Bitcoin Forum
January 20, 2022, 08:16:25 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 22.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Internet Mystery Problem [Solved]  (Read 1085 times)
bb113
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728
Merit: 500


View Profile
August 06, 2012, 02:42:22 PM
Last edit: August 06, 2012, 03:30:57 PM by bitcoinbitcoin113
 #1

I would like to visit elsevier.com, but I get a "Server not found" error using firefox 14.0.1 and a  "DNS server not responding" error using IE9. I have deleted all cookies, etc. On the other hand, I can access the website via tor or ixquick proxy. What is going on?

1642666585
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1642666585

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1642666585
Reply with quote  #2

1642666585
Report to moderator
1642666585
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1642666585

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1642666585
Reply with quote  #2

1642666585
Report to moderator
1642666585
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1642666585

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1642666585
Reply with quote  #2

1642666585
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
RaTTuS
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 792
Merit: 1000


Bite me


View Profile
August 06, 2012, 02:44:53 PM
 #2

http://www.downforeveryoneorjustme.com/elsevier.com

In the Beginning there was CPU , then GPU , then FPGA then ASIC, what next I hear to ask ....

1RaTTuSEN7jJUDiW1EGogHwtek7g9BiEn
bb113
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728
Merit: 500


View Profile
August 06, 2012, 02:46:37 PM
 #3

Yes, it says "just me". I also can't ping that domain from the cmd prompt (win7).
John (John K.)
Global Troll-buster and
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288
Merit: 1149


Away on an extended break


View Profile
August 06, 2012, 02:59:08 PM
Last edit: August 06, 2012, 05:17:38 PM by John (johnthedong)
 #4

I would like to visit elsevier.com, but I get a "Server not found" error using firefox 14.0.1 and a  "DNS server not responding" error using IE9. I have deleted all cookies, etc. On the other hand, I can access the website via tor or ixquick proxy. What is going on?


It's your ISP blocking it. Try changing your DNS provider to Google ( 8.8.8.8 ).
bb113
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728
Merit: 500


View Profile
August 06, 2012, 03:11:50 PM
 #5

I would like to visit elsevier.com, but I get a "Server not found" error using firefox 14.0.1 and a  "DNS server not responding" error using IE9. I have deleted all cookies, etc. On the other hand, I can access the website via tor or ixquick proxy. What is going on?


It's your ISP blocking it. Try changing your DNS provider to Google (8.8.8.Cool.

This worked... wierd.
John (John K.)
Global Troll-buster and
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288
Merit: 1149


Away on an extended break


View Profile
August 06, 2012, 05:19:56 PM
 #6

I would like to visit elsevier.com, but I get a "Server not found" error using firefox 14.0.1 and a  "DNS server not responding" error using IE9. I have deleted all cookies, etc. On the other hand, I can access the website via tor or ixquick proxy. What is going on?


It's your ISP blocking it. Try changing your DNS provider to Google (8.8.8.Cool.

This worked... wierd.
You must be living in a country where your ISP blocks certain websites - but fail at it unlike China. DNS blocking is a easy way to implement Internet censorship, and even easier to bypass. Wink However, I don't get why your ISP would block that site though.
bb113
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728
Merit: 500


View Profile
August 06, 2012, 05:56:53 PM
 #7

I would like to visit elsevier.com, but I get a "Server not found" error using firefox 14.0.1 and a  "DNS server not responding" error using IE9. I have deleted all cookies, etc. On the other hand, I can access the website via tor or ixquick proxy. What is going on?


It's your ISP blocking it. Try changing your DNS provider to Google (8.8.8.Cool.

This worked... wierd.
You must be living in a country where your ISP blocks certain websites - but fail at it unlike China. DNS blocking is a easy way to implement Internet censorship, and even easier to bypass. Wink However, I don't get why your ISP would block that site though.

haha, I live in the USA. I have no idea why they would block elsevier. Maybe something to do with SOPA and its brethren. One problem with this solution is that Google DNS breaks some of the adblocker filters (for example, on youtube).
myrkul
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 500


FIAT LIBERTAS RVAT CAELVM


View Profile WWW
August 06, 2012, 06:23:03 PM
 #8

Another option (Which I use) is OpenDNS. Highly configurable, Doesn't filter (unless you ask it to), and hardly ever down.

BTC1MYRkuLv4XPBa6bGnYAronz55grPAGcxja
Need Dispute resolution? Public Key ID: 0x11D341CF
No person has the right to initiate force, threat of force, or fraud against another person or their property. VIM VI REPELLERE LICET
bb113
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728
Merit: 500


View Profile
August 07, 2012, 01:47:56 AM
 #9

My google DNS problem (not the Elsevier problem) was actually an adblock setting that I had changed earlier. OpenDNS may be a better option than google, I will have to check it out. Still it doesn't make sense that Elsevier got blocked. Very strange.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!