Bitcoin Forum
April 19, 2024, 09:45:20 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 26.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: [solved]No Connections and bitcoin command not found[solved]  (Read 5168 times)
jimmyw (OP)
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 05:41:12 AM
Last edit: May 30, 2011, 06:46:42 AM by jimmyw
 #1

I'm running Natty under Kubuntu 64bit. I'm getting no connections at all. I tried adding the nodes using the following code from another thread on this forum:

Code:
bitcoin -addnode=69.164.218.197 -addnode=64.22.103.150 -addnode=173.242.112.53 -addnode=178.79.147.99 -addnode=184.106.111.41 -addnode=91.85.220.84 -addnode=173.224.125.222 -addnode=86.5.50.90 -addnode=178.255.199.86

I get:

Code:
bitcoin: command not found

I am using version 1.3.21 Any idea on what I should do?

Remember that Bitcoin is still beta software. Don't put all of your money into BTC!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1713563120
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1713563120

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1713563120
Reply with quote  #2

1713563120
Report to moderator
theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5166
Merit: 12865


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 05:50:26 AM
 #2

You need to tell your shell where the bitcoin binary is located. It varies by distribution, but you might try:
Code:
/usr/bin/bitcoin -addnode...
or
Code:
/usr/local/bin/bitcoin
or
Code:
~/.bitcoin/bitcoin

Use your file search utility if none of that works.

1NXYoJ5xU91Jp83XfVMHwwTUyZFK64BoAD
jimmyw (OP)
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 06:04:37 AM
 #3

You need to tell your shell where the bitcoin binary is located. It varies by distribution, but you might try:
Code:
/usr/bin/bitcoin -addnode...
or
Code:
/usr/local/bin/bitcoin
or
Code:
~/.bitcoin/bitcoin

Use your file search utility if none of that works.

The Binary is located in the 64 folder, the .bitcoin has no binary, but it does have a wallet.dat file. None of those commands worked, no matter what I tried. Still not sure how to get this thing going.

mewantsbitcoins
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 06:15:42 AM
 #4

navigate to that 64 directory and run
Code:
bitcoin -addnode=69.164.218.197 -addnode=64.22.103.150 -addnode=173.242.112.53 -addnode=178.79.147.99 -addnode=184.106.111.41 -addnode=91.85.220.84 -addnode=173.224.125.222 -addnode=86.5.50.90 -addnode=178.255.199.86
from there
if you want to be able to run it from anywhere either add that directory to your PATH or move bitcoin file to /bin/
jimmyw (OP)
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 06:21:15 AM
 #5

navigate to that 64 directory and run
Code:
bitcoin -addnode=69.164.218.197 -addnode=64.22.103.150 -addnode=173.242.112.53 -addnode=178.79.147.99 -addnode=184.106.111.41 -addnode=91.85.220.84 -addnode=173.224.125.222 -addnode=86.5.50.90 -addnode=178.255.199.86
from there
if you want to be able to run it from anywhere either add that directory to your PATH or move bitcoin file to /bin/

Lol, I've already done that since my first post, I'm still getting the same message.

mewantsbitcoins
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 06:24:45 AM
 #6

Done what exactly? Tried to change directory where the binary is and run the command, moved binary to /bin/ or added 64 directory to the PATH?

Also, can you navigate where your binary is, type:

Code:
ls -la
and post the output?
jimmyw (OP)
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 06:36:08 AM
 #7

Done what exactly? Tried to change directory where the binary is and run the command, moved binary to /bin/ or added 64 directory to the PATH?

Also, can you navigate where your binary is, type:

Code:
ls -la
and post the output?

When I first ran bitcoin, I had to do it from the 64 folder, so when I tried to add those nodes that you had posted on that other thread, the "bitcoin: command not found" is what I got in return.

This is what's in my 64 folder:
("****" is in place of my computer and user name, private info)
Code:
****@****n:~/bitcoin-0 1.3.21/bin/64$ ls -la
total 14980
drwxr-x--x 2 ****     4096 2011-04-27 10:59 .
drwxr-x--x 4 ****     4096 2011-04-15 10:09 ..
-rwxr-x--x 1 **** 11343968 2011-04-27 10:59 bitcoin
-rwxr-x--x 1 ****  3966464 2011-04-27 10:59 bitcoind
****@****:~/bitcoin-0 1.3.21/bin/64$

It's there, but when I try to add the nodes it says the command's not found :/

mewantsbitcoins
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 06:42:29 AM
 #8

Try

Code:
./bitcoin -addnode=69.164.218.197 -addnode=64.22.103.150 -addnode=173.242.112.53 -addnode=178.79.147.99 -addnode=184.106.111.41 -addnode=91.85.220.84 -addnode=173.224.125.222 -addnode=86.5.50.90 -addnode=178.255.199.86
jimmyw (OP)
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 06:46:08 AM
 #9

Try

Code:
./bitcoin -addnode=69.164.218.197 -addnode=64.22.103.150 -addnode=173.242.112.53 -addnode=178.79.147.99 -addnode=184.106.111.41 -addnode=91.85.220.84 -addnode=173.224.125.222 -addnode=86.5.50.90 -addnode=178.255.199.86

Hmm... Weird, it worked, but I could've sworn I tried that variation.

Thanks,

-Jimmy

mewantsbitcoins
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 06:48:42 AM
 #10

Oh, these versions 1.3.21 from the future seem to have compatibility issues  Wink
jimmyw (OP)
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 07:07:55 AM
 #11

Oh, these versions 1.3.21 from the future seem to have compatibility issues  Wink

Lol, yeah that's how on top of things I am.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!