Bitcoin Forum
November 24, 2017, 10:09:49 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: GPU for Nvidia cards - help pls  (Read 3729 times)
HurrDurr|Lafara
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16



View Profile WWW
July 16, 2012, 10:10:41 AM
 #1

Hey everyone out there (:

I have a question about "how can i enable GPU for my Nvidia card"

Graficcard: Nvidia GeForce GT 520 MX
Processor: Intel Core i7-2670QM

If i start guiminer make a new OpenCL miner i can only take "GeForce GT 520MX" and set the CPU affinity.
So now I'm mining with CPU 5 - 6 MHash/s
Is there any way I can enable GPU for my card and mine with GPU ( 5-6 MHash/s is really slow)

Would be nice if anyone could help
1511518189
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511518189

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511518189
Reply with quote  #2

1511518189
Report to moderator
1511518189
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511518189

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511518189
Reply with quote  #2

1511518189
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511518189
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511518189

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511518189
Reply with quote  #2

1511518189
Report to moderator
RaTTuS
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 781


Bite me


View Profile
July 16, 2012, 10:13:50 AM
 #2

from the command line in guiminer type
poclbm.exe
and see what it says - you will probably need to point the device to the card
i.e.
-d1

In the Beginning there was CPU , then GPU , then FPGA then ASIC, what next I hear to ask ....

1RaTTuSEN7jJUDiW1EGogHwtek7g9BiEn
HurrDurr|Lafara
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16



View Profile WWW
July 16, 2012, 10:17:35 AM
 #3

If I open poclbm.exe in the guiminer folder it closes itself immediatly after opening...
mokahless
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 464



View Profile
July 16, 2012, 10:30:58 AM
 #4

Is this a laptop with switchable graphics?

HurrDurr|Lafara
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16



View Profile WWW
July 16, 2012, 10:33:45 AM
 #5

Is this a laptop with switchable graphics?

yes it's a laptop but i dont know if the graphics are switchable
Gabi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078


If you want to walk on water, get out of the boat


View Profile
July 16, 2012, 10:45:18 AM
 #6

Please note that CPU and Nvidia mining is VERY SLOW, you are just wasting time and electricity
An ATI is much faster
HurrDurr|Lafara
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16



View Profile WWW
July 16, 2012, 12:06:54 PM
 #7

Please note that CPU and Nvidia mining is VERY SLOW, you are just wasting time and electricity
An ATI is much faster

Yeah i know that, for that i want to change to GPU but i dont know how...
John (John K.)
Global Troll-buster and
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190


Will read PM's. Have more time lately


View Profile
July 16, 2012, 12:08:46 PM
 #8

Please note that CPU and Nvidia mining is VERY SLOW, you are just wasting time and electricity
An ATI is much faster

Yeah i know that, for that i want to change to GPU but i dont know how...
It's impossible to change the GPU for most laptops.

My BTC Tip Jar: 1Pgvfy19uwtYe5o9dg3zZsAjgCPt3XZqz9 , GPG ID: B3AAEEB0 ,OTC ID: johnthedong
Escrow service is available on a case by case basis! (PM Me to verify I'm the escrow!)

HurrDurr|Lafara
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16



View Profile WWW
July 16, 2012, 12:26:58 PM
 #9

Please note that CPU and Nvidia mining is VERY SLOW, you are just wasting time and electricity
An ATI is much faster

Yeah i know that, for that i want to change to GPU but i dont know how...
It's impossible to change the GPU for most laptops.

hmm.. i dont want to change the GPU. I will try to explane my situation^^

I have a Nvidia grafic card (GT 520 MX), I know that it's possible to mine with GPU with that card, but when i start guiminer and want to mine i only can select "GeForce G 520 MX" and i can select on how much of my 8 cores i want to mine, so the only way i can mine is with CPU. And my question here is how i can enable that i can mine with GPU with my grafic card.
hope this is intelligible

EDIT: i installed GPU Caps Viewer and under GPU it says "unknown", dont know why
John (John K.)
Global Troll-buster and
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190


Will read PM's. Have more time lately


View Profile
July 16, 2012, 12:54:07 PM
 #10

from the command line in guiminer type
poclbm.exe
and see what it says - you will probably need to point the device to the card
i.e.
-d1

Use this.

If I open poclbm.exe in the guiminer folder it closes itself immediatly after opening...
Run using CMD as RaTTuS said above.

My BTC Tip Jar: 1Pgvfy19uwtYe5o9dg3zZsAjgCPt3XZqz9 , GPG ID: B3AAEEB0 ,OTC ID: johnthedong
Escrow service is available on a case by case basis! (PM Me to verify I'm the escrow!)

HurrDurr|Lafara
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16



View Profile WWW
July 16, 2012, 01:00:26 PM
 #11

then it says:

Traceback <most revent call last>:
  File "poclbm.py", line 48, in <module>
pyopencl.LogicError: clGetPlatformIDs failed: inavild/unknown error code

EDIT: I'm now mining with rpcminer-Cuda 10-11Mhash/s . It's the best i get or can it also be better?
senesazi
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10


View Profile
July 16, 2012, 05:06:32 PM
 #12

GT520 is a pretty low-end card, so yes it seems adequate. Comparable really with the about 13MH/s I was getting with a 9600GT.
HurrDurr|Lafara
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16



View Profile WWW
July 16, 2012, 05:15:29 PM
 #13

GT520 is a pretty low-end card, so yes it seems adequate. Comparable really with the about 13MH/s I was getting with a 9600GT.

ok thx for the information
zorgberg
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 62


View Profile
July 16, 2012, 05:45:21 PM
 #14

Yes this sounds about right.  Does anyone know why it is that Nvidia cards are so much worse than ATI?
HurrDurr|Lafara
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16



View Profile WWW
July 16, 2012, 06:09:15 PM
 #15

Yes this sounds about right.  Does anyone know why it is that Nvidia cards are so much worse than ATI?

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Why_a_GPU_mines_faster_than_a_CPU#Why_are_AMD_GPUs_faster_than_Nvidia_GPUs.3F
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!