Bitcoin Forum
December 02, 2016, 06:27:59 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Can I upgrade my Graphic card?  (Read 938 times)
3kP0mR
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 58


View Profile
July 25, 2012, 05:12:02 AM
 #1

I'm mining on my computer assembled two years ago
( Graphic card:Radeon HD4850   CPU:E8400  Mother board:GA-965P-S3  memory: 4GB DDR II)

I'm currently mining at 107MH/s with GUI mining

I want to upgrade my graphic card.
Please recommend a graphite card under $400  Also please tell me whether I have to upgrade my motherboard or CPU or memory.

Thank you.

Electric bill is not a problem. I could use electric free 24/7

1480703279
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480703279

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480703279
Reply with quote  #2

1480703279
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480703279
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480703279

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480703279
Reply with quote  #2

1480703279
Report to moderator
Valalvax
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 439


View Profile
July 25, 2012, 05:19:52 AM
 #2

HD5770, 5830, 5850, 5870, 6870, 6850, 7770, umm.... craploads of cards out there for under 400, you could get three 5830s for that much, or two 5850s and a 5770, a little bit more would get you two 5850s and a 5830

CPU and ram don't need to be upgraded, unless you're gaming, then it won't hurt, don't use crossfire, use each card separately, power supply probably needs to be upgraded, most prebuilt systems come with shitty power supplies that can only provide the bare minimum of what the system will need
3kP0mR
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 58


View Profile
July 25, 2012, 06:00:23 AM
 #3

Now rated power is 380W   Max power is 456W
Is it enough? How much do you recommend?
My mother board looks like this
--GA-965P-S3  

I don't think it support two graphic cards.

I have another motherboard  GA-EP45C-DS3R  


Do either of them support two graphic card?

If I only need to upgrade graphic card & power, I think I could bear a total of $800 cost

ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288



View Profile
July 25, 2012, 08:05:48 AM
 #4

I wouldnt put more than 1 graphics card on that power supply. It -should- be capable delivering power to just about any single gpu card though if the video card has proper core/memory clocks and core voltage. I got a junky 300W power supply that powers a radeon 5850 @ 1015MHz and stock volts just fine.

Anyways, you can probably pick up a radeon 5830 for about $100. If you undervolt it to 0.95v, you may be looking at about 235 mhash/sec. If you leave it at stock volts, you might be looking at 310 mhash/sec.  You might be able to pick up a radeon 5870 which is good for about 335 mhash/sec when undervolted to 0.95v, or 450 mhash/sec with stock volts. Newer generation cards will probably cost you much more. A radoen 7970 will probably set you back about $400 and you're probably looking at 500 mhash when undervolted, or 700 mhash at stock volts.

Valalvax
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 439


View Profile
July 25, 2012, 05:07:44 PM
 #5

See those short black slots, with a 1x to 16x riser cable, you can put graphics cards on them, but you'd have to find a way to mount them on a frame or something, wood is cheap and easy to work with

And yea, you'll only be able to run one gfx card on that power supply, look for a 800W psu at least, another thing to keep in mind is PCIE power connectors, there are Molex to PCIE converters which take two Molex connectors and make them one PCIE connector
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!