675865ad757d342c2  
target: 0000005441cf0000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000
CBlock(hash=6d7493ffc82a9553cf20, PoW=000000055630929f820a, ver=1, hashPrevBlock=09846e10a0b699bc95ea, hashMerkleRoot=9fbb3e71cf, nTime=1361624074, nBits=1d5441cf, nNonce=2147484914, vtx=1)
  CTransaction(hash=9fbb3e71cf, ver=1, vin.size=1, vout.size=1, nLockTime=0)
    CTxIn(COutPoint(0000000000, -1), coinbase 040abc28510175062f503253482f)
    CTxOut(nValue=42.00000000, scriptPubKey=03f08a64e5b6b78eb63d94081aca98)
  vMerkleTree: 9fbb3e71cf
generated 42.00
keypool keep 262248
AddToWallet 9fbb3e71cf  new
SetBestChain: new best=6d7493ffc82a9553cf20  height=303403  work=918117143380
ProcessBlock: ACCEPTED

That is what I grabbed the numbers from tohave another try at making a checkpoint.

Maybe I am simply getting so many orphans that both times I tried to find a hash of a block in my debug.log I happened to be finding an orphan?

-MarkM-

EDIT: Whoa! getblockhash!! I never even knew there was such a command! All these years I have always gone scrolling through debug.log to find a block to get its height and hash!

EDIT2: No! getblockhash is returning a different hash than the one that is used for proof of work; the hash used in the checkpoints is the work proof hash, that is why you see they have more and more zeroes at the left as difficulty goes up.


Browser-launched Crossfire client now online (select CrossCiv server for Galactic  Milieu)
Free website hosting with PHP, MySQL etc: http://hosting.knotwork.com/
K1773R
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526


/dev/null


View Profile
February 23, 2013, 01:36:07 PM
 #153

sry, was kinda stressed because the hashes where still wrong.
why scrolling trough debug.log? use grep for it, saves time.
the hash in the debug.log u mention is not a block, its the PoW (proof of work) which was below the target, out of this a new block has been made.

[GPG Public Key]  [Devcoin Builds]  [BBQCoin Builds]  [Multichain Blockexplorer]  [Multichain Blockexplorer - PoS Coins]  [Ufasoft Miner Linux Builds]
BTC/DVC/TRC/FRC: 1K1773RbXRZVRQSSXe9N6N2MUFERvrdu6y ANC/XPM AK1773RTmRKtvbKBCrUu95UQg5iegrqyeA NMC: NK1773Rzv8b4ugmCgX789PbjewA9fL9Dy1 LTC: LKi773RBuPepQH8E6Zb1ponoCvgbU7hHmd EMC: EK1773RxUes1HX1YAGMZ1xVYBBRUCqfDoF BQC: bK1773R1APJz4yTgRkmdKQhjhiMyQpJgfN
markm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1792



View Profile WWW
February 23, 2013, 01:41:32 PM
 #154

Yes but look at the checkpoints.cpp for actual bitcoin for example. You will see the proof of work hash is what goes into the checkpoint, thus there are more and more zeros at the left as time goes on in the checkpoints list.

-MarkM-

Browser-launched Crossfire client now online (select CrossCiv server for Galactic  Milieu)
Free website hosting with PHP, MySQL etc: http://hosting.knotwork.com/
K1773R
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526


/dev/null


View Profile
February 23, 2013, 01:45:21 PM
 #155

my fault then, did look at the bitcoin checkpoints.cpp.
thougd there has to be the hash of the block.
let me compile it and try to sync, will see if it works Smiley

[GPG Public Key]  [Devcoin Builds]  [BBQCoin Builds]  [Multichain Blockexplorer]  [Multichain Blockexplorer - PoS Coins]  [Ufasoft Miner Linux Builds]
BTC/DVC/TRC/FRC: 1K1773RbXRZVRQSSXe9N6N2MUFERvrdu6y ANC/XPM AK1773RTmRKtvbKBCrUu95UQg5iegrqyeA NMC: NK1773Rzv8b4ugmCgX789PbjewA9fL9Dy1 LTC: LKi773RBuPepQH8E6Zb1ponoCvgbU7hHmd EMC: EK1773RxUes1HX1YAGMZ1xVYBBRUCqfDoF BQC: bK1773R1APJz4yTgRkmdKQhjhiMyQpJgfN
markm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1792



View Profile WWW
February 23, 2013, 01:50:26 PM
 #156

It is good to get it down pat, I was worried I really had messed up before, now I think the one I put before was fine too.

This means we can trade IOUs on RIpple until some day when we want final settlement, on that day we settle on the blockchain, wait ten blocks or so to make sure our settlement is not orphaned, then can update checkpoint so we know our final settlement is really and truly final. Smiley

-MarkM-

Browser-launched Crossfire client now online (select CrossCiv server for Galactic  Milieu)
Free website hosting with PHP, MySQL etc: http://hosting.knotwork.com/
K1773R
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526


/dev/null


View Profile
February 23, 2013, 01:57:56 PM
 #157

now i got the next problem:
Code:
Error: An error occured while setting up the RPC port 19322 for listening: Cannot assign requested address
altough, there is nothing blocking this port.
i had this once with litecoind too, dunno how i fixed it...

EDIT 1: wait, i think its because i did build without UPNP, thats how i fixed it @ litecoind
EDIT 2: err, still dosnt work...

[GPG Public Key]  [Devcoin Builds]  [BBQCoin Builds]  [Multichain Blockexplorer]  [Multichain Blockexplorer - PoS Coins]  [Ufasoft Miner Linux Builds]
BTC/DVC/TRC/FRC: 1K1773RbXRZVRQSSXe9N6N2MUFERvrdu6y ANC/XPM AK1773RTmRKtvbKBCrUu95UQg5iegrqyeA NMC: NK1773Rzv8b4ugmCgX789PbjewA9fL9Dy1 LTC: LKi773RBuPepQH8E6Zb1ponoCvgbU7hHmd EMC: EK1773RxUes1HX1YAGMZ1xVYBBRUCqfDoF BQC: bK1773R1APJz4yTgRkmdKQhjhiMyQpJgfN
markm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1792



View Profile WWW
February 23, 2013, 02:10:12 PM
 #158

Weird, is that the same error it gives if something is already using the port?

Because some coins take a while to die when you tell them to stop, and some just don't die from being told to stop (or take so frakkin long one thinks they aren't going to anyway) so have to be killed with kill command.

Does ps or top show the previous copy still running?

-MarkM-

Browser-launched Crossfire client now online (select CrossCiv server for Galactic  Milieu)
Free website hosting with PHP, MySQL etc: http://hosting.knotwork.com/
K1773R
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526


/dev/null


View Profile
February 23, 2013, 02:14:10 PM
 #159

fresh VM, of course there is no instance running and the port isnt already maped to something.
according to strace, bbqcoind never trys to setup a port to listen on. funny

[GPG Public Key]  [Devcoin Builds]  [BBQCoin Builds]  [Multichain Blockexplorer]  [Multichain Blockexplorer - PoS Coins]  [Ufasoft Miner Linux Builds]
BTC/DVC/TRC/FRC: 1K1773RbXRZVRQSSXe9N6N2MUFERvrdu6y ANC/XPM AK1773RTmRKtvbKBCrUu95UQg5iegrqyeA NMC: NK1773Rzv8b4ugmCgX789PbjewA9fL9Dy1 LTC: LKi773RBuPepQH8E6Zb1ponoCvgbU7hHmd EMC: EK1773RxUes1HX1YAGMZ1xVYBBRUCqfDoF BQC: bK1773R1APJz4yTgRkmdKQhjhiMyQpJgfN
markm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1792



View Profile WWW
February 23, 2013, 02:16:18 PM
 #160

Do VMs automagically get access to all port numbers?

Or is it trying to warn you that the VM doesn't "really" have such a port at all?

Also do VMs start with firewall activated?

-MarkM-

Browser-launched Crossfire client now online (select CrossCiv server for Galactic  Milieu)
Free website hosting with PHP, MySQL etc: http://hosting.knotwork.com/
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!