Bitcoin Forum
June 25, 2017, 05:43:06 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Simple? Question.. rpcminer  (Read 3653 times)
shaitand
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
May 22, 2011, 11:02:10 PM
 #1

I've tried this on a couple windows 7 machines now. bitcoin -server with a bitcoin conf specifying username/password/port/allowed ip simply doesn't work.

I can connect to http://127.0.0.1:8332 and it prompts for a username and password but returns a page not found... this should be dumping something in json format yes?

rpcminer pointed to that address with correct user and password parameters just says it can't retrieve work.

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1498412586
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498412586

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498412586
Reply with quote  #2

1498412586
Report to moderator
1498412586
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498412586

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498412586
Reply with quote  #2

1498412586
Report to moderator
1498412586
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498412586

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498412586
Reply with quote  #2

1498412586
Report to moderator
grndzero
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


View Profile
May 22, 2011, 11:11:59 PM
 #2

I've tried this on a couple windows 7 machines now. bitcoin -server with a bitcoin conf specifying username/password/port/allowed ip simply doesn't work.

I can connect to http://127.0.0.1:8332 and it prompts for a username and password but returns a page not found... this should be dumping something in json format yes?

rpcminer pointed to that address with correct user and password parameters just says it can't retrieve work.



As far as I know there isn't a web interface. Are you sure there's not something else running on that port? Vmware Server?

Ubuntu Desktop x64 -  HD5850 Reference - 400Mh/s w/ cgminer  @ 975C/325M/1.175V - 11.6/2.1 SDK
Donate if you find this helpful: 1NimouHg2acbXNfMt5waJ7ohKs2TtYHePy
shaitand
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
May 22, 2011, 11:37:15 PM
 #3

rpc goes through http. That is why I was checking http. netstat -na confirms that the daemon is listening on 8332 (and 8333 for some reason). Windows firewall is off.

I don't really need a webpage. I need a mining client to be able to connect. Below is the rpcminer-cpu line I'm using and the bitcoin.conf. Replacing the url with the slush pool url and the username plus pass with my slush information works perfectly.

Code:
rpcminer-cpu -url=http://127.0.0.1:8332 -user=myuser -password=mypassword


Code:
# bitcoin.conf configuration file. Lines beginning with # are comments.
 
 
 # Network-related settings:
 
 # Run on the test network instead of the real bitcoin network.
 #testnet=1
 
 # Connect via a socks4 proxy
 #proxy=127.0.0.1:9050
 
 ##############################################################
 ##            Quick Primer on addnode vs connect            ##
 ##  Let's say for instance you use addnode=4.2.2.4          ##
 ##  addnode will connect you to and tell you about the      ##
 ##    nodes connected to 4.2.2.4.  In addition it will tell ##
 ##    the other nodes connected to it that you exist so     ##
 ##    they can connect to you.                              ##
 ##  connect will not do the above when you 'connect' to it. ##
 ##    It will *only* connect you to 4.2.2.4 and no one else.##
 ##                                                          ##
 ##  So if you're behind a firewall, or have other problems  ##
 ##  finding nodes, add some using 'addnode'.                ##
 ##                                                          ##
 ##  If you want to stay private, use 'connect' to only      ##
 ##  connect to "trusted" nodes.                             ##
 ##                                                          ##
 ##  If you run multiple nodes on a LAN, there's no need for ##
 ##  all of them to open lots of connections.  Instead       ##
 ##  'connect' them all to one node that is port forwarded   ##
 ##  and has lots of connections.                            ##
 ##       Thanks goes to [Noodle] on Freenode.               ##
 ##############################################################
 
 # Use as many addnode= settings as you like to connect to specific peers
 #addnode=69.164.218.197
 #addnode=10.0.0.2:8333
 
 # ... or use as many connect= settings as you like to connect ONLY
 # to specific peers:
 #connect=69.164.218.197
 #connect=10.0.0.1:8333
 
 # Do not use Internet Relay Chat (irc.lfnet.org #bitcoin channel) to
 # find other peers.
 #noirc=1
 
 # Maximum number of inbound+outbound connections.
 #maxconnections=
 
 
 # JSON-RPC options (for controlling a running Bitcoin/bitcoind process)
 
 # server=1 tells Bitcoin to accept JSON-RPC commands.
 server=1
 
 # You must set rpcuser and rpcpassword to secure the JSON-RPC api
 rpcuser=myuser
 rpcpassword=mypassword
 
 # How many seconds bitcoin will wait for a complete RPC HTTP request.
 # after the HTTP connection is established.
 rpctimeout=30
 
 # By default, only RPC connections from localhost are allowed.  Specify
 # as many rpcallowip= settings as you like to allow connections from
 # other hosts (and you may use * as a wildcard character):
 rpcallowip=*.*.*.*
 #rpcallowip=192.168.1.*
 
 # Listen for RPC connections on this TCP port:
 rpcport=8332
 
 # You can use Bitcoin or bitcoind to send commands to Bitcoin/bitcoind
 # running on another host using this option:
rpcconnect=127.0.0.1
 
 # Use Secure Sockets Layer (also known as TLS or HTTPS) to communicate
 # with Bitcoin -server or bitcoind
 #rpcssl=1
 
 # OpenSSL settings used when rpcssl=1
 rpcsslciphers=TLSv1+HIGH:!SSLv2:!aNULL:!eNULL:!AH:!3DES:@STRENGTH
 rpcsslcertificatechainfile=server.cert
 rpcsslprivatekeyfile=server.pem
 
 
 # Miscellaneous options
 
 # Set gen=1 to attempt to generate bitcoins
 gen=0
 
 # Use SSE instructions to try to generate bitcoins faster.
 #4way=1
 
 # Pre-generate this many public/private key pairs, so wallet backups will be valid for
 # both prior transactions and several dozen future transactions.
 keypool=100
 
 # Pay an optional transaction fee every time you send bitcoins.  Transactions with fees
 # are more likely than free transactions to be included in generated blocks, so may
 # be validated sooner.
 paytxfee=0.00
 
 # Allow direct connections for the 'pay via IP address' feature.
 #allowreceivebyip=1
 
 
 # User interface options
 
 # Start Bitcoin minimized
 #min=1
 
 # Minimize to the system tray
 minimizetotray=1
grndzero
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


View Profile
May 22, 2011, 11:47:37 PM
 #4

rpc goes through http. That is why I was checking http. netstat -na confirms that the daemon is listening on 8332 (and 8333 for some reason). Windows firewall is off.

I don't really need a webpage. I need a mining client to be able to connect. Below is the rpcminer-cpu line I'm using and the bitcoin.conf. Replacing the url with the slush pool url and the username plus pass with my slush information works perfectly.

Code:
rpcminer-cpu -url=http://127.0.0.1:8332 -user=myuser -password=mypassword


http protocol doesn't always mean that there is a web server with web pages.

The rpc connect address is for sending commands, not connecting clients. The http:// address you want to connect to is the ip of the machine on the network. 127.0.0.1 is localhost and not accessible outside that computer.

Everything else in the config file and client command line look correct.

Ubuntu Desktop x64 -  HD5850 Reference - 400Mh/s w/ cgminer  @ 975C/325M/1.175V - 11.6/2.1 SDK
Donate if you find this helpful: 1NimouHg2acbXNfMt5waJ7ohKs2TtYHePy
shaitand
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
May 23, 2011, 03:03:09 AM
 #5

Quote
The http:// address you want to connect to is the ip of the machine on the network. 127.0.0.1 is localhost and not accessible outside that computer.

Yeah. The mining client is running on the same machine. I didn't figure there was a point moving on to external clients if I can't connect to the daemon on the same box.

In any case, that config doesn't let me connect. Not on the lan address of the box or the 127.0.0.1 address.

Hopefully its a windows 7 related problem.



grndzero
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


View Profile
May 23, 2011, 03:39:28 AM
 #6

Quote
The http:// address you want to connect to is the ip of the machine on the network. 127.0.0.1 is localhost and not accessible outside that computer.

Yeah. The mining client is running on the same machine. I didn't figure there was a point moving on to external clients if I can't connect to the daemon on the same box.

In any case, that config doesn't let me connect. Not on the lan address of the box or the 127.0.0.1 address.

Hopefully its a windows 7 related problem.


If you are only connecting from the local host you do not need the rpcallowip line at all, you can comment it out.

Quote
rpcminer pointed to that address with correct user and password parameters just says it can't retrieve work.


Does it actually say connected then that it's can't get work?
Do you have 8333 port forwarded through your firewall?
At the bottom of the client toward the right in the main window it says Connections, Blocks, and Transactions ... how many connections do you have?

Ubuntu Desktop x64 -  HD5850 Reference - 400Mh/s w/ cgminer  @ 975C/325M/1.175V - 11.6/2.1 SDK
Donate if you find this helpful: 1NimouHg2acbXNfMt5waJ7ohKs2TtYHePy
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!