Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 12:22:17 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: BitCoin Mining on Xbox 360  (Read 28969 times)
hm2k
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile WWW
May 23, 2011, 11:49:52 AM
 #1

[deleted]
1481242937
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481242937

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481242937
Reply with quote  #2

1481242937
Report to moderator
1481242937
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481242937

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481242937
Reply with quote  #2

1481242937
Report to moderator
1481242937
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481242937

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481242937
Reply with quote  #2

1481242937
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
plumex
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
May 23, 2011, 12:04:53 PM
 #2

maybe ps3?
XBOX360 must Jtag for freesoftware.
but u can use linux on the ps3.
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
expert
Offline Offline

Activity: 2086



View Profile
May 23, 2011, 01:31:45 PM
 #3

Based on the specs at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Xenos_(graphics_chip) , XBox360's GPU can probably manage a measley 7 MH/s.

Ampix0
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168



View Profile WWW
May 23, 2011, 02:57:21 PM
 #4

... The xbox 360 has TERRIBLE hardware for such a thing. I'm not a hater. I JUST got off L.A. Noire on mine. But your computer no matter who you are is better than your xbox. The xbox doesn't need to run an OS or.. anything other than the disk it requires very little hardware.

Lilium
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12



View Profile
May 23, 2011, 04:10:30 PM
 #5

Xenus GPU about the equivalent in power of a Radeon HD 2900.

Playstation GPU ~ NVidia 7900GTX

.

Proxy Physical Body : 113xVaexTHoBYfDSuNFVsXTckXsf5pxEWb
darbsllim
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294


Founder, Filmmaker, Fun Guy


View Profile WWW
May 25, 2011, 10:56:10 AM
 #6

... The xbox 360 has TERRIBLE hardware for such a thing. I'm not a hater. I JUST got off L.A. Noire on mine. But your computer no matter who you are is better than your xbox. The xbox doesn't need to run an OS or.. anything other than the disk it requires very little hardware.

nice youtube vid! You gonna be doing more bitcoin vids?

Brad Mills
Former miner - Former Bitcoin Business Owner - Victim of the Great Bitcoin Crashes of 2011 and 2012
Ampix0
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168



View Profile WWW
May 25, 2011, 11:12:59 AM
 #7

... The xbox 360 has TERRIBLE hardware for such a thing. I'm not a hater. I JUST got off L.A. Noire on mine. But your computer no matter who you are is better than your xbox. The xbox doesn't need to run an OS or.. anything other than the disk it requires very little hardware.

nice youtube vid! You gonna be doing more bitcoin vids?

yes... very unrelated to the topic though lol

xorglub
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 204


View Profile
June 01, 2011, 02:33:30 PM
 #8

Xna could be used to develop a miner in C#. It is the only legitimate way of running homebrew on an Xbox. You need a developer subscription to deploy software to the console but they can be obtained for free on Dreamspark.

Forget about using the GPU - it is more like an enhanced version of an ATI X1900. Gpgpu functionnality would have to be emulated with pixel shaders - good luck coding a sha256 implementation in ps3.0 Sad

The CPU packs quite some horsepower for its age but I would expect it to perform below the PS3's Cell - probably around 10 to 15 mhash/s at best. I don't know how much overhead the xna .net wrapper introduces compared to native PowerPC code. The xbox power consumption is quite big (200w for the xenons !), older models would probably overheat /rrod if left on mining for days.

Networking is also very restricted under XNA but debug builds allow for unencrypted communications on the LAN - so as long as you are running a proxy on a computer (or mining solo) you should be fine.
bitcoincrazyminer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
June 01, 2011, 11:14:47 PM
 #9

the ps3 gets 22mhash/s, theres a thread about it somewhere.
the xbox would get far less and will cost more in electricity then it gains
kreeften
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 109



View Profile WWW
February 05, 2014, 05:52:57 PM
 #10

http://retrominer.com/

nasamanBoy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
February 06, 2014, 03:44:44 PM
 #11

So how do I actually start mining in a pool? Is there a list of pools somewhere, hopefully with ranking by payout share, etc? I have the default program installed and updated: Bitcoin version v0.8.1-beta, and there's nothing about mining solo OR in a pool, and didn't even have an option to create a new Wallet, which some other vague instructional inclined......
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!