Bitcoin Forum
April 23, 2014, 02:22:27 PM *
News: Due to the OpenSSL heartbleed bug, changing your forum password is recommended.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2  All
  Print  
Author Topic: [Project Development] cgEasy 1.0.0--Generate CGminer config for LTC Mining easy!  (Read 10294 times)
Vorksholk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756



View Profile WWW

Ignore
August 03, 2012, 12:30:00 AM
 #1

Hello! Today I invested a few hours time into making a simple program to generate cgminer .bat launch files. The program is a simple, executable jar.

"cgEasy holds your hand through the creation of cgminer configs--All you need is your pool info and know what GPU you have!"

It works on all platforms being Java, but it makes .bat files for cgminer.exe, which pretty much limits it to Windows. All you need to know about your GPU is what it is--is it a 5970 or a 7970M? Or maybe a Mobile 3410? cgEasy has around 200 different GPUs programmed into it--from a 2008 laptop gpu like a Mobility Radeon HD 3200 to a desktop 7970. This program is not meant for advanced users with multiple different gpus which each have different #'s of shaders. cgEasy now also supports overclocking and overvolting settings, and has the default memory and core clocks programmed in for almost 200 gpus!

Get more information, a full video tutorial, source code, screenshots, and more at http://litecointalk.eu/index.php/topic,36.0.html

Fold Proteins, earn cryptos! CureCoin.
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=268556.0
1398262947
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1398262947

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1398262947
Reply with quote  #2

1398262947
Report to moderator
1398262947
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1398262947

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1398262947
Reply with quote  #2

1398262947
Report to moderator
Buy a Blade, Get a 5-Chip Free!
Start Mining with GAWMiners.com
24/7 Live Phone & Tech Support
Free Hosting & Electricity for 1 Year!

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1398262947
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1398262947

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1398262947
Reply with quote  #2

1398262947
Report to moderator
1398262947
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1398262947

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1398262947
Reply with quote  #2

1398262947
Report to moderator
1398262947
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1398262947

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1398262947
Reply with quote  #2

1398262947
Report to moderator
1398262947
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1398262947

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1398262947
Reply with quote  #2

1398262947
Report to moderator
tatsuchan
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 184



View Profile

Ignore
August 03, 2012, 01:51:08 AM
 #2

Really cool.  I'll check this out later.  It took me a while to figure out how to get cgminer going.  I've been using it for the last 3 days and have found it more stable then reaper, not much of a hash difference though sadly.

Use Bitcon to Buy Japanese Toys, Anime, Manga & Import Tech: http://www.dreamprodigy.com
Vorksholk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756



View Profile WWW

Ignore
August 03, 2012, 01:53:19 AM
 #3

Really cool.  I'll check this out later.  It took me a while to figure out how to get cgminer going.  I've been using it for the last 3 days and have found it more stable then reaper, not much of a hash difference though sadly.

Yeah, hash rate seems about same between the two programs, but the stability of cgminer (plus all the nice built-in options for OC, fan control, etc.) is why I use it now.

And thanks! Smiley

Fold Proteins, earn cryptos! CureCoin.
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=268556.0
Vorksholk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756



View Profile WWW

Ignore
August 03, 2012, 09:25:23 PM
 #4

Added support for overclocking and overvolting, and the program will now, when overclocking, show you the default clocks for your card for core and memory, supports almost 200 GPUs, from 2xxx to 7xxx and 2xxxM to 7xxxM!

Fold Proteins, earn cryptos! CureCoin.
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=268556.0
meebs
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile

Ignore
September 03, 2012, 10:34:17 PM
 #5

Tried this for litecoin.. only was getting 6.7kh/s on my 7870's.. *unamused*

However, your bitcoin tool worked BEAUTIFULLY. I was never able to get cgminer to work correctly before on my own. What is your BTC address so i can send you a tip?

If you enjoyed the advice I gave, feel free to toss over some loose change Smiley
1P67xUSyCchQSwngptRVBKso4mMEZMGALZ
Vorksholk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756



View Profile WWW

Ignore
September 03, 2012, 10:40:59 PM
 #6

Tried this for litecoin.. only was getting 6.7kh/s on my 7870's.. *unamused*

However, your bitcoin tool worked BEAUTIFULLY. I was never able to get cgminer to work correctly before on my own. What is your BTC address so i can send you a tip?


Yeah, 7xxx series GPUs are HORRIBLE for scrypt at the moment, I think there is some memory bottleneck, but I could be wrong.

Glad it worked!
Bitcoin address: 1CkcF5mqqzmiDYSkuaFckQDhnPEZEcurZw Thanks Smiley

Fold Proteins, earn cryptos! CureCoin.
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=268556.0
juggalodarkclow
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 882



View Profile

Ignore
September 03, 2012, 10:51:49 PM
 #7

I like the idea of this program, unfortunately it doesn't work with my 6310m. I'll try it out on one of my other rigs a little later.

meebs
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile

Ignore
September 09, 2012, 03:28:12 AM
 #8

(If this is inappropriate for this thread mods are free to delete it or OP can let me know and I will modify as necessary)

After looking into this a bit further and trying multiple things out this is what I have found:

Reaper looks like the tool to use for 7000 series cards.

I could never get above about 130 khash on a 7870 with cgminer. With reaper, i am getting about 310.


The following three links helped me get the info I needed to properly set it up. I thought i'd share this with the rest of you guys so you dont have to search for it as well Smiley
http://wiki.solidcoin.info/wiki/Reaper
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=92887.msg1043797#msg1043797
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=92887.msg1043811#msg1043811


If you enjoyed the advice I gave, feel free to toss over some loose change Smiley
1P67xUSyCchQSwngptRVBKso4mMEZMGALZ
tacotime
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022



View Profile

Ignore
September 09, 2012, 03:34:28 AM
 #9

(If this is inappropriate for this thread mods are free to delete it or OP can let me know and I will modify as necessary)

After looking into this a bit further and trying multiple things out this is what I have found:

Reaper looks like the tool to use for 7000 series cards.

I could never get above about 130 khash on a 7870 with cgminer. With reaper, i am getting about 310.


The following three links helped me get the info I needed to properly set it up. I thought i'd share this with the rest of you guys so you dont have to search for it as well Smiley
http://wiki.solidcoin.info/wiki/Reaper
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=92887.msg1043797#msg1043797
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=92887.msg1043811#msg1043811



Don't use reaper, it's much less stable than cgminer and slower on the 7xxx series to boot.

Use the following cgminer settings:
--scrypt -g 1 --shaders 1280 --thread-concurrency 16000 --worksize 256 -I 13

for the 7xxx series you should use -g 1 and --thread-concurrency of (12.5 * number of SPUs)

Intensities of 7-15 tend to work best, setting intensity too high gives horrible hash rates and all stales

Should be faster than reaper if not as fast.  With a 6870 you should be getting 360kh/s in cgminer (I get 180kh/s in cgminer easy with a 7770, which has half as many compute units).  Additionally cgminer seems to use less power.

meebs
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile

Ignore
September 12, 2012, 02:56:45 AM
 #10


I went ahead and tried what you suggested and this is what I got.


 [2012-09-11 22:52:26] Probing for an alive pool
 [2012-09-11 22:52:26] Long-polling activated for xxxxx
 [2012-09-11 22:52:33] Maximum buffer memory device 0 supports says 524288000, y
our scrypt settings come to 0
 [2012-09-11 22:52:33] Error -61: clCreateBuffer (padbuffer8), decrease CT or in
crease LG
 [2012-09-11 22:52:33] Failed to init GPU thread 0, disabling device 0
 [2012-09-11 22:52:33] Restarting the GPU from the menu will not fix this.
 [2012-09-11 22:52:33] Try restarting cgminer.
Press enter to continue:



the exact batch file I used was (after xing out credentials):


cgminer -o xxxxx -u xxxxx -p xxxxx --scrypt -g 1 --shaders 1280 --thread-concurrency 16000 --worksize 256 -I 13

If you enjoyed the advice I gave, feel free to toss over some loose change Smiley
1P67xUSyCchQSwngptRVBKso4mMEZMGALZ
Greedi
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266


LitecoinTalk


View Profile WWW

Ignore
September 12, 2012, 03:05:19 AM
 #11


I went ahead and tried what you suggested and this is what I got.


 [2012-09-11 22:52:26] Probing for an alive pool
 [2012-09-11 22:52:26] Long-polling activated for xxxxx
 [2012-09-11 22:52:33] Maximum buffer memory device 0 supports says 524288000, y
our scrypt settings come to 0
 [2012-09-11 22:52:33] Error -61: clCreateBuffer (padbuffer8), decrease CT or in
crease LG
 [2012-09-11 22:52:33] Failed to init GPU thread 0, disabling device 0
 [2012-09-11 22:52:33] Restarting the GPU from the menu will not fix this.
 [2012-09-11 22:52:33] Try restarting cgminer.
Press enter to continue:



the exact batch file I used was (after xing out credentials):


cgminer -o xxxxx -u xxxxx -p xxxxx --scrypt -g 1 --shaders 1280 --thread-concurrency 16000 --worksize 256 -I 13

when setting  --shaders, the --thread-concurrency & --worksize is not need

LitecoinTalk - Sign up today!
Try out LTC-Aarade!
Buy Shares!
tacotime
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022



View Profile

Ignore
September 12, 2012, 05:11:24 AM
 #12


I went ahead and tried what you suggested and this is what I got.


 [2012-09-11 22:52:26] Probing for an alive pool
 [2012-09-11 22:52:26] Long-polling activated for xxxxx
 [2012-09-11 22:52:33] Maximum buffer memory device 0 supports says 524288000, y
our scrypt settings come to 0
 [2012-09-11 22:52:33] Error -61: clCreateBuffer (padbuffer8), decrease CT or in
crease LG
 [2012-09-11 22:52:33] Failed to init GPU thread 0, disabling device 0
 [2012-09-11 22:52:33] Restarting the GPU from the menu will not fix this.
 [2012-09-11 22:52:33] Try restarting cgminer.
Press enter to continue:



the exact batch file I used was (after xing out credentials):


cgminer -o xxxxx -u xxxxx -p xxxxx --scrypt -g 1 --shaders 1280 --thread-concurrency 16000 --worksize 256 -I 13

Right, sorry.  There's a bug with cgminer right now that I wasn't aware of because I'd been using a 7770.  For some reason thread-concurrency values above 8192 cause the program to crash, which is what is needed for you to achieve a solid hash rate on cards with more than 640SP that are 7xxx series.  Once this is fixed, the program should run better.

Try this reaper litecoin configuration:
Code:
host yourhost.com
port 8344
user xxx
pass xxx

protocol litecoin

worksize 256
vectors 1
aggression 20
threads_per_gpu 1
sharethreads 32
lookup_gap 2
gpu_thread_concurrency 16384

I got this from some Russians, they use 64 * (memory bus size) for the gpu_thread_concurrency ...

meebs
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile

Ignore
September 12, 2012, 08:21:13 PM
 #13


Try this reaper litecoin configuration:
Code:
host yourhost.com
port 8344
user xxx
pass xxx

protocol litecoin

worksize 256
vectors 1
aggression 20
threads_per_gpu 1
sharethreads 32
lookup_gap 2
gpu_thread_concurrency 16384

I got this from some Russians, they use 64 * (memory bus size) for the gpu_thread_concurrency ...

I gave that a try and got 490-500 khash. This is with 1130mhz core/1200mhz memory on two 7870s and the computer is absolutely unusable (due to the high agression).

This is the config i typically use.. and I get 615 khash with it and the computer is perfectly responsive (with 99% gpu utilization).

Code:


worksize 256
aggression 12
cpu_mining_threads 0
threads_per_gpu 5
sharethreads 18
lookup_gap 2
gpu_thread_concurrency 6400


If you enjoyed the advice I gave, feel free to toss over some loose change Smiley
1P67xUSyCchQSwngptRVBKso4mMEZMGALZ
tacotime
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022



View Profile

Ignore
September 13, 2012, 02:45:02 PM
 #14


Try this reaper litecoin configuration:
Code:
host yourhost.com
port 8344
user xxx
pass xxx

protocol litecoin

worksize 256
vectors 1
aggression 20
threads_per_gpu 1
sharethreads 32
lookup_gap 2
gpu_thread_concurrency 16384

I got this from some Russians, they use 64 * (memory bus size) for the gpu_thread_concurrency ...

I gave that a try and got 490-500 khash. This is with 1130mhz core/1200mhz memory on two 7870s and the computer is absolutely unusable (due to the high agression).

This is the config i typically use.. and I get 615 khash with it and the computer is perfectly responsive (with 99% gpu utilization).

Code:


worksize 256
aggression 12
cpu_mining_threads 0
threads_per_gpu 5
sharethreads 18
lookup_gap 2
gpu_thread_concurrency 6400


You should be able to get more kh/s mining ltc than you get mh/s mining btc.  As I said, a 6870 should pull 350kh/s+ easy. I get 550 kh/s on a 7950.  You do have to wait a little while for reaper to reach the correct reported hash rate too, it took me about 6 minutes before it stated 550 kh/s.

meebs
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile

Ignore
September 17, 2012, 11:06:13 PM
 #15

You should be able to get more kh/s mining ltc than you get mh/s mining btc.  As I said, a 6870 should pull 350kh/s+ easy. I get 550 kh/s on a 7950.  You do have to wait a little while for reaper to reach the correct reported hash rate too, it took me about 6 minutes before it stated 550 kh/s.

What driver and SDK version are you using? I'm using the latest on win 7.. and no matter what settings I try I can't seem to get above 300 on either of my cards on cgminer or reaper.

Bounty of 25 LTC to whoever can get me some proper hashrates on a 7870 or 7950 Smiley

If you enjoyed the advice I gave, feel free to toss over some loose change Smiley
1P67xUSyCchQSwngptRVBKso4mMEZMGALZ
live627
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518


View Profile

Ignore
September 17, 2012, 11:25:28 PM
 #16

aggression is 12 or 13?

BTC: 189ZZLx5RjXMy9ptgq4PrmE9ewVBjuENuq
FTC: 6qWhdqYhU2k2vdmYU57qjbyRd2jvWeeF55
Trading Feedback
_HashFast Technologies_28 nm mining
Producer of High Performance ASICS
BabyJets & Sierras On Sale today!

meebs
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile

Ignore
September 18, 2012, 12:57:45 AM
 #17

aggression is 12 or 13?

I've tried both 12 and 13, but mainly have been running at 12.

If you enjoyed the advice I gave, feel free to toss over some loose change Smiley
1P67xUSyCchQSwngptRVBKso4mMEZMGALZ
tacotime
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022



View Profile

Ignore
September 18, 2012, 06:09:55 PM
 #18

You should be able to get more kh/s mining ltc than you get mh/s mining btc.  As I said, a 6870 should pull 350kh/s+ easy. I get 550 kh/s on a 7950.  You do have to wait a little while for reaper to reach the correct reported hash rate too, it took me about 6 minutes before it stated 550 kh/s.

What driver and SDK version are you using? I'm using the latest on win 7.. and no matter what settings I try I can't seem to get above 300 on either of my cards on cgminer or reaper.

Bounty of 25 LTC to whoever can get me some proper hashrates on a 7870 or 7950 Smiley

try

Quote
host Huh
port Huh
user xxx
pass xxx


protocol litecoin

worksize 256
vectors 1
aggression 16
threads_per_gpu 1
sharethreads 16
lookup_gap 2
gpu_thread_concurrency 8000

in reaper.  7770 gives me ~190kh/s overclocked with same settings and gpu_thread_concurrency 8000 (64 * 125) with ccc 12.8 and app sdk 2.6

a 7870 has 2x the shaders as a 7770 so you should get ~380kh/s and my 7950 gets ~550kh/s

The trick must be finding the right thread concurrency for your card, which at this point almost seems random.  I would just multiply 64 by progressive numbers above 100 up to 256 and you'll probably find something that works the fastest.

meebs
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile

Ignore
September 18, 2012, 09:42:25 PM
 #19

I've been able to get 315 out of each of my 7870s (total of 630-640 in reaper).

On the 7950 (there is a 7870 in the same system as well, not sure if that matters) I have yet to get above 340, and that is in cgminer. Reaper it wont go above 310.

I'll try to keep playing with it hoping for a burst of better luck. but i'm running the ram at about 1350 on all the cards, so I doubt I have much more headroom there.

What is your LTC address? I'll send some coins your way for the help.

If you enjoyed the advice I gave, feel free to toss over some loose change Smiley
1P67xUSyCchQSwngptRVBKso4mMEZMGALZ
tacotime
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022



View Profile

Ignore
September 18, 2012, 09:45:06 PM
 #20

I'll post it later

For 550kh/s+ on my 7950 I use this config:

Code:
host ???
port ???
user xxx
pass xxx


protocol litecoin

worksize 256
vectors 1
aggression 20
threads_per_gpu 1
sharethreads 32
lookup_gap 2
gpu_thread_concurrency 24576

This person managed 700kh/s on water: http://anonymouse.org/cgi-bin/anon-www.cgi/http://img38.imageshack.us/img38/2250/reaperg.jpg

edit: After playing with this for a while and plotting thread_concurries and kh/s quantities, I can say the following:
- For any given card there is a thread_concurrency value range which is optimum with lookup_gap == 2.  For the 7770, this span is 6080-11456.  Below this range the number of stales increases, with it becoming mostly stale in the 4000-ish range.  Above this range, the speed in kh/s drops dramatically.  Within this range, speed in kh/s seems to plateau and is nearly constant.
- Using the lowest thread_concurrency values seems to use the least power (I guess because less memory is being used).
- You can run 1550MHz+ RAM on these cards using MSI Afterburner with this file in the Afterburner folder and overlocking mode set to 2 in the Afterburner configuration.

Pages: [1] 2  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!