Bitcoin Forum
December 17, 2017, 01:51:57 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: CGMiner "temp-cutoff" option  (Read 8355 times)
tremor.hash
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3



View Profile
August 01, 2012, 01:11:01 PM
 #1

Hey everyone, i'm using the latest and greatest CGminer 2.6.1 with no issues at all.

All options do exactly what they are supposed to do except one, the "temp-cutoff" one.


According to official readme:

--temp-cutoff <arg> Temperature where a device will be automatically disabled, one value or comma separated list (default: 95)

My config:

-o http://de.btcguild.com:8332 -u xxx -p xxx -I 9 --gpu-engine 800 --gpu-memclock 300 --gpu-fan 80 --temp-cutoff 90


I am using 5970s and NO GPU gets disabled when i reach the 90 value or even higher!:(   

Any ideas?


1513518717
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513518717

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513518717
Reply with quote  #2

1513518717
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Merrick
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 113


View Profile
August 02, 2012, 07:16:07 AM
 #2

Well that's concerning. Time to lower my values and go test, I suppose. Sad
tremor.hash
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3



View Profile
August 02, 2012, 01:21:41 PM
 #3

yeah i would appreciate some feedback ..it doesnt make any sense  Huh

i even tried the --temp-cutoff 90,90,90,90 with no result..

Zanatos666
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


Sometimes man, just sometimes.....


View Profile
August 02, 2012, 01:23:28 PM
 #4

Ive always had problems getting arguments to work with command line/shortcut arguments.  I always have more success using the .conf file to make any changes that actually take affect.  Maybe you can try that (also is your option for using failover for multiple pools).

Squiggly letters, written really fast, with a couple of dots for good measure.
tremor.hash
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3



View Profile
August 03, 2012, 10:25:02 AM
 #5

Guys thanks

it seems after all that temp-cutoff absolutely depends on auto-gpu being set.

once set it can disable gpu threads once you reach the cutoff limit  Cool
MTJ151
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 215


View Profile
April 25, 2014, 12:06:13 AM
 #6

Guys thanks

it seems after all that temp-cutoff absolutely depends on auto-gpu being set.

once set it can disable gpu threads once you reach the cutoff limit  Cool

Sorry for digging up an old topic... but that is really important info.

One of my cards fans stopped working and the temp-cutoff didn't work when it started to overheat.... turns out it was because I didn't have the --auto-gpu
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!