Bitcoin Forum
April 17, 2014, 09:24:24 PM *
News: Due to the OpenSSL heartbleed bug, changing your forum password is recommended.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: 1 [2]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: How to get started using your GPU to mine for Bitcoins on Windows  (Read 87503 times)
LobsterMan
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 72


View Profile

Ignore
February 13, 2011, 11:21:02 AM
 #21

yes device 0 is gpu not working and device 1 is working cpu

hmm...what about device 2? ...3?  Undecided
1397769864
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1397769864

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1397769864
Reply with quote  #2

1397769864
Report to moderator
1397769864
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1397769864

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1397769864
Reply with quote  #2

1397769864
Report to moderator
GAWMiners.com
ASIC Scrypt Miners
Guaranteed Satisfaction + Same-Day Shipping For FREE!
Simply Enter "freeshipping" at checkout

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1397769864
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1397769864

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1397769864
Reply with quote  #2

1397769864
Report to moderator
nonperturbative
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile

Ignore
February 13, 2011, 04:12:02 PM
 #22

Using Bitcoin 0.3.19 BETA my computer keeps shutting down Huh  Any help on settings for ATI Radeon HD 4850 with the most recent drivers (11.1) running on Win 7 64bit? I've been trying different settings for -w...it runs at 70,000 or 40,000 for about four minutes then shuts down the computer (no error message, just shuts down.) I've also tried -v and -f.  GPU Caps shows "OpenCL 1.1 ATI-Stream-v2.3 (451) FULL_PROFILE" and I've installed "ati-stream-sdk-v2.3-vista-win7-64" and updated "StreamKernelAnalyzer-1.7.0.820"


start /D"C:\Program Files (x86)\Bitcoin\poclbm_py2exe_20110204" poclbm.exe --user=username --pass=password --device=0 -w 128

dust
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 840



View Profile WWW

Ignore
February 13, 2011, 07:27:42 PM
 #23

Using Bitcoin 0.3.19 BETA my computer keeps shutting down Huh  Any help on settings for ATI Radeon HD 4850 with the most recent drivers (11.1) running on Win 7 64bit? I've been trying different settings for -w...it runs at 70,000 or 40,000 for about four minutes then shuts down the computer (no error message, just shuts down.) I've also tried -v and -f.  GPU Caps shows "OpenCL 1.1 ATI-Stream-v2.3 (451) FULL_PROFILE" and I've installed "ati-stream-sdk-v2.3-vista-win7-64" and updated "StreamKernelAnalyzer-1.7.0.820"


start /D"C:\Program Files (x86)\Bitcoin\poclbm_py2exe_20110204" poclbm.exe --user=username --pass=password --device=0 -w 128



This is probably a power or heat issue resulting from your GPU running at full load.  What power supply are you using?

Cryptocoin Mining Info | OTC | PGP | Twitter | freenode: dust-otc | BTC: 1F6fV4U2xnpAuKtmQD6BWpK3EuRosKzF8U
nonperturbative
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile

Ignore
February 13, 2011, 11:47:22 PM
 #24

Quote
This is probably a power or heat issue resulting from your GPU running at full load.  What power supply are you using?

Yep *dust*, you're correct; thx! Power supply is 350W; GPU Cap shows it at 84C at rest (it's a Dell Studio XPS Desktop 435MT). I took a vacuum and compressed air to it and, under full load it runs at about 120C...but it's running (30min now...)

LobsterMan
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 72


View Profile

Ignore
February 14, 2011, 08:19:05 PM
 #25

120 is VERY hot....you may want to look into trying to clean that out a bit more  Tongue
the_joey_o
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 40


View Profile

Ignore
February 18, 2011, 03:48:20 AM
 #26

Quote
My video card is an ATI Radion HD3300

the HD3xxx doesn't support OpenCL (can't use my HD3870 for mining), you'll need at least a HD4xxx.

Not to be contradictory, but the standard download from ATI for my card includes OpenCL support and the GPU Caps Viewer confirmed that I have OpenCL support. Perhaps it doesn't have full OpenCL support? Or something related to OpenCL isn't fully supported? I'm just throwing some ideas out there. Does anybody know more about this?
EPowerBiggs
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile

Ignore
April 06, 2011, 05:59:10 PM
 #27

I'm a bit confused... I have an NVIDIA Quadro NVS 140M GPU on a Lenovo T61 laptop. NVIDIA says it supports CUDA and I downloaded the latest driver (I think - 7.15.11.7693 (11-14-2008), R0.00 (branch: r176_50-10501)). The Caps Viewer shows I have no CUDA/OpenCL support. What do I need to do next?

Thanks.
EPowerBiggs
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile

Ignore
April 06, 2011, 07:20:24 PM
 #28

Sorry. Lesson learned - do not go to Lenovo for ongoing graphics driver support. NVIDIA had me download 266.58 for GeForce, and I'm off and running. We'll see how it goes!
newMeat1
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210



View Profile

Ignore
May 28, 2011, 09:17:34 PM
 #29

I can't even get past the stage of making bitcoin.conf. I make that file, then try to run:
bitcoin.exe -server

A Bitcoin error says : "Warning: To use the "-server" option, you must set rpcpassword=<password> in the configuration file:...
If the file does not exist, create it with owner-readable-only file permissions."

**edit: Notepad was adding a .txt file extension, which wasn't showing up. Watch out for that, folks   Smiley

And thanks for the writeup!

aceman1011
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 142


View Profile

Ignore
June 05, 2011, 12:32:26 AM
 #30

Hey guys, I just finished building my first rig but have encountered a problem. Whenever I try to run both my 5830s in Crossfire mode enabled, only one runs. Whenever I try to open up a new instance and a new worker with --device=1, poclbm crashes after the first block and says verification failed, check hardware. With Crossfire disabled, the miner will only work using one card. When I open two, they both crash down to 50 kh/s. All the stuff above is WITH the crossfire bridge on the two cards. Without the bridge, one card works, but whenever I try to open a second window of the miner with a different worker and device, it simply divides the use of one card. Help please!

EDIT: The verification failed thing only happens when the second miner finds its first share. Before that both cards run at 200 mh/s.

Rent my 800 + mh/s rig. PM me!
aceman1011
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 142


View Profile

Ignore
June 05, 2011, 12:40:05 PM
 #31

I figured out only one of the cards gives the Verification Failed error. They are both well cooled and not OC'ed. What should I do? I have a dummy plug, but I can't tell if I did it right or if it is working. Should I just get an RMA? Help!

Rent my 800 + mh/s rig. PM me!
aceman1011
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 142


View Profile

Ignore
June 05, 2011, 04:27:34 PM
 #32

Dummy plug makes no difference. Still need help! Will offer a reward!

Rent my 800 + mh/s rig. PM me!
NghtRppr
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


View Profile

Ignore
June 05, 2011, 04:33:04 PM
 #33

Dummy plug makes no difference. Still need help! Will offer a reward!

Update your drivers then try each card by itself in each slot. So, 2 cards and 2 slots means 4 different tests. If all 4 tests pass then put the cards in at the same time in CrossFireX mode and try playing a game with the load balancing meter on. If the game works then try a different miner. If none of that isolates the problem you might try another set of cards or a new motherboard. Good luck.
Tasty Champa
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile

Ignore
June 21, 2011, 09:06:07 AM
 #34

anyone know where I could extract the latest opencl.dll

the ATI installation with driver and CCC and then the current AMD STREAM SDK does not include it or put it anywhere I have been able to find.

However, nvidia drivers include it and so I'm getting ready to try using one I found from 2010 on my system.
Tasty Champa
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile

Ignore
June 21, 2011, 10:23:16 AM
 #35

wow that was exceptionally hard!

install, reboot, uninstall, reboot, safe mode, wipe drivers, reboot, uninstall again for shits and giggles, fix registry, reboot, surf web, install, reboot, uninstall, reboot, surf web more, install, uninstall, install, uninstall, install, uninstall... 0.o reboot.
realize no one on the net knows anything about this. (remembers why nvidia was so nice)
find out 2 installers exist, but only one works, 2 completely different names. ()
post here...

go directly into crazy long string of jibberish c:\ati directory find opencl.msi, try to install and get cock blocked, uninstall, reboot, go directly back into into crazy long string of jibberish c:\ati directory something find opencl.msi, go back a few levels, trick retarded installer into installing opencl directly.
go to command prompt then to phoenix, run it, still goofed up, run caps viewer, opencl is checked.
Start wondering if I'm on acid. decide I'm going to go to sleep, decide to try guiminer, and it works.
WTF?!
check with AMDGPUCockTool.exe
things are good
insert good flags into guiminer "-v -w128"

Win.
Pages: 1 [2]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!