Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 02:10:33 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Solo Mining-Correctly set up?  (Read 7275 times)
Jdumond
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 81



View Profile
May 23, 2011, 10:52:50 PM
 #1

Folks-

I am very new to this, though I am well read through these forums.

I have guiminer/bitcoin

I am attempting some solo mining, have set passwords, and flags but I am not sure whether or not it is working properly

my GUIMINER under console simply says "listener for Miner 1 Started"

I see my M/hash rate on the bottom of the GUIMINER, along with difficulty 1, and block 3363.

I assume all is working properly I just wanted to verify as to not waste my time.

is there any verification show within the bitcoin program itself?


*on a side note (and not plugging for faster help) these forums are extremely informative, and besides this hiccup, I have found every single answer.



Thanks all, any help would be appreciated.

I dont like the guy. How many reasons do I have? alot.
How many reasons do I need? none.
I just dont like the guy.

Donate here: 1Juv5x7PHcNQdRzdUpWK1DHMKwMy7j7zxj
Tradehill: TH-R11447
1481033433
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481033433

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481033433
Reply with quote  #2

1481033433
Report to moderator
1481033433
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481033433

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481033433
Reply with quote  #2

1481033433
Report to moderator
1481033433
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481033433

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481033433
Reply with quote  #2

1481033433
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481033433
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481033433

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481033433
Reply with quote  #2

1481033433
Report to moderator
1481033433
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481033433

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481033433
Reply with quote  #2

1481033433
Report to moderator
1481033433
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481033433

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481033433
Reply with quote  #2

1481033433
Report to moderator
Jdumond
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 81



View Profile
May 23, 2011, 11:07:58 PM
 #2

bueller??

I dont like the guy. How many reasons do I have? alot.
How many reasons do I need? none.
I just dont like the guy.

Donate here: 1Juv5x7PHcNQdRzdUpWK1DHMKwMy7j7zxj
Tradehill: TH-R11447
SomeoneWeird
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


View Profile
May 23, 2011, 11:18:00 PM
 #3

If it say's it's only on difficulty 1, somethings not right. Try running bitcoin.exe in server mode, then pointing a miner from guiminer to 127.0.0.1 with the rpc user/pass.
Jdumond
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 81



View Profile
May 23, 2011, 11:42:08 PM
 #4

Running command: poclbm.exe --user=J****** --pass=** -o 127.0.0.1 -p 8332 -d0 --verbose -server
Listener for "miner1" started


followed your instructions still to no avail.

I am currently having guiminer set my conf file for me, does the server info appear correct?

I dont like the guy. How many reasons do I have? alot.
How many reasons do I need? none.
I just dont like the guy.

Donate here: 1Juv5x7PHcNQdRzdUpWK1DHMKwMy7j7zxj
Tradehill: TH-R11447
SomeoneWeird
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


View Profile
May 23, 2011, 11:47:08 PM
 #5

set rpcuser and rpcpassword in bitcoin.conf
"bitcoin.exe -server"
"poclbm.exe --user=<rpcuser> --pass=<rpcpassword> -o 127.0.0.1 -d0"

kjj
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302



View Profile
May 24, 2011, 12:18:49 AM
 #6

Your node needs to process the entire block chain before you can generate.  It'll take a while.  The current block number is north of 126,000.

p2pcoin: a USB/CD/PXE p2pool miner - 1N8ZXx2cuMzqBYSK72X4DAy1UdDbZQNPLf - todo
I routinely ignore posters with paid advertising in their sigs.  You should too.
acamus
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
May 24, 2011, 01:20:12 AM
 #7

I made the same mistake, let the client download the whole block chain first. It takes a while and is annoying but necessary

Short Bitcoin  (http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=12536.0) if you dare.
http://www.tradebitcoin.com/
http://oneminuteslow.com/bitcoin/100-20.png (http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=8895.0)
15V8JNvmvuWnRF3r6hfTyLL1ukyfp
Dobrodav
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 03:07:15 PM
 #8

"Hashes Dificulty 1" showing in GUMiner, when it set to solo mining, is just a measure that show you, that GPU load did not go in vain.

We will  meet in not-so-distant future.
Today`s strange music :
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V8mCgjbBPMk
Yesterday`s  strange music:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-uCTyC1FGLw
Freakin
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 03:35:37 PM
 #9

Solo mining is probably not worth your time, BTW
guy12345
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 03:42:29 PM
 #10

Hey,

let's say I'm at the university from 10 am to 4 pm and during this time I can power my laptop with an Nvidia Quadro NVS 135M on the university's bill. When I start mining in the morning I'd always have to download all the blocks (whatever that is) and wait till then?
That's really annoying...

Is there a way to 'save' the downloaded blocks?

Regards,
guy
kjj
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302



View Profile
May 25, 2011, 03:53:56 PM
 #11

The client caches the block chain.  You'd only need to download the new ones.

p2pcoin: a USB/CD/PXE p2pool miner - 1N8ZXx2cuMzqBYSK72X4DAy1UdDbZQNPLf - todo
I routinely ignore posters with paid advertising in their sigs.  You should too.
dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372

Truth may get delay, but NEVER fails


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 06:58:03 PM
 #12

You can download block chain database offline & then copy it to the folder where wallet.dat is stored.
Usually C:\Users\YOUR USERNAME\AppData\Roaming\Bitcoin

http://bitcoin.bluematt.me/bitcoin-nightly/blockchain-nightly/
download latest xxxx tar.gz.
Extract the file blk0001.dat & blkindex.dat to the above folder replacing old ones.
You can run bitcoin.exe -rescan, so that it rescan everything instead of downloading.
you have your block chain saved.
Jdumond
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 81



View Profile
May 26, 2011, 02:45:13 AM
 #13

is there any confirmation on the Bitcoin client itself that solo mining is set up properly?

I currently see in GUIminer

Difficulty 1, Hashes 4.............................120MH/s

Just turning it on a few minutes ago.

Thanks Smiley

I dont like the guy. How many reasons do I have? alot.
How many reasons do I need? none.
I just dont like the guy.

Donate here: 1Juv5x7PHcNQdRzdUpWK1DHMKwMy7j7zxj
Tradehill: TH-R11447
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!