Bitcoin Forum
September 21, 2018, 12:53:36 PM *
News: ♦♦ New info! Bitcoin Core users absolutely must upgrade to previously-announced 0.16.3 [Torrent]. All Bitcoin users should temporarily trust confirmations slightly less. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 [21] 22 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: ANTMINER S2 upgrade kit? EDIT: BITMAIN WHERE ARE YOU?!?!  (Read 35085 times)
fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1120
Merit: 1004



View Profile
January 14, 2016, 11:54:56 PM
 #401

... Maybe they will sell you their prototypes with S5 chips.

Einax Airdrops and Bounties made easy! List your ERC-20 token
FREE
ETH markets launching soon!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1537534416
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537534416

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537534416
Reply with quote  #2

1537534416
Report to moderator
1537534416
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537534416

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537534416
Reply with quote  #2

1537534416
Report to moderator
1537534416
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537534416

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537534416
Reply with quote  #2

1537534416
Report to moderator
HagssFIN
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 1163


Electrical engineer (B.E.). Mining since 2014.


View Profile WWW
January 15, 2016, 06:21:45 AM
 #402

Well, answer was as predicted..

"Hi,

We dont have anything to previous models already! we can assist on RMA, repair hash boards. but no any kits

Best Regards

BITMAIN"

Refeek
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 26, 2016, 09:58:00 AM
 #403

I guess it's time to sell the S2's!  Undecided  Such a pity!
HagssFIN
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 1163


Electrical engineer (B.E.). Mining since 2014.


View Profile WWW
January 26, 2016, 10:33:20 AM
 #404

via Imgflip Meme Maker

Refeek
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 26, 2016, 12:47:28 PM
 #405


Brilliant  Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy
quakefiend420
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 1000


View Profile
January 26, 2016, 06:48:31 PM
 #406

I gave up on this a long time ago.  Sold my S2s.
fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1120
Merit: 1004



View Profile
January 26, 2016, 08:24:37 PM
 #407

The S7 design is very optimized for both shipping (light), and rma (individual hashboards can be sent).  I don't see why Bitmain would change its current design, or design S2 upgrade kits for BM1385. 

It would be nice to see a single board S7; or at least the sale of the aluminum enclosures so we can make our own.   Wink

There is a much larger market for ~450 watt miners than for ~1300 watt. 

mindtrip
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1127
Merit: 1005



View Profile WWW
February 10, 2016, 02:38:10 AM
 #408

I gave up on this a long time ago.  Sold my S2s.

Ditto I saved one for sentimental value to put in my museum some day it cost more to ship it then its worth these days  Grin
leowonderful
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1064
Merit: 1022



View Profile
February 10, 2016, 12:38:44 PM
 #409

S2? I use that as a lottery machine on ckpool solo Smiley
Its a shame it cant be upgraded tho

.FORTUNE.JACK.
      ▄▄███████▄▄
   ▄████▀▀ ▄ ██████▄
  ████ ▄▄███ ████████
 █████▌▐███▌ ▀▄ ▀█████
███████▄██▀▀▀▀▄████████
█████▀▄▄▄▄█████████████
████▄▄▄▄ █████████████
 ██████▌ ███▀████████
  ███████▄▀▄████████
   ▀█████▀▀███████▀
      ▀▀██████▀▀
         
         █
...FortuneJack.com                                             
...THE BIGGEST BITCOIN GAMBLING SITE
       ▄▄█████████▄▄
    ▄█████████████████▄
  ▄█████████████████████▄
 ▄██
█████████▀███████████▄
██████████▀   ▀██████████
█████████▀       ▀█████████
████████           ████████
████████▄   ▄ ▄   ▄████████
██████████▀   ▀██████████
 ▀██
█████████████████████▀
  ▀██
███████████████████▀
    ▀█████████████████▀
       ▀▀█████████▀▀
#JACKMATE
WIN 1 BTC
▄█████████████████████████▄
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
██████████▀█████▀██████████
███████▀░░▀░░░░░▀░░▀███████
██████▌░░░░░░░░░░░░░▐██████
██████░░░░██░░░██░░░░██████
█████▌░░░░▀▀░░░▀▀░░░░▐█████
██████▄░░▄▄▄░░░▄▄▄░░▄██████
████████▄▄███████▄▄████████

███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
▀█████████████████████████▀
klondike_bar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1834
Merit: 1001

ASIC Wannabe


View Profile
February 10, 2016, 05:03:14 PM
 #410

I gave up on this a long time ago.  Sold my S2s.

Ditto I saved one for sentimental value to put in my museum some day it cost more to ship it then its worth these days  Grin

I sold all 5 of mine when everyone still thought kits would be available, at a price that basically got the same hashrate in S3 units

24" PCI-E cables with 16AWG wires and stripped ends - great for server PSU mods, best prices https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=563461
No longer a wannabe - now an ASIC owner!
quakefiend420
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 1000


View Profile
February 10, 2016, 08:33:09 PM
 #411

I gave up on this a long time ago.  Sold my S2s.

Ditto I saved one for sentimental value to put in my museum some day it cost more to ship it then its worth these days  Grin

I sold all 5 of mine when everyone still thought kits would be available, at a price that basically got the same hashrate in S3 units

I got a decent enough price for mine, all things considered.  I actually talked to Yoshi at a conference about the upcoming hardware kit and how it was progressing, which was why I was fairly sure that it was coming.  Not to mention the prototype boards that were revealed at a different conference.

I understand that nothing is guaranteed, but I can't be the only one that held onto S2s for far too long in the hopes of making them useful again at my electric rate Sad
mindtrip
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1127
Merit: 1005



View Profile WWW
February 12, 2016, 12:25:39 PM
 #412

Maybe some day a 3rd party like sidhack could make some new boards with what ever chips are must efficient at the time. As of right now mine are retired and sitting on a shelf until I find a place with free power to just stuff them
fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1120
Merit: 1004



View Profile
February 12, 2016, 01:29:54 PM
 #413

The S2 design isn't worth it; S1/S3/S5 style boards make more sense.

dropt
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1498
Merit: 1000



View Profile
February 12, 2016, 11:27:46 PM
 #414

The S2 design isn't worth it; S1/S3/S5 style boards make more sense.

What are you talking about?  The S2 design was great.  Modular, 4U rackmount...  What wasn't great was when they decided to fuck all the people Bitmain (repeatedly) promised upgrade kits to.

I haven't bought a single piece of HW from them since because of it, and I most likely never will again.  I'll see what Bitfury has when that comes about.
kekman1337
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 69
Merit: 10


View Profile
February 14, 2016, 01:21:10 AM
 #415

The S2 design isn't worth it; S1/S3/S5 style boards make more sense.

What are you talking about?  The S2 design was great.  Modular, 4U rackmount...  What wasn't great was when they decided to fuck all the people Bitmain (repeatedly) promised upgrade kits to.

I haven't bought a single piece of HW from them since because of it, and I most likely never will again.  I'll see what Bitfury has when that comes about.
I don't trust chinese anymore even though I am chinese.. lol. Everybody likes rackmounts! Server style racking is great for data centers and shit. Now, though, Looks like the only good rack bitmain has left is the s4 and its already out with roi.

fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1120
Merit: 1004



View Profile
February 14, 2016, 03:22:42 PM
 #416

The S2 design isn't worth it; S1/S3/S5 style boards make more sense.

What are you talking about?  The S2 design was great.  Modular, 4U rackmount...  What wasn't great was when they decided to fuck all the people Bitmain (repeatedly) promised upgrade kits to.

I haven't bought a single piece of HW from them since because of it, and I most likely never will again.  I'll see what Bitfury has when that comes about.

The batch 4's were ok; before that if you got an intact S2 it must have been a miracle.

Yes Bitmain lied to us about the kits, and didn't even apologize.

It's been over a year.

I think it would make more sense for Bitmain to make a 6U enclosure for 3x S7 plus powersupplies, but I don't see that happening. 

dropt
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1498
Merit: 1000



View Profile
February 15, 2016, 11:36:12 PM
 #417

The batch 4's were ok; before that if you got an intact S2 it must have been a miracle.

Yes Bitmain lied to us about the kits, and didn't even apologize.

It's been over a year.

I think it would make more sense for Bitmain to make a 6U enclosure for 3x S7 plus powersupplies, but I don't see that happening. 

I received many S2s in pristine condition.  The trick is to purchase after the initial batch.
sidehack
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1820
Merit: 1151

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
February 16, 2016, 12:01:19 AM
 #418

The trick is to hire engineers who understand anything about structure.

fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1120
Merit: 1004



View Profile
February 16, 2016, 12:06:31 AM
 #419

The batch 4's were ok; before that if you got an intact S2 it must have been a miracle.

Yes Bitmain lied to us about the kits, and didn't even apologize.

It's been over a year.

I think it would make more sense for Bitmain to make a 6U enclosure for 3x S7 plus powersupplies, but I don't see that happening. 

I received many S2s in pristine condition.  The trick is to purchase after the initial batch.

I ordered batches 2, 3 and 4; 8x total S2's. 

They didn't even begin to address the problem until the last of the batch 3 (first with the metal guides, which were slightly improved and more effective with the batch 4's).


buckrogers
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1568
Merit: 1033



View Profile
February 22, 2016, 06:04:04 AM
 #420

My LCD display blew out, and received a brand new one  a looong time ago, still in the box with ribbon cable if anyone is interested in buying it.

Ill try to get a pic of it up tomorrow.

thanks!

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 [21] 22 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!