Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 06:26:22 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Underclocking 6950 ram w/ afterburner need 2.1.0  (Read 1670 times)
AlexWaters
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 72


Coin.co | Twitter:@watersNYC


View Profile
July 21, 2012, 07:07:30 AM
 #1

-I recently purchased a new MB and SSD
-Installed windows, drivers, etc. on the new drive

I used to be able to underclock my two 6950s RAM to 310mhz with MSI afterburner. I would have to pull the slider all the way down once, apply, close, open, and repeat to get it to 310. I had the EULA unlock text added to the .cfg file etc.

With this new setup I cannot get it to reset the slider position when I exit and reopen afterburner. I have a feeling that the issue lies in the version of afterburner I just installed.

I can only find newer versions of afterburner on guru3d. Luckily I hadn't reformatted my old drive yet, and can see that I was running afterburner 2.1.0.

Does anyone know where I can get this older version of afterburner? If we can confirm that this is indeed the problem, it might help a bunch of other people trying to underclock their 6950s (from what I've seen; unsuccessfully.)

Thanks!

1480875982
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480875982

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480875982
Reply with quote  #2

1480875982
Report to moderator
1480875982
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480875982

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480875982
Reply with quote  #2

1480875982
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
mellowhead
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
August 10, 2012, 11:54:19 PM
 #2

I found it here:
http://www.x-drivers.com/catalog/tweaking/video_cards/companies/msi/models/afterburner/21288.html

Tested, seems to function as one would expect.

11 Cheers for binary currency!
1BxQsmtVtzJD9uEe5MxcyqFaohpgb76ohs
AlexWaters
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 72


Coin.co | Twitter:@watersNYC


View Profile
November 07, 2012, 02:07:51 PM
 #3

Awesome, it works! Thank you.

irritant
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 416


Sodium hypochlorite, acetone, ethanol


View Profile
November 09, 2012, 10:19:19 AM
 #4

also tried it, does not work for me, should it work on all 6950s?

edit:  hmm maybe i've to try this http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=359671
exotime
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
November 11, 2012, 01:48:26 PM
 #5

Have you tried flashing on the 6970 BIOS for unlocking more shaders, too?

1ExotimeUMZ4xvGXQdT2zVNACtzGZt
irritant
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 416


Sodium hypochlorite, acetone, ethanol


View Profile
November 12, 2012, 04:42:27 PM
 #6

Have you tried flashing on the 6970 BIOS for unlocking more shaders, too?

i've tried https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=3475.0 

Quote
6950 specific
I do not recommend using the 6970 firmware. Instead use your original firmware, but modified with the "shaders unlock" patch. There have been several reports of permanent damage, probably because of the different voltage and timings used in the 6970 firmware. It will also make the card use more power, which means higher cost and quite a lot more noise from the fan.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!