Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 11:55:20 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Using bitcoin.exe to send to btcmine?  (Read 1384 times)
cikbik
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 08:51:06 PM
 #1

Hello, im trying to setup poolmining without using a seperate program to use cpu/gpu. I wish to simply play high cpu/gpu computer games to mine. How would I be able to setup bitcoin.exe to send info to BTCMine in order to join their pool? Sorry if this is terribly worded, basically i wish to play everquest 2 and to mine at my own spare time, not using power that isnt needed in the first place.
1480809320
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480809320

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480809320
Reply with quote  #2

1480809320
Report to moderator
1480809320
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480809320

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480809320
Reply with quote  #2

1480809320
Report to moderator
1480809320
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480809320

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480809320
Reply with quote  #2

1480809320
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480809320
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480809320

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480809320
Reply with quote  #2

1480809320
Report to moderator
cikbik
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
June 01, 2011, 07:33:21 PM
 #2

anyone?
fpgaminer
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546



View Profile WWW
June 01, 2011, 07:38:44 PM
 #3

Your question is a little difficult to understand, but I'll take a stand at one part of it.

Quote
How would I be able to setup bitcoin.exe to send info to BTCMine in order to join their pool?
As far as I know, you can't. The Bitcoin client won't connect to a pool to get work, it will only process its own work. Also, the Bitcoin client won't use your GPU, only CPU.

If you want to use your GPU, or mine against a pool, you need one of the standalone mining programs like GUI Miner.

Quote
basically i wish to play everquest 2 and to mine at my own spare time, not using power that isnt needed in the first place.
That question is a bit vague. Do you mean, you only want to mine while playing EverQuest 2? Or mine only when not playing EverQuest 2? For the latter, I believe there are mining programs and/or scripts that will only activate when your machine is idle, thus allowing you to play video games without having your computer slowed down.

RulerOf
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
June 01, 2011, 07:39:41 PM
 #4

If you want to mine on your GPU at the same time as playing games or doing other things, simply use m0mchil's poclbm miner (you can download GUIMiner, which includes poclbm) and add "-f 120" to the command line.

The -f switch tells the miner that you want it to back off so that you can maintain a certain frame rate in other programs, like Everquest 2, while it mines with your video card.

For the CPU miner, just lower the priority of the process using task manager, and it'll only use "spare" CPU resources.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!