Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 11:52:42 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: AMD Raden HD 6500/5600/5700 only generating 40 mHashes  (Read 3264 times)
Sporely
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
July 16, 2012, 04:28:03 PM
 #1

Hello, I'm new to the forum and this is my first post. I know the basics of bitcoin mining already, but I don't know anything about optimizing my graphics card to have better mining rates. The thing is, I don't know anything about tags or overclocking, so I could use some help. The only thing I know is that 40 mHashes is really low and I think that this graphics card is pretty good, so I have no idea why its rate is so low. I could use some guides or help on how to get into advanced mining. Thanks in advance to responses!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
film2240
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 994


Professional filmmaker/Freelance videographer


View Profile WWW
July 16, 2012, 04:37:46 PM
 #2

You can start by looking at the Mining hardware comparison (google it) as this'll give you a much better idea of how your hardware (CPU,GPUs,FPGAs,ASICs,other devices,etc) will perform instead of it being a suprise. What miner do you use? The mining hardware guide gives you an idea of what settings were used to achieve the performance the hardware did with those settings.Like setting clock speeds,memory speeds (best rule is overclock core clock,reduce memory clock),using additional flags to make your hardware perform better.

[This signature is available for rent]
[This signature is available for rent]
[This signature is available for rent]
[This signature is available for rent]
Sporely
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
July 16, 2012, 04:43:05 PM
 #3

Is there also a list of flags I can use? Also, I'm using guiminer as it's pretty easy to use. Any recommendations? I also checked the hardware mining guide on the forums and the bitcoin wiki and my graphics card is not listed on there.
EpicAMDGamer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
July 16, 2012, 04:53:08 PM
 #4

Well what exactly is your graphics card, you have 3 series listed, but no specific card.
Sporely
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
July 16, 2012, 04:58:13 PM
 #5

I'm really new to all this graphics card stuff, I got this from running dxdiag, it says "AMD Radeon HD 6500M/5600/5700 Series" so either it could be a set or the first one, I'm not really sure. I found this link, it's apparently a benchmark for the "series":
http://clbenchmark.com/device-info.jsp?config=11974948
So I honestly have no idea which one it is.  Huh
Sporely
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
July 16, 2012, 05:21:53 PM
 #6

Can someone help me out please? This is a really low rate and I would really like to get more speed. Are there any experienced people that can help a noob out?
Dargo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554



View Profile
July 16, 2012, 05:35:17 PM
 #7

We aren't wizards who can magically intuit your situation - you have to give us details. Find out exactly what card you have, tell us what mining software you are using, and the details about the computer/OS you have.
zorgberg
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 62


View Profile
July 16, 2012, 05:44:09 PM
 #8

Screenshot please
Sporely
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
July 16, 2012, 05:44:31 PM
 #9

Ok:
Mining software: guiminer
Graphics card: AMD Radeon HD 6500
Computer specs:
Windows 7 Home Premium 64-Bit
Intel Core i5 CPU 2.53 GHz
6 GB RAM

Is that enough? Like I said, I'm not very experienced.
Sporely
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
July 16, 2012, 05:47:11 PM
 #10

Screenshot please
Here:
http://imgur.com/lm53f

Dargo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554



View Profile
July 16, 2012, 05:55:08 PM
 #11

According to this

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison

65xx cards can do about 40 - 100 Mh/s depending on what you actually have. Personally I don't this is worth the trouble, unless you just want to mine for fun and don't care about profit.
Sporely
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
July 16, 2012, 05:57:49 PM
 #12

Alright thanks, Smiley
film2240
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 994


Professional filmmaker/Freelance videographer


View Profile WWW
July 16, 2012, 09:23:51 PM
 #13

if OPs card is a HD 6570,trying these flags might help:-v -w128 -f1
Type this in the flags section of GUIMiner as written.

Also using the latest version of GUIMiner can help boost performance due to optimisations as well. Overclocking that card (core clock) should help boost your hash power.Memory clocks should be lowered due to the fact that Bitcoin mining makes little use of how fast the memory is running at,it's more to do with the GPU itself.

Even if you do manage to squeeze some extra performanec,the hash power you get isn't really worth it unless you have free electricity.If you are able,get yourself a better GPU.Look at the list of popular configurations on that mining hardware comparison as it'll tell you which cards are particularly good at mining.If a card is not in that section,it's probably because it isn't the best option for mining due to the hashpower they give for the price,or they use a lot of energy for the hash power given from that card.

I hope this all helps you (and all the replies here). Smiley

[This signature is available for rent]
[This signature is available for rent]
[This signature is available for rent]
[This signature is available for rent]
ThaSpacePope
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17


View Profile
July 17, 2012, 12:24:26 AM
 #14

Ok:
Mining software: guiminer
Graphics card: AMD Radeon HD 6500
Computer specs:
Windows 7 Home Premium 64-Bit
Intel Core i5 CPU 2.53 GHz
6 GB RAM

Is that enough? Like I said, I'm not very experienced.

Make sure you have your 6pin PCI-e power adapter plugged in. 40Mhash seems about right if you don't have the power connector plugged in.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!