Bitcoin Forum
October 23, 2017, 02:50:46 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Forum Error  (Read 579 times)
MegaFall
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
March 18, 2015, 06:57:56 AM
 #1

Every time I try to post a reply or start a new thread I end up seeing this:

Quote
The last posting from your IP was less than 360 seconds ago. Please try again later. The thing you were trying to post was saved as a draft. This limit decreases substantially as your account becomes more established.

When it's been more than that allocated time. If I wait two second and try to post again, it says "You've already posted this", when nothing has been posted at all. Then if I go back and wait another 10 seconds and try again and it posts fine.
1508727046
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508727046

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508727046
Reply with quote  #2

1508727046
Report to moderator
1508727046
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508727046

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508727046
Reply with quote  #2

1508727046
Report to moderator
1508727046
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508727046

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508727046
Reply with quote  #2

1508727046
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1508727046
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508727046

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508727046
Reply with quote  #2

1508727046
Report to moderator
1508727046
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508727046

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508727046
Reply with quote  #2

1508727046
Report to moderator
1508727046
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508727046

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508727046
Reply with quote  #2

1508727046
Report to moderator
Grand_Voyageur
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322


https://dadice.com | Click my signature to join!


View Profile WWW
March 18, 2015, 07:10:36 AM
 #2

Every time I try to post a reply or start a new thread I end up seeing this:

Quote
The last posting from your IP was less than 360 seconds ago. Please try again later. The thing you were trying to post was saved as a draft. This limit decreases substantially as your account becomes more established.

When it's been more than that allocated time. If I wait two second and try to post again, it says "You've already posted this", when nothing has been posted at all. Then if I go back and wait another 10 seconds and try again and it posts fine.

Post limits are in place to limit spam. As theymos explained some time ago, the said limits decrease as your Rank/Activity count go up.

What are the time limits on posting and the levels??
I know 360 seconds are for new people like me, but was wondering if there was break down somewhere on this.

Code:
waittime = 360;
if(activity >= 15)
        waittime = (int)(90 - activity);
if(activity >= 60)
        waittime=(int)(34.7586 - (0.0793103 * activity));
if(activity >= 100)
        waittime = max((int)(14-(activity/50)), 4);

You could find also that similar limits exist also on sending PM.

Here, some references about forum ranks, activity, etc.: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=178608.0

███████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
█   ⚂⚄⚀⚃⚅⚁    ██  d a d i c e  ██    Next Generation Dice Game
• Low 1% house edge. • Provably Fair.  
███████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
MegaFall
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
March 18, 2015, 07:13:41 AM
 #3

I know that, but it's making me wait longer than that. The set 360 seconds (which btw is obscenely long; 120 could easily accomplish the same thing, if a bot had to wait 120, it would bounce) is seemingly being applied twice or something. I have to wait, currently, 10+ minutes to make another post. Unless I do that weird hack thing, where I try to post three times and then it will finally go through.

Altoughh, I guess as soon as my activity cycles, I won't have to worry about the 360 limit any more.
Grand_Voyageur
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322


https://dadice.com | Click my signature to join!


View Profile WWW
March 18, 2015, 07:18:06 AM
 #4

Are you doing something else than posting? E.g. Reporting post also share the same limits are posting...
Could you better explain and/or provide us more details?

███████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
█   ⚂⚄⚀⚃⚅⚁    ██  d a d i c e  ██    Next Generation Dice Game
• Low 1% house edge. • Provably Fair.  
███████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
Vod
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2170


Licking my boob since 1970


View Profile WWW
March 18, 2015, 07:19:15 AM
 #5

I know that, but it's making me wait longer than that. The set 360 seconds (which btw is obscenely long; 120 could easily accomplish the same thing, if a bot had to wait 120, it would bounce) is seemingly being applied twice or something. I have to wait, currently, 10+ minutes to make another post. Unless I do that weird hack thing, where I try to post three times and then it will finally go through.

Altoughh, I guess as soon as my activity cycles, I won't have to worry about the 360 limit any more.

I've noticed this too, even as a Legendary member.  I go to report a post, and am told I already posted within the last 4 seconds.  (I guess that is the Legendary limit?).  I just hit submit again and it goes through...

If it is a bug, hopefully it goes away with the new forum.

I'm into creating universes, smiting people, writing holy books and listening to prayers.
If you want your prayers answered, you must donate to 1CDyx8AUTiYXS1ThcBU3vy4SJWQq6pdFMH
BitcoinTalk Public Information Project
MegaFall
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
March 18, 2015, 07:20:03 AM
 #6

Nope, just posting. Haven't used PMs, haven't been reporting posts, nothing other than submitting posts.


(EDIT: Well now I'm at 28 activity, so it should be a little bit less of an issue.)
matt4054
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372


BitcoinQueue.com


View Profile WWW
March 18, 2015, 07:24:11 AM
 #7

E.g. Reporting post also share the same limits are posting...

Yes and AFAIK, so does searching, and anything that involves an HTTP POST. I might be wrong though.

The 360 sec throttle is a pain when you are a "legitimate" newbie, but as you said, it will go away as soon as your account gets more activity. Keep in mind the huge amount of noise generated by newly created accounts, I think it's a necessary evil.

The simple fact that you're not bearing a commercial (paid for) signature and a short outlook of your posts clearly show that you are on the right track to becoming a valuable member, so just be patient and keep posting sensible and useful stuff Wink

EDIT: oh, and edits are probably counted as 'post' actions too Wink
tmfp
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 994


MLM: Many Layers of Misery


View Profile
March 18, 2015, 08:01:06 AM
 #8

I had the same as you and Vod, first action of a session, got the "you just did something already" pop up.
Was concerned that something strange was occurring with my account so asked Bad Bear, but he said all was ok.
Just a bug I guess, roll on $1m forum.

Extraordinary Claims require Extraordinary Evidence
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!