Bitcoin Forum
April 29, 2017, 03:47:59 AM *
News: If the forum does not load normally for you, please send me a traceroute.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: bitcoind rcpconnect to deepbit  (Read 1813 times)
weliwarmer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
May 23, 2011, 06:44:59 PM
 #1

Hi,

I'm trying to connect to deepbit using bitcoin and/or bitcoind on two computers both running Ubuntu.

The commands I'm using are

bitcoind -rpcuser=mydeepbituser -rpcpassword=mydeepbitpass -rpcconnect=deepbit.net -gen

bitcoin -rpcuser=mydeepbituser -rpcpassword=mydeepbitpass -rpcconnect=deepbit.net -gen

The first command seems to start the daemon ok.
The second command starts the GUI and shows a single connection.

They have been running a couple of days but my account on deepbit show an average of 0MH/s and no shares found.

Could someone tell me what I've missed please?

Thanks,
Tim
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1493437679
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493437679

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493437679
Reply with quote  #2

1493437679
Report to moderator
kjj
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302



View Profile
May 23, 2011, 06:51:38 PM
 #2

Bitcoin/bitcoind is the node software to participate in the network.  It doesn't do remote mining.  You need a mining client if you want to use a pool.

p2pcoin: a USB/CD/PXE p2pool miner - 1N8ZXx2cuMzqBYSK72X4DAy1UdDbZQNPLf - todo
I routinely ignore posters with paid advertising in their sigs.  You should too.
grndzero
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


View Profile
May 23, 2011, 06:52:29 PM
 #3

bitcoind only uses CPU power for generation and is not cost effective.

See stats https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison

If you have a video card on that list that you would like to use then you need a mining client.

Ubuntu Desktop x64 -  HD5850 Reference - 400Mh/s w/ cgminer  @ 975C/325M/1.175V - 11.6/2.1 SDK
Donate if you find this helpful: 1NimouHg2acbXNfMt5waJ7ohKs2TtYHePy
dikidera
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
May 23, 2011, 07:15:03 PM
 #4

Zomg, no offense, but this has to be the lamest thing ever. You have basically done nothing.
weliwarmer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
May 23, 2011, 08:05:02 PM
 #5

Thanks for your replies (apart from dikidera who reply was lamer than my question, and has done nothing to help.  No offense ;-) )

I now get I was going the wrong way, I though bitcoind/bitcoin would act as a miner.  I'm off to try poclbm ...

Thanks again,
Tim
grndzero
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


View Profile
May 23, 2011, 08:19:09 PM
 #6

Thanks for your replies (apart from dikidera who reply was lamer than my question, and has done nothing to help.  No offense ;-) )

I now get I was going the wrong way, I though bitcoind/bitcoin would act as a miner.  I'm off to try poclbm ...

Thanks again,
Tim

I did the same thing when I first tried it too. lol

Ubuntu Desktop x64 -  HD5850 Reference - 400Mh/s w/ cgminer  @ 975C/325M/1.175V - 11.6/2.1 SDK
Donate if you find this helpful: 1NimouHg2acbXNfMt5waJ7ohKs2TtYHePy
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!