Bitcoin Forum
December 02, 2016, 06:17:44 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: OMG - HELP - don't hate me - Help me (:  (Read 1374 times)
benyben
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
May 26, 2011, 05:22:25 AM
 #1

1. Bought a mining rig w 6990

2. Installed Ubuntu

3. Failed.

4. Installed Windows 7.

5. Installed Bitcoin

- Bitcoin downloaded all the blocks (that took a while)

6. Installed GUIminer

7. Closed all windows.

-started GUIminer

- set to SOLO

- Set user name and password - check

- set to server - check

- Pressed "start mining"

- device set to CAYMEN


THEN - it started mining: GPU temps to 70+.
CPU load - 100% (why?)

YET - only ONE GPU (out of the two in the 6990) is working. WHY???

System froze - blue screen of death.

Started again - system froze again (this time - no BSOD - just nothing is moving (not even the MOUSE)


Please - HELP

I love U guys (i really mean it)

 Smiley
1480702664
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480702664

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480702664
Reply with quote  #2

1480702664
Report to moderator
1480702664
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480702664

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480702664
Reply with quote  #2

1480702664
Report to moderator
1480702664
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480702664

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480702664
Reply with quote  #2

1480702664
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
frozen
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile WWW
May 26, 2011, 05:43:23 AM
 #2

Could you elaborate on step 3 a bit more?

benyben
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
May 26, 2011, 05:45:23 AM
 #3

Thank you for replying!

I am new to UBUNTU (never ever used it), and it took me hours so begin. Ruining things in the DOS level (is that what's it called - the TERMINAL)  - I can't do it! It's horrid to me - a night mare.

):
GreenSky
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23



View Profile
May 26, 2011, 05:52:12 AM
 #4

AMD 69XX series cards will crash with no mouse movement (sometimes BSOD) if any other program starts to use significant resources on the card.

This seems to be a driver problem on AMD's part, I hope it gets fixed soon.

Make sure that you are not running any programs like GPU-Z (which probes for OpenCL), or Flash videos such as YouTube (right click, go to settings, disable hardware acceleration), or a game.
error
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574



View Profile
May 26, 2011, 05:54:00 AM
 #5

I think this is where your adventure took a wrong turn:

1. Bought a mining rig

You would already be far ahead if you had simply bought bitcoins.

15UFyv6kfWgq83Pp3yhXPr8rknv9m6581W
benyben
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
May 26, 2011, 05:54:36 AM
 #6

YES i was running GPU-Z and CPU-Z!!!
Wow how did U know that?


Also - why does it use only one of the GPu's instead of both???
GreenSky
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23



View Profile
May 26, 2011, 05:56:52 AM
 #7

You probably have to run another instance of the miner.

Device should be device 0 and device 1...
benyben
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
May 26, 2011, 05:58:44 AM
 #8

Ohhhhhhhhhhh!!!!

I will try it right now!!!

How many MHAShs should I see per second?

just want to make sure my card is working as it should
benyben
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
May 26, 2011, 06:21:35 AM
 #9

IT"S WORKING.

I think.

I don't see any money adding up in the transaction  Cheesy  seriously....

It was BOILING - I couldn't touch the card.

I downloaded and installed MSI AFTERBURNER, and manully set the fans to 100, and the temps went down from 90 to 65


But how do I even know if it's making coins?
I see both the Caymen cores working on 99%, but who says they are doing what they need to?
commlinx
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
May 26, 2011, 06:47:25 AM
 #10

But how do I even know if it's making coins?
I see both the Caymen cores working on 99%, but who says they are doing what they need to?
On average it's going to take you over two weeks to solve a block and get 50BTC. Note the "on average" part, you could get one in the next 10 seconds or you could go months without one.

You might want to take a look at pooled mining and get a more consistent few BTC a day. It'll also be easier to see that it's all working because a pool sends you easy difficulty work that you'll normally be solving a few times a minute.

benyben
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
May 26, 2011, 06:59:27 AM
 #11

"pooled mining"? What is that? Should I just google it?
commlinx
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
May 26, 2011, 07:09:40 AM
 #12

"pooled mining"? What is that? Should I just google it?
The Beginner's Guide stickied at the top of the forum covers it:
http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=9430.0.

There are a choice of a few pools, personally I'd recommend slush's for a start (but I haven't tried the newer ones yet), it'll give you fast feedback on that it's working. You do need to wait about 12 hours for the blocks to get confirmed before payout, you could try Deepbit if you want to get your first BTC a little faster Smiley. It doesn't make much difference in the long-term though and it's easy enough to swap pools to try them out.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!