Bitcoin Forum
August 20, 2017, 10:03:39 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Sapphire 5830 Memory clock < 550 Issue  (Read 2763 times)
namley
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 61


View Profile
May 26, 2011, 07:02:34 AM
 #1

After a couple days of reading, and messing around mining with my nVidia Refference 8800GT and MSI Twin-Frozr 250GTS I decided to make a small investment into mining bitcoins.

I found a dam good deal on Newegg for Sapphire Radeon HD 5830 and tired of seeing my crappy 70MHash/s out of my overclocked nVidia Cards, I took the plunge and got 2 of the 5830's.
Link: http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814102878&cm_re=5830-_-14-102-878-_-Product

Figured may as well, even if I don't make anything back, I still got a decent pair of cards to run in XFire.

Current Setup
=================================
GA P55-USB3 Motherboard
Intel i5 720
2x Sapphire Radeon 5830's ( not x-fired )
2x Craptastic 550W PSU's

GuiMiner (poclbm)
Deepbit.net's MinerPool
=================================

Installation of the cards running stock, gave me about 200-216 MHash/s each
   - POCLBM Flags ( -v -w128 )

I tuned the cards using ATITrayTool
http://downloads.guru3d.com/download.php?det=733

I have been running the cards stable at 985/600 for 3 Days, using POCLBM Flags ( -v -w64 -r2 -f1 ) and getting 300-306MHash/sec
The fans are running at 100%, and I have a box fan blowing into the open case ** Yes sounds like a jet engine **

GPU Temps sit around 60-63C

I'm trying to figure out how on earth some of the 5830 users are getting their memory clocks down to 300. As soon as I go lower then 550MHZ Memory clock, the card crashes.

Any thoughts on why I can't lower my memory clock speeds, or suggestions.

Thanks

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1503223419
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503223419

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503223419
Reply with quote  #2

1503223419
Report to moderator
1503223419
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503223419

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503223419
Reply with quote  #2

1503223419
Report to moderator
bitlackey
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43


View Profile
May 26, 2011, 07:30:25 AM
 #2

Avoid from 400 to 600, I've been using sapphire trixx which lets me jump to 300 without issue. With msi afterburner I have to set it around 600 and then restart the program to be able to set the 300 range. I switched back to afterburner for its multi-gpu monitoring.
I hope that helps, it works for me at least. I have the same cards.

I'm getting 308mh/s at 1000/350 using the phatk kernel & 2.1 sdk, I can't get above 290mh/s with the normal kernel.
namley
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 61


View Profile
May 26, 2011, 07:48:46 AM
 #3

Oh okay, I'm going to try dropping the clock right down to 300 and see how it goes.

So I got it down to 300 no problem, but with my flags for POCLBM -v -w64 -r2 -f1 I dropped my Hash rate down to 273-277

Switched it to -v -w128 -r2 -f1 and Its sitting at 304-306 on both cards.

Current Temperature 58C
Fan 100%
Core Clock 1000MHz
Memory Clock 300MHz



gigabytecoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


View Profile
May 26, 2011, 07:50:11 AM
 #4

Oh okay, I'm going to try dropping the clock right down to 300 and see how it goes.

So I got it down to 300 no problem, but with my flags for POCLBM -v -w64 -r2 -f1 I dropped my Hash rate down to 273-277

Switched it to -v -w128 -r2 -f1 and Its sitting at 304-306 on both cards.

Current Temperature 58C
Fan 100%
Core Clock 1000MHz
Memory Clock 300MHz




58C ?? How long are you holding that temperature at 1000mhz?
namley
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 61


View Profile
May 26, 2011, 07:52:32 AM
 #5

Keeping in mind that I have both fans on the Cards running at 100% and a High RPM Box Fan running at full speed pointed to the open side of the case.

I will monitor for an hour and let you know. Its floating between 59-60C at the moment.


namley
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 61


View Profile
May 26, 2011, 08:00:30 AM
 #6

Little sooner then 1hr, realizing that my ugly boxfan was on medium, I turned it to high

Top Card is sitting at 58C
Bottom Card is sitting at 60C

Both have remained at those temps for about 10-15minutes



How long have you ran your 5830's at those clock speeds? I was bit afraid of frying the cards.

namley
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 61


View Profile
May 26, 2011, 08:33:45 AM
 #7

Monitored the temps for 30minutes

Sitting at

Top Card 57C
Bottom Card 58C

styrfoem
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17



View Profile
June 01, 2011, 06:43:03 PM
 #8

close to the same setup running here, 230Mhash/s per GPU, no OC. first attempted to turn Mem speed down on one card resulted in the same issues between 400-550MHz using MSI Afterburner.
i was stable at 600MHz and then after dropping to 550MHz i lost 4hrs troubleshooting and reconfiguring to isolate the issue to a single card and then getting it reset to the factory defaults. Will i was having the issue the video on the card that was turned down to 550MHz would allow login to Windows and then crash to a blue or sometimes blue with lines screen. (not BSOD tho) which i could only resolve with a hard reboot.

fyi - now using the solution here http://forum.bitcoin.org/?topic=6575.0 for the DVI solution on the 2nd card!!

http://www.miningmonitor.com/styrfoem | 2x Sapphire ATI RADEON HD 5830 | 1x Sapphire ATI RADEON HD 5870 | Thermaltake TR2 RX 850W |Cooler Master |ELITE 430 | ASROCK 890GX Extreme4 | AMD Athlon II X2 265 | Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate | 13Pgach5Qpj3nis17gCnsgwdb1CLrDkBsX
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!