Bitcoin Forum
December 15, 2017, 06:48:18 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Fetching posts without reloading page!  (Read 1130 times)
Muhammed Zakir
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560


I prefer Zakir over Muhammed when mentioning me!


View Profile WWW
April 07, 2015, 03:31:58 AM
 #1

Hello,

Will there be an option to fetch posts without reloading the page? A refresh button or similar, so new posts will be fetched and can be seen without reloading. If not, adding this will be good IMHO. Thank you!

1513363698
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513363698

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513363698
Reply with quote  #2

1513363698
Report to moderator
1513363698
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513363698

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513363698
Reply with quote  #2

1513363698
Report to moderator
1513363698
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513363698

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513363698
Reply with quote  #2

1513363698
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513363698
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513363698

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513363698
Reply with quote  #2

1513363698
Report to moderator
1513363698
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513363698

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513363698
Reply with quote  #2

1513363698
Report to moderator
btcton
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 980

Professional SysAdmin / Hobbyist Developer


View Profile
April 08, 2015, 07:20:44 AM
 #2

It sounds like an unnecessary waste of bandwidth to me. People could have their tabs open without actually looking at them and you would still be using up the forum's bandwidth. That is, if it is done automatically. If it is done manually then, yeah, it would be a nice feature to have to save a second or two per load, but nothing crucial.

Muhammed Zakir
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560


I prefer Zakir over Muhammed when mentioning me!


View Profile WWW
April 08, 2015, 07:43:21 AM
 #3

It sounds like an unnecessary waste of bandwidth to me. People could have their tabs open without actually looking at them and you would still be using up the forum's bandwidth. That is, if it is done automatically. If it is done manually then, yeah, it would be a nice feature to have to save a second or two per load, but nothing crucial.

Yes, it is done manually. I don't like automation in this feature.

=snip=
A refresh button or similar, so new posts will be fetched and can be seen without reloading.
=snip=

coinpr0n
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile
April 08, 2015, 08:21:31 AM
 #4

Yeah, I too think the idea is a good one. I've never thought about it or been in need of it, but if the option were there I would probably use it.

Bitcoin_BOy$
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714

|| Web developer ||


View Profile
April 10, 2015, 03:23:48 PM
 #5

I think it can be easy coded , like a script to refresh posts every X seconds and if return true , get the new posts
just need a little work , and will be a good option , also some users may not like it , someone can have limited
bandwidth or something like this  Cheesy .

Kind Of Respect ,
Bitcoin Boy.
Muhammed Zakir
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560


I prefer Zakir over Muhammed when mentioning me!


View Profile WWW
April 10, 2015, 05:42:15 PM
 #6

I think it can be easy coded , like a script to refresh posts every X seconds and if return true , get the new posts
just need a little work , and will be a good option , also some users may not like it , someone can have limited
bandwidth or something like this  Cheesy .

Kind Of Respect ,
Bitcoin Boy.

No "automation".

Yes, it is done manually. I don't like automation in this feature.

=snip=
A refresh button or similar, so new posts will be fetched and can be seen without reloading.
=snip=

btcton
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 980

Professional SysAdmin / Hobbyist Developer


View Profile
April 10, 2015, 06:15:13 PM
 #7

It sounds like an unnecessary waste of bandwidth to me. People could have their tabs open without actually looking at them and you would still be using up the forum's bandwidth. That is, if it is done automatically. If it is done manually then, yeah, it would be a nice feature to have to save a second or two per load, but nothing crucial.

Yes, it is done manually. I don't like automation in this feature.

=snip=
A refresh button or similar, so new posts will be fetched and can be seen without reloading.
=snip=
Ah, in that case I don't see a problem, since it really isn't too different from what we already do. In fact, it'd be even better since only part of the page would be refreshed, saving some bandwidth. It also shouldn't be hard to do. You have my support.

mitzie
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 902



View Profile
April 15, 2015, 11:02:44 PM
 #8

Could be easily implemented with Ajax and jQuery. I think that it is a nice feature to have
HeroC
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 857


GPG: FA122C1A | IRC: HeroCC


View Profile WWW
April 22, 2015, 11:50:08 PM
 #9

Would be nice for support / help threads or others where you needed to pay attention +1, good feature
EcuaMobi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274



View Profile WWW
April 23, 2015, 12:01:23 AM
 #10

It sounds like an unnecessary waste of bandwidth to me. People could have their tabs open without actually looking at them and you would still be using up the forum's bandwidth. That is, if it is done automatically. If it is done manually then, yeah, it would be a nice feature to have to save a second or two per load, but nothing crucial.

Actually this can be automatic and save bandwidth (not only not waste it) if done properly:

Something like infinite scroll can be implemented via jQuery and that could be triggered only when the tab is on focus and a scroll happens. Another option is to query regularly (every 30 seconds or so) for new posts only when the page is on focus (even if no scroll happens) but only a boolean would be returned indicating whether or not new posts are available on that specific thread (cache could be used server-side if several users are on the same thread). If there are new posts then a message would appear and the user would need to click on it to have them loaded. Gmail does this for new emails on the current conversation.

Only a few bytes would be queried only when the site is on focus. This would prevent a lot of users to hit F5 just in case, wasting a lot of bandwidth and -even worst- DB queries and other resources.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!