Bitcoin Forum
March 26, 2017, 09:07:43 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Is bitcoin mining best way to sell processing power?  (Read 4524 times)
createfile
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 09:25:18 AM
 #1

I have a lot of idle processing power, some of them even with free electric supply, but they all have poor network access (may of them even have no network access)  so I cant rent them out as a VPS or something like webserver ……

I found bitcoin mining maybe a good way to make use of them, but I am not sure whether it's the best way.
Is there anyother way I can sell/rent the processing power?

BTW:
Most of them are server boxes, they have powerful CPU and pool GPU (I am not sure it could call GPU or not just a onboard video chip)
They are good at float computing not SHA-256......

Thanks,
CreateFile

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1490562463
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1490562463

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1490562463
Reply with quote  #2

1490562463
Report to moderator
1490562463
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1490562463

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1490562463
Reply with quote  #2

1490562463
Report to moderator
error
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574



View Profile
May 25, 2011, 09:33:35 AM
 #2

If you're CPU mining, one single ATI graphics card will run rings around your whole server farm. I hope you aren't paying for electricity.

15UFyv6kfWgq83Pp3yhXPr8rknv9m6581W
createfile
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 09:39:15 AM
 #3

If you're CPU mining, one single ATI graphics card will run rings around your whole server farm. I hope you aren't paying for electricity.
Yes, It's the problem, CPUs are good at float computing, not doing SHA-256……
Is there any way to sell cpu float processing power?
error
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574



View Profile
May 25, 2011, 09:45:17 AM
 #4

If you're CPU mining, one single ATI graphics card will run rings around your whole server farm. I hope you aren't paying for electricity.
Yes, It's the problem, CPUs are good at float computing, not doing SHA-256……
Is there any way to sell cpu float processing power?

There probably is, but Bitcoin isn't it. Sorry Sad

15UFyv6kfWgq83Pp3yhXPr8rknv9m6581W
elewton
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 11:27:03 AM
 #5

You might be able to sell FLOPS for Bitcoin.

You could set up a seperate server that specifies problem format and accepts Bitcoins and the problem.  Sneakernet it over to your CPU.
Bit of a hassle, though.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!