Bitcoin Forum
September 20, 2018, 11:54:05 AM *
News: ♦♦ Bitcoin Core users must update to 0.16.3 [Torrent]. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: KNCMINER Jupiter - Anyway to Pause mining?  (Read 4617 times)
adaseb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722
Merit: 1086



View Profile
February 26, 2015, 03:43:28 AM
 #1

I got a KNC Juptier and from time to time I want to stop or pause mining, is there anyway to do this from SSH?

I tried

/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop

but it start mining after 1 minute

.FORTUNE.JACK.
      ▄▄███████▄▄
   ▄████▀▀ ▄ ██████▄
  ████ ▄▄███ ████████
 █████▌▐███▌ ▀▄ ▀█████
███████▄██▀▀▀▀▄████████
█████▀▄▄▄▄█████████████
████▄▄▄▄ █████████████
 ██████▌ ███▀████████
  ███████▄▀▄████████
   ▀█████▀▀███████▀
      ▀▀██████▀▀
         
         █
...FortuneJack.com                                             
...THE BIGGEST BITCOIN GAMBLING SITE
       ▄▄█████████▄▄
    ▄█████████████████▄
  ▄█████████████████████▄
 ▄██
█████████▀███████████▄
██████████▀   ▀██████████
█████████▀       ▀█████████
████████           ████████
████████▄   ▄ ▄   ▄████████
██████████▀   ▀██████████
 ▀██
█████████████████████▀
  ▀██
███████████████████▀
    ▀█████████████████▀
       ▀▀█████████▀▀
#JACKMATE
WIN 1 BTC
▄█████████████████████████▄
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
██████████▀█████▀██████████
███████▀░░▀░░░░░▀░░▀███████
██████▌░░░░░░░░░░░░░▐██████
██████░░░░██░░░██░░░░██████
█████▌░░░░▀▀░░░▀▀░░░░▐█████
██████▄░░▄▄▄░░░▄▄▄░░▄██████
████████▄▄███████▄▄████████

███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
▀█████████████████████████▀
Make a difference with your Ether.
Donate Ether for the greater good.
SPRING.WETRUST.IO
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1537444445
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537444445

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537444445
Reply with quote  #2

1537444445
Report to moderator
michelem
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 995
Merit: 1000



View Profile WWW
February 26, 2015, 09:05:36 AM
 #2

I got a KNC Juptier and from time to time I want to stop or pause mining, is there anyway to do this from SSH?

I tried

/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop

but it start mining after 1 minute

There is a cron job running every minute, it checks if cgminer is running and it starts it if it isn't, so you should comment that line in the cron job file (it could be in different locations I don't know where is in a KNC).

Get Minera. Your next bitcoin mining dashboard. Donations BTC: 1AvF29tTd6w8kvLuTp5QqLFbN6LTQDoGFQ - Try GigaWatt mining Tokens
adaseb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722
Merit: 1086



View Profile
February 27, 2015, 07:41:22 PM
 #3

Any method out there

Basically the only way I can find is using a command like this which stops mining ever 15 seconds

Quote
/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh stop; sleep 15;

.FORTUNE.JACK.
      ▄▄███████▄▄
   ▄████▀▀ ▄ ██████▄
  ████ ▄▄███ ████████
 █████▌▐███▌ ▀▄ ▀█████
███████▄██▀▀▀▀▄████████
█████▀▄▄▄▄█████████████
████▄▄▄▄ █████████████
 ██████▌ ███▀████████
  ███████▄▀▄████████
   ▀█████▀▀███████▀
      ▀▀██████▀▀
         
         █
...FortuneJack.com                                             
...THE BIGGEST BITCOIN GAMBLING SITE
       ▄▄█████████▄▄
    ▄█████████████████▄
  ▄█████████████████████▄
 ▄██
█████████▀███████████▄
██████████▀   ▀██████████
█████████▀       ▀█████████
████████           ████████
████████▄   ▄ ▄   ▄████████
██████████▀   ▀██████████
 ▀██
█████████████████████▀
  ▀██
███████████████████▀
    ▀█████████████████▀
       ▀▀█████████▀▀
#JACKMATE
WIN 1 BTC
▄█████████████████████████▄
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
██████████▀█████▀██████████
███████▀░░▀░░░░░▀░░▀███████
██████▌░░░░░░░░░░░░░▐██████
██████░░░░██░░░██░░░░██████
█████▌░░░░▀▀░░░▀▀░░░░▐█████
██████▄░░▄▄▄░░░▄▄▄░░▄██████
████████▄▄███████▄▄████████

███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
▀█████████████████████████▀
Anonymailer
aka BitBacco
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 661
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
March 10, 2015, 09:35:15 PM
 #4

Looking at the cgminer API perhaps you could send the pgadisable command to keep cgminer running without mining - I haven't tried it though!

https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/blob/master/API-README

MacMiner - The first, best and easiest to use native Mac coin mining app: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=197110.0

BTC: 12vZf8mjaXvHorXWVWfv7nZspHa8L8kfoG LTC: LLRqwo3YcLqoRyfZRVmUevtd2Y35Vvnt4w
nwoolls
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 840
Merit: 1001


View Profile WWW
March 11, 2015, 09:16:41 PM
 #5

Looking at the cgminer API perhaps you could send the pgadisable command to keep cgminer running without mining - I haven't tried it though!

https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/blob/master/API-README

IME I've found disabling the pools to be simpler than disabling the PGAs. On some of the KNC devices AFAIK there are thousands of "processors" so you may end up needing to call that command 10s or 100s or 1000s of times to "disable" the device.

MultiMiner: Any Miner, Any Where, on Any Device |  Xgminer: Mine with popular miners on Mac OS X
btc: 1BmXY4ZZQh1iHSVre658gM1gPAEtDnq8rv  |  ltc: LP1SsHZTDexndkvRKsqAkXNsienPHwaMb5  |  hardware: nwoolls at gmail dot com
adaseb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722
Merit: 1086



View Profile
March 13, 2015, 04:22:35 AM
 #6

Looking at the cgminer API perhaps you could send the pgadisable command to keep cgminer running without mining - I haven't tried it though!

https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/blob/master/API-README

IME I've found disabling the pools to be simpler than disabling the PGAs. On some of the KNC devices AFAIK there are thousands of "processors" so you may end up needing to call that command 10s or 100s or 1000s of times to "disable" the device.

You can't disable all the pools, one needs to always be active.

.FORTUNE.JACK.
      ▄▄███████▄▄
   ▄████▀▀ ▄ ██████▄
  ████ ▄▄███ ████████
 █████▌▐███▌ ▀▄ ▀█████
███████▄██▀▀▀▀▄████████
█████▀▄▄▄▄█████████████
████▄▄▄▄ █████████████
 ██████▌ ███▀████████
  ███████▄▀▄████████
   ▀█████▀▀███████▀
      ▀▀██████▀▀
         
         █
...FortuneJack.com                                             
...THE BIGGEST BITCOIN GAMBLING SITE
       ▄▄█████████▄▄
    ▄█████████████████▄
  ▄█████████████████████▄
 ▄██
█████████▀███████████▄
██████████▀   ▀██████████
█████████▀       ▀█████████
████████           ████████
████████▄   ▄ ▄   ▄████████
██████████▀   ▀██████████
 ▀██
█████████████████████▀
  ▀██
███████████████████▀
    ▀█████████████████▀
       ▀▀█████████▀▀
#JACKMATE
WIN 1 BTC
▄█████████████████████████▄
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
██████████▀█████▀██████████
███████▀░░▀░░░░░▀░░▀███████
██████▌░░░░░░░░░░░░░▐██████
██████░░░░██░░░██░░░░██████
█████▌░░░░▀▀░░░▀▀░░░░▐█████
██████▄░░▄▄▄░░░▄▄▄░░▄██████
████████▄▄███████▄▄████████

███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
▀█████████████████████████▀
nwoolls
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 840
Merit: 1001


View Profile WWW
March 13, 2015, 11:48:19 AM
 #7

Looking at the cgminer API perhaps you could send the pgadisable command to keep cgminer running without mining - I haven't tried it though!

https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/blob/master/API-README

IME I've found disabling the pools to be simpler than disabling the PGAs. On some of the KNC devices AFAIK there are thousands of "processors" so you may end up needing to call that command 10s or 100s or 1000s of times to "disable" the device.

You can't disable all the pools, one needs to always be active.

Is it CGMiner or BFGMiner? You can disable all pools on the CGMiner-powered network devices I have.

Edit: Just tried an S3 with CGMiner 3.12 and a Raspberry Pi with CGMiner 4.9 and had no problem disabling all pools on both via the RPC API. I do see the code in Github that should prevent this (with an error saying the last pool cannot be disabled) but again not having any problems actually doing it. Maybe it's a bug and not by-design.

MultiMiner: Any Miner, Any Where, on Any Device |  Xgminer: Mine with popular miners on Mac OS X
btc: 1BmXY4ZZQh1iHSVre658gM1gPAEtDnq8rv  |  ltc: LP1SsHZTDexndkvRKsqAkXNsienPHwaMb5  |  hardware: nwoolls at gmail dot com
adaseb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722
Merit: 1086



View Profile
March 14, 2015, 03:50:42 AM
 #8

Looking at the cgminer API perhaps you could send the pgadisable command to keep cgminer running without mining - I haven't tried it though!

https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/blob/master/API-README

IME I've found disabling the pools to be simpler than disabling the PGAs. On some of the KNC devices AFAIK there are thousands of "processors" so you may end up needing to call that command 10s or 100s or 1000s of times to "disable" the device.

You can't disable all the pools, one needs to always be active.

Is it CGMiner or BFGMiner? You can disable all pools on the CGMiner-powered network devices I have.

Edit: Just tried an S3 with CGMiner 3.12 and a Raspberry Pi with CGMiner 4.9 and had no problem disabling all pools on both via the RPC API. I do see the code in Github that should prevent this (with an error saying the last pool cannot be disabled) but again not having any problems actually doing it. Maybe it's a bug and not by-design.

I tried both and you can't. I use CGminer 4.2.3 and BFGMiner 5

When you hit (D) to disable it says "CANNOT DISABLE LAST POOL"

.FORTUNE.JACK.
      ▄▄███████▄▄
   ▄████▀▀ ▄ ██████▄
  ████ ▄▄███ ████████
 █████▌▐███▌ ▀▄ ▀█████
███████▄██▀▀▀▀▄████████
█████▀▄▄▄▄█████████████
████▄▄▄▄ █████████████
 ██████▌ ███▀████████
  ███████▄▀▄████████
   ▀█████▀▀███████▀
      ▀▀██████▀▀
         
         █
...FortuneJack.com                                             
...THE BIGGEST BITCOIN GAMBLING SITE
       ▄▄█████████▄▄
    ▄█████████████████▄
  ▄█████████████████████▄
 ▄██
█████████▀███████████▄
██████████▀   ▀██████████
█████████▀       ▀█████████
████████           ████████
████████▄   ▄ ▄   ▄████████
██████████▀   ▀██████████
 ▀██
█████████████████████▀
  ▀██
███████████████████▀
    ▀█████████████████▀
       ▀▀█████████▀▀
#JACKMATE
WIN 1 BTC
▄█████████████████████████▄
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
██████████▀█████▀██████████
███████▀░░▀░░░░░▀░░▀███████
██████▌░░░░░░░░░░░░░▐██████
██████░░░░██░░░██░░░░██████
█████▌░░░░▀▀░░░▀▀░░░░▐█████
██████▄░░▄▄▄░░░▄▄▄░░▄██████
████████▄▄███████▄▄████████

███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
▀█████████████████████████▀
Anonymailer
aka BitBacco
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 661
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
April 06, 2015, 09:40:55 AM
 #9

Looking at the cgminer API perhaps you could send the pgadisable command to keep cgminer running without mining - I haven't tried it though!

https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/blob/master/API-README

IME I've found disabling the pools to be simpler than disabling the PGAs. On some of the KNC devices AFAIK there are thousands of "processors" so you may end up needing to call that command 10s or 100s or 1000s of times to "disable" the device.

As far as the API output is telling me, it only shows one PGA for each chip/module i.e. one for each Neptune cube. So if it's a single Jupiter you should have to disable 6 PGAs. If disabling all the pools works out that would be easier, but I've not tried it.

MacMiner - The first, best and easiest to use native Mac coin mining app: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=197110.0

BTC: 12vZf8mjaXvHorXWVWfv7nZspHa8L8kfoG LTC: LLRqwo3YcLqoRyfZRVmUevtd2Y35Vvnt4w
bitwhizz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 910
Merit: 1000



View Profile
August 31, 2016, 10:33:20 AM
 #10

As far as the API output is telling me, it only shows one PGA for each chip/module i.e. one for each Neptune cube. So if it's a single Jupiter you should have to disable 6 PGAs. If disabling all the pools works out that would be easier, but I've not tried it.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!