Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 02:41:05 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Power Supply for Rigs  (Read 1190 times)
sporeknight123
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18


View Profile
May 23, 2011, 09:40:59 PM
 #1

What type of power supply should I buy if I would want to run 3 of these http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=91070&sku=P262-6990
1481424065
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481424065

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481424065
Reply with quote  #2

1481424065
Report to moderator
1481424065
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481424065

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481424065
Reply with quote  #2

1481424065
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481424065
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481424065

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481424065
Reply with quote  #2

1481424065
Report to moderator
1481424065
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481424065

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481424065
Reply with quote  #2

1481424065
Report to moderator
darkpandora
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98



View Profile
May 23, 2011, 09:51:04 PM
 #2

What type of power supply should I buy if I would want to run 3 of these http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=91070&sku=P262-6990

im new to this bitcoin forum, but i have experience with hardware. right now i have 1500w power supply and i dont even use 1/3 of it. so for 3 of those over 1000w should be fine, but 1200w and up is good.

K U R D I  S T A N
K U R D I S T A N
K U R D I S T A N
sporeknight123
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18


View Profile
May 23, 2011, 10:18:54 PM
 #3

What type of power supply should I buy if I would want to run 3 of these http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=91070&sku=P262-6990

im new to this bitcoin forum, but i have experience with hardware. right now i have 1500w power supply and i dont even use 1/3 of it. so for 3 of those over 1000w should be fine, but 1200w and up is good.
Thx
Basiley
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
May 24, 2011, 03:26:21 AM
 #4

60A on 12V at least. 70A-75A would be safer minimum.
sporeknight123
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18


View Profile
May 24, 2011, 09:55:36 PM
 #5

60A on 12V at least. 70A-75A would be safer minimum.
Would 85 be ok?
smooth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246



View Profile
May 24, 2011, 09:57:18 PM
 #6

60A on 12V at least. 70A-75A would be safer minimum.
Would 85 be ok?

Anything bigger than you need is always fine.  Keep in mind that if you don't run your PSU right up to the limit it will run cooler, more efficiently, and probably last longer.
darkpandora
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98



View Profile
May 24, 2011, 10:15:50 PM
 #7

60A on 12V at least. 70A-75A would be safer minimum.

what do you mean by 60A?
this is my PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower 1500 W
will it work for 1x6990 or 3x6990(upgrade in future)

K U R D I  S T A N
K U R D I S T A N
K U R D I S T A N
grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932



View Profile
May 25, 2011, 01:00:08 AM
 #8

60 A combined on all +12 rail(s)

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
chungenhung
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 06:34:03 PM
 #9

your PS is enough.
It's got 120Amps of combined 12V rail.
That is 1500Watts of output on the 12V rail alone.

Trading MtGox USD for Dwolla/ACH deposit/Chase cash deposit
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=90115.0
Buy/Sell Call/Put Bitcoin options https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=99853.0
Basiley
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
May 26, 2011, 07:38:41 AM
 #10

yep. 120A 12V allow you to plug 4x 5970's w/o overclock Tongue
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!