Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 01:44:16 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How to setup a private pool without network access?  (Read 1212 times)
createfile
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 08:36:41 AM
 #1

Hello

I have a big server room, for security reason, I won't let any machine have access to internet, I want to let them mine bitcoin when they are idle.

So I want to build a private pool without network access
( I want use USB disk to copy blocks list from other computer which have access to internet to the server machine of the private pool every day, and ofcourse copy result blocks out and publish it to bitcoin network)

Is that possible?

What risk do I have ?

Thanks,
CreateFlie

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
error
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574



View Profile
May 25, 2011, 08:38:05 AM
 #2

You can't mine without network access.

15UFyv6kfWgq83Pp3yhXPr8rknv9m6581W
oVPN
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile WWW
May 25, 2011, 08:39:14 AM
 #3

you could setup a mining-proxy, but you still need internet access at a point of your network.

oVPN.to Anonymous Services
createfile
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 08:42:02 AM
 #4

I also have some auto vendor machines ( which have a desktop computer inside, I can install a video card for them )
electrics are for free ( I paid the rent monthly, electrics bills are cover by landlord, they measure how much my machine uses )

And Is that possible to setup the miner stop occupying CPU/memory in 1 second after keyboard is touched?
Dobrodav
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 08:53:10 AM
 #5

Actualy that is not needed (reaction to keyboard input).
Some of existing miners have functionality to run with flags that prevent them to overuse of resourses.

We will  meet in not-so-distant future.
Today`s strange music :
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V8mCgjbBPMk
Yesterday`s  strange music:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-uCTyC1FGLw
createfile
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 09:14:19 AM
 #6

you could setup a mining-proxy, but you still need internet access at a point of your network.

only the proxy server need internet access?
Dobrodav
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 09:50:01 AM
 #7

Yes. and obviously, other machines need acces to that proxy (or to the machine that runs pool software and have acces to the internet).

We will  meet in not-so-distant future.
Today`s strange music :
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V8mCgjbBPMk
Yesterday`s  strange music:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-uCTyC1FGLw
error
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574



View Profile
May 25, 2011, 09:51:54 AM
 #8

Oops, looks like he was going to do CPU mining. There went that idea.

15UFyv6kfWgq83Pp3yhXPr8rknv9m6581W
Dobrodav
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 09:53:33 AM
 #9

... ( which have a desktop computer inside, I can install a video card for them ) ...

And yes, if you are not talking about thousands of computers, cpu mining is useless.

We will  meet in not-so-distant future.
Today`s strange music :
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V8mCgjbBPMk
Yesterday`s  strange music:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-uCTyC1FGLw
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!