Bitcoin Forum
October 17, 2018, 03:26:24 PM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: AntMiner Community Edition Firmware Improvement Project  (Read 4934 times)
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2422
Merit: 1011



View Profile
May 11, 2015, 10:14:58 PM
 #21

Guess that means well never See  BFG support .

 I'll say it again I  like both CG and BFG .

why not give us that choice ? .   Angry
Now that things are open, BFGMiner support is planned as well (at least for the S5).
There's a lot of code to go through, though, so it might be a few weeks still.

P.S. Ignore the cgminer trolls' lies.


Was there a gminer that these two, c & bf, forked from?

8 )
cpuminer was the original.
Con Kolivas forked that to make cgminer, the CPU/GPU miner.
I joined the cgminer project to add FPGA/ASIC support.
When GPU mining died, Con and Kano forked the collaborative project into the present-day cgminer (he retained the name/repository), and later rewrote FPGA/ASIC support (as well as removed CPU/GPU support).
I have continued to maintain and improve the original CPU/GPU/FPGA/ASIC project under the name BFGMiner.

1539789984
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539789984

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539789984
Reply with quote  #2

1539789984
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1539789984
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539789984

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539789984
Reply with quote  #2

1539789984
Report to moderator
1539789984
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539789984

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539789984
Reply with quote  #2

1539789984
Report to moderator
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2604
Merit: 1056


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 13, 2015, 11:04:32 PM
 #22

Was there a gminer that these two, c & bf, forked from?

8 )
Cgminer was forked from cpuminer and bfgminer forked from cgminer.
cgminer was forked from cpuminer.
bfgminer (the name I came up with and he stole from me) was forked from cgminer.

Fork:
https://github.com/luke-jr/bfgminer/commit/b9df56511c7bd1a2e1f075e9c184c1a4b0f1ba20

Luke's lies proven to be lies:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=78192.msg1467026#msg1467026

Basically what happened was:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.msg1000946#msg1000946

Which in short version is:
1) I updated the icarus software in my git and talked about it in IRC in the channel where we discussed #cgminer
and it was tested on the biggest collection of icarus boards anyone knew about - by xiangfu
2) About a month later luke-jr created a pull request for the same change.
His code hadn't been tested on windows at all (which he said himself) and didn't work on windows.
3) I tested my code in my git on windows after getting my windows build environment working again
(my windows build environment had been dead for about a month so I hadn't pushed my changes to master cgminer yet)
and I found my code didn't work properly on windows either and made a change to fix it in my git
4) I tried my fix on his version on windows and it didn't work.
5) I created a pull request to master with my code (with the windows fix) that overrode his changes
6) He forked cgminer basically because of this.

My IRC comments in the cgminer channel coming up with the BFGMiner name well before the fork:
Quote
GMT+11

--- Log opened Thu Mar 01 01:00:52 2012
...
01:17 < luke-jr> good for them. no distro gets preference
...
14:16 < Sharky112065> Hmm.. I think conman should change cgminer's name to FGMiner.
14:16 < kanoi> FUMiner :)
14:17 < Sharky112065> :P
14:17 < kanoi> though GFMiner works as well :)
14:17 < Sharky112065> Well if it was FGMiner people could go either way ... FPGA/GPU Miner or Fucking Good/Great Miner.
14:18 < kanoi> BFGMiner? :)
14:18 < Sharky112065> Ah I see Great Fucking Miner works too :P
14:18 < Sharky112065> Oh I like that
14:19 < kanoi> B for bitcoin of course :)
14:19 < Sharky112065> Oh I thought you ment bfl
14:19 < kanoi> BFG the most well known acronym to FPS'ers :)
14:20 < kanoi> but also Bitcoin FPGA GPU :)
14:20 < Sharky112065> yep. I know.
14:20 < Sharky112065> Ie Big Fucking Gun
14:20 < kanoi> hmm I'm liking that name more and more :)
14:20 < kanoi> Yep
14:21 < kanoi> I'll suggest that V3.0 be BFGMiner - heh great idea IMO :)
14:22 < Sharky112065> Yep. I agree.
...

... and an amusing post ...
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.msg1369274#msg1369274

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
bitsolutions
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 261
Merit: 254



View Profile
May 15, 2015, 11:20:14 PM
 #23

Here's something I've been working on that should help out with making testing on the S1 and S3 safer, uboot http recovery interface. Once flashed it can be accessed by holding the reset button for 3 seconds after a reboot, this will be useful for those who don't have a ttl cable for recovery but still want to flash custom builds. I still need to make some changes and finalize the procedure for flashing uboot from within OpenWRT.


Mining Software Developer.
toptek
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274
Merit: 1000


View Profile
May 15, 2015, 11:47:45 PM
 #24

Here's something I've been working on that should help out with making testing on the S1 and S3 safer, uboot http recovery interface. Once flashed it can be accessed by holding the reset button for 3 seconds after a reboot, this will be useful for those who don't have a ttl cable for recovery but still want to flash custom builds. I still need to make some changes and finalize the procedure for flashing uboot from within OpenWRT.




WOW nice can't wait to try it out on my S3 just to test it .Will it work for S5 's later on ?.









cya

For security, your account has been locked. Email acctcomp15@theymos.e4ward.com
bitsolutions
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 261
Merit: 254



View Profile
May 15, 2015, 11:52:56 PM
 #25

WOW nice can't wait to try it out on my S3 just to test it .Will it work for S5 's later on ?.
cya
S5 just uses a SD card based recovery like the other beaglebone based AntMiners so it would be pointless there, it's also pretty specific to the chipset used on the S1 and S3 and porting it would not be easy.

Mining Software Developer.
toptek
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274
Merit: 1000


View Profile
May 16, 2015, 12:24:01 AM
 #26

WOW nice can't wait to try it out on my S3 just to test it .Will it work for S5 's later on ?.
cya
S5 just uses a SD card based recovery like the other beaglebone based AntMiners so it would be pointless there, it's also pretty specific to the chipset used on the S1 and S3 and porting it would not be easy.


Thought so was making sure . Smiley That came to mine after i asked .

TY



For security, your account has been locked. Email acctcomp15@theymos.e4ward.com
bitsolutions
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 261
Merit: 254



View Profile
May 27, 2015, 03:28:26 PM
 #27

Figured I would give an update on how things are going, the initial board support patch for the S1 has now been submitted for inclusion in mainline OpenWRT, S3 support should follow shortly after, there will probably some cleanup after that is done to get all the defaults set up properly.

Mining Software Developer.
Moebius327
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770
Merit: 500


ARNA | PreSale - September 21st


View Profile
May 28, 2015, 10:33:36 PM
 #28

Here's something I've been working on that should help out with making testing on the S1 and S3 safer, uboot http recovery interface. Once flashed it can be accessed by holding the reset button for 3 seconds after a reboot, this will be useful for those who don't have a ttl cable for recovery but still want to flash custom builds. I still need to make some changes and finalize the procedure for flashing uboot from within OpenWRT.



This would be a great option to have. Bitmain should implement this in their own firmware someday...

██ ██ ██
▄▄ ▄▄ ▄▄
▀▀ ▀▀ ▀▀
██ ██ ██
▄▄ ▄▄ ▄▄
▀▀ ▀▀ ▀▀
██ ██ ██
▄▄ ▄▄ ▄▄
▀▀ ▀▀ ▀▀
██ ██ ██
▄▄ ▄▄ ▄▄
▀▀ ▀▀ ▀▀
██ ██ ██
██ ██ ██
▄▄ ▄▄ ▄▄
▀▀ ▀▀ ▀▀
██ ██ ██
▄▄ ▄▄ ▄▄
▀▀ ▀▀ ▀▀
██ ██ ██
▄▄ ▄▄ ▄▄
▀▀ ▀▀ ▀▀
██ ██ ██
▄▄ ▄▄ ▄▄
▀▀ ▀▀ ▀▀
██ ██ ██
▄▄▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▄▄
▄█▀░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▀█▄
▄█▀░░░░░░░░██░██░██░░▀█▄
▄▀░░░░░░░▄▄░░░░░░░▄▄░░░░▀▄
▄█░░░░░░░░▀▀░░░░░░░▀▀░░░░░█▄
█░░░░░░██░░░░░░░░░░██░░░░░░█
█░░░░░░▄▄░▄▄░▄▄░▄▄░▄▄░░░░░░█
█░░░░░░▀▀░▀▀░▀▀░▀▀░▀▀░░░░░░█
▀█░░░░░██░░░░░░░░░░██░░░░░█▀
▀▄░░░░▄▄░░░░░░░░░░▄▄░░░░▄▀
▀█▄░░▀▀░░░░░░░░░░▀▀░░▄█▀
▀█▄░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▄█▀
▀▀▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▀▀
██ ██ ██
▄▄ ▄▄ ▄▄
▀▀ ▀▀ ▀▀
██ ██ ██
▄▄ ▄▄ ▄▄
▀▀ ▀▀ ▀▀
██ ██ ██
▄▄ ▄▄ ▄▄
▀▀ ▀▀ ▀▀
██ ██ ██
▄▄ ▄▄ ▄▄
▀▀ ▀▀ ▀▀
██ ██ ██
[.
.WHITEPAPER.
.ANN THREAD.
]██ ██ ██
▄▄ ▄▄ ▄▄
▀▀ ▀▀ ▀▀
██ ██ ██
▄▄ ▄▄ ▄▄
▀▀ ▀▀ ▀▀
██ ██ ██
▄▄ ▄▄ ▄▄
▀▀ ▀▀ ▀▀
██ ██ ██
▄▄ ▄▄ ▄▄
▀▀ ▀▀ ▀▀
██ ██ ██
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!