Bitcoin Forum
December 14, 2017, 09:38:59 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: "\AppData\Roaming\Bitcoin" 3Gb size normal ?  (Read 4065 times)
Transisto
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1731



View Profile WWW
July 28, 2012, 02:39:51 AM
 #1

blk0001.dat 2048mb
blk0002.dat 235mb
blkindex.dat 760mb
addr.dat 55mb
wallet.dat 5mb
/database/ = two 10mb log

I was cleaning my small size SSD and found this to be too big, is this normal / what can be purged ?
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
nimda
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


0xFB0D8D1534241423


View Profile
July 28, 2012, 03:14:53 AM
 #2

Totally normal. If 3GiB is too much, then the Satoshi client is not for you. There are tiny trustless alternatives such as Electrum and trustless online wallets like http://blockchain.info/wallet .

I recommend asking me for a signature from my GPG key before doing a trade. I will NEVER deny such a request.
Transisto
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1731



View Profile WWW
July 28, 2012, 03:19:52 AM
 #3

Thanks, I'll live with it.
nimda
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


0xFB0D8D1534241423


View Profile
July 28, 2012, 03:27:34 AM
 #4

We'll get pruning eventually.

I recommend asking me for a signature from my GPG key before doing a trade. I will NEVER deny such a request.
pekv2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770



View Profile
July 28, 2012, 03:47:04 AM
 #5

You may change the directory to a HDD if you wish by using the switch "example" without brackets [-datadir=E:\Bitcoin].

Create a shortcut of the btc client, right click on the new shortcut, click properties, at the end of the target field, add -datadir=DIRECTORY , hit apply, ok.

In that directory you have chosen, copy the contents that are in the original directory over to your new directory.

Double click the shortcut. All should be well, no more ssd writes and saves room for trim/garbage collection. Save your nands.
nimda
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


0xFB0D8D1534241423


View Profile
July 28, 2012, 03:53:51 AM
 #6

Save your nands.
I like it!

I recommend asking me for a signature from my GPG key before doing a trade. I will NEVER deny such a request.
Transisto
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1731



View Profile WWW
July 28, 2012, 06:38:20 AM
 #7

You may change the directory to a HDD if you wish by using the switch "example" without brackets [-datadir=E:\Bitcoin].

Create a shortcut of the btc client, right click on the new shortcut, click properties, at the end of the target field, add -datadir=DIRECTORY , hit apply, ok.

In that directory you have chosen, copy the contents that are in the original directory over to your new directory.

Double click the shortcut. All should be well, no more ssd writes and saves room for trim/garbage collection. Save your nands.
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=944.msg11535#msg11535

I might make the move to a portable version.
Spekulatius
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022



View Profile
August 06, 2012, 06:21:21 PM
 #8

You may change the directory to a HDD if you wish by using the switch "example" without brackets [-datadir=E:\Bitcoin].

Create a shortcut of the btc client, right click on the new shortcut, click properties, at the end of the target field, add -datadir=DIRECTORY , hit apply, ok.

In that directory you have chosen, copy the contents that are in the original directory over to your new directory.

Double click the shortcut. All should be well, no more ssd writes and saves room for trim/garbage collection. Save your nands.

Hey, thx lots! I had the exact same problem. No more.
Someone should suggest  this option to Gavin to be implemented by default into the client.

Cheers
SaltySpitoon
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1778


Welcome to the SaltySpitoon, how Tough are ya?


View Profile
August 06, 2012, 07:54:29 PM
 #9

No, you should probably delete the file
pekv2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770



View Profile
August 06, 2012, 08:17:08 PM
 #10

You may change the directory to a HDD if you wish by using the switch "example" without brackets [-datadir=E:\Bitcoin].

Create a shortcut of the btc client, right click on the new shortcut, click properties, at the end of the target field, add -datadir=DIRECTORY , hit apply, ok.

In that directory you have chosen, copy the contents that are in the original directory over to your new directory.

Double click the shortcut. All should be well, no more ssd writes and saves room for trim/garbage collection. Save your nands.

Hey, thx lots! I had the exact same problem. No more.
Someone should suggest  this option to Gavin to be implemented by default into the client.

Cheers

Mhm, np.

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Running_Bitcoin
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!