Bitcoin Forum
June 22, 2018, 04:26:10 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: [solved]No Connections and bitcoin command not found[solved]  (Read 4973 times)
jimmyw
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 252
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 05:41:12 AM
 #1

I'm running Natty under Kubuntu 64bit. I'm getting no connections at all. I tried adding the nodes using the following code from another thread on this forum:

Code:
bitcoin -addnode=69.164.218.197 -addnode=64.22.103.150 -addnode=173.242.112.53 -addnode=178.79.147.99 -addnode=184.106.111.41 -addnode=91.85.220.84 -addnode=173.224.125.222 -addnode=86.5.50.90 -addnode=178.255.199.86

I get:

Code:
bitcoin: command not found

I am using version 1.3.21 Any idea on what I should do?

1529641570
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529641570

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529641570
Reply with quote  #2

1529641570
Report to moderator
The World's Betting Exchange

Bet with play money. Win real Bitcoin. 5BTC Prize Fund for World Cup 2018.

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1529641570
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529641570

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529641570
Reply with quote  #2

1529641570
Report to moderator
1529641570
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529641570

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529641570
Reply with quote  #2

1529641570
Report to moderator
theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3066
Merit: 3194


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 05:50:26 AM
 #2

You need to tell your shell where the bitcoin binary is located. It varies by distribution, but you might try:
Code:
/usr/bin/bitcoin -addnode...
or
Code:
/usr/local/bin/bitcoin
or
Code:
~/.bitcoin/bitcoin

Use your file search utility if none of that works.

1NXYoJ5xU91Jp83XfVMHwwTUyZFK64BoAD
jimmyw
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 252
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 06:04:37 AM
 #3

You need to tell your shell where the bitcoin binary is located. It varies by distribution, but you might try:
Code:
/usr/bin/bitcoin -addnode...
or
Code:
/usr/local/bin/bitcoin
or
Code:
~/.bitcoin/bitcoin

Use your file search utility if none of that works.

The Binary is located in the 64 folder, the .bitcoin has no binary, but it does have a wallet.dat file. None of those commands worked, no matter what I tried. Still not sure how to get this thing going.

mewantsbitcoins
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 06:15:42 AM
 #4

navigate to that 64 directory and run
Code:
bitcoin -addnode=69.164.218.197 -addnode=64.22.103.150 -addnode=173.242.112.53 -addnode=178.79.147.99 -addnode=184.106.111.41 -addnode=91.85.220.84 -addnode=173.224.125.222 -addnode=86.5.50.90 -addnode=178.255.199.86
from there
if you want to be able to run it from anywhere either add that directory to your PATH or move bitcoin file to /bin/
jimmyw
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 252
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 06:21:15 AM
 #5

navigate to that 64 directory and run
Code:
bitcoin -addnode=69.164.218.197 -addnode=64.22.103.150 -addnode=173.242.112.53 -addnode=178.79.147.99 -addnode=184.106.111.41 -addnode=91.85.220.84 -addnode=173.224.125.222 -addnode=86.5.50.90 -addnode=178.255.199.86
from there
if you want to be able to run it from anywhere either add that directory to your PATH or move bitcoin file to /bin/

Lol, I've already done that since my first post, I'm still getting the same message.

mewantsbitcoins
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 06:24:45 AM
 #6

Done what exactly? Tried to change directory where the binary is and run the command, moved binary to /bin/ or added 64 directory to the PATH?

Also, can you navigate where your binary is, type:

Code:
ls -la
and post the output?
jimmyw
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 252
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 06:36:08 AM
 #7

Done what exactly? Tried to change directory where the binary is and run the command, moved binary to /bin/ or added 64 directory to the PATH?

Also, can you navigate where your binary is, type:

Code:
ls -la
and post the output?

When I first ran bitcoin, I had to do it from the 64 folder, so when I tried to add those nodes that you had posted on that other thread, the "bitcoin: command not found" is what I got in return.

This is what's in my 64 folder:
("****" is in place of my computer and user name, private info)
Code:
****@****n:~/bitcoin-0 1.3.21/bin/64$ ls -la
total 14980
drwxr-x--x 2 ****     4096 2011-04-27 10:59 .
drwxr-x--x 4 ****     4096 2011-04-15 10:09 ..
-rwxr-x--x 1 **** 11343968 2011-04-27 10:59 bitcoin
-rwxr-x--x 1 ****  3966464 2011-04-27 10:59 bitcoind
****@****:~/bitcoin-0 1.3.21/bin/64$

It's there, but when I try to add the nodes it says the command's not found :/

mewantsbitcoins
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 06:42:29 AM
 #8

Try

Code:
./bitcoin -addnode=69.164.218.197 -addnode=64.22.103.150 -addnode=173.242.112.53 -addnode=178.79.147.99 -addnode=184.106.111.41 -addnode=91.85.220.84 -addnode=173.224.125.222 -addnode=86.5.50.90 -addnode=178.255.199.86
jimmyw
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 252
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 06:46:08 AM
 #9

Try

Code:
./bitcoin -addnode=69.164.218.197 -addnode=64.22.103.150 -addnode=173.242.112.53 -addnode=178.79.147.99 -addnode=184.106.111.41 -addnode=91.85.220.84 -addnode=173.224.125.222 -addnode=86.5.50.90 -addnode=178.255.199.86

Hmm... Weird, it worked, but I could've sworn I tried that variation.

Thanks,

-Jimmy

mewantsbitcoins
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 06:48:42 AM
 #10

Oh, these versions 1.3.21 from the future seem to have compatibility issues  Wink
jimmyw
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 252
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 07:07:55 AM
 #11

Oh, these versions 1.3.21 from the future seem to have compatibility issues  Wink

Lol, yeah that's how on top of things I am.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!