Bitcoin Forum
June 23, 2017, 10:51:12 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Do I need to re-install poclbm to see a freshly added gpu on linux?  (Read 915 times)
gigabytecoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


View Profile
May 24, 2011, 08:14:17 AM
 #1

I popped a new cpu into the last slot on my motherboard.

It broke ubuntu at first... but I boot into "rescue mode" and entered the command aticonfig --adapter=all --initial twice and it found all of the video cards (there were 5 now listed, instead of 4).

After rebooting I can only mine with the original 4 cards.

aticonfig can see the 5th card, but poclbm can't.

Any suggestions?
1498258272
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498258272

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498258272
Reply with quote  #2

1498258272
Report to moderator
1498258272
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498258272

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498258272
Reply with quote  #2

1498258272
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1498258272
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498258272

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498258272
Reply with quote  #2

1498258272
Report to moderator
grndzero
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


View Profile
May 24, 2011, 08:48:35 AM
 #2

I popped a new cpu into the last slot on my motherboard.

It broke ubuntu at first... but I boot into "rescue mode" and entered the command aticonfig --adapter=all --initial twice and it found all of the video cards (there were 5 now listed, instead of 4).

After rebooting I can only mine with the original 4 cards.

aticonfig can see the 5th card, but poclbm can't.

Any suggestions?

When I reinstalled my card I had some odd behavior too. I reinstalled the fglrx package so it would recompile the driver, redid the X config like you did, then ran CLinfo to make sure it was seeing all cards. That cleared it up.

Ubuntu Desktop x64 -  HD5850 Reference - 400Mh/s w/ cgminer  @ 975C/325M/1.175V - 11.6/2.1 SDK
Donate if you find this helpful: 1NimouHg2acbXNfMt5waJ7ohKs2TtYHePy
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!