Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 11:54:28 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: [SOLVED] Why transaction fee is so big?  (Read 3352 times)
742darek
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 08:34:26 PM
 #1

Hey
I just wanted to send 20BTC and I get this :

http://img151.imageshack.us/img151/5124/transaction.jpg

Isn't that too much for 20BTC transaction??
1480766068
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480766068

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480766068
Reply with quote  #2

1480766068
Report to moderator
"I'm sure that in 20 years there will either be very large transaction volume or no volume." -- Satoshi
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480766068
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480766068

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480766068
Reply with quote  #2

1480766068
Report to moderator
1480766068
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480766068

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480766068
Reply with quote  #2

1480766068
Report to moderator
vuce
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 08:35:59 PM
 #2

Hey
I just wanted to send 20BTC and I get this :



Isn't that too much for 20BTC transaction??
are this recently received funds?
742darek
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 08:40:28 PM
 #3

yes
vuce
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 08:48:42 PM
 #4

yes
Then you will have to wait a few blocks for it to get higher priority.
742darek
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 08:59:38 PM
 #5

but my last transaction was on 24 May ...
theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
expert
Offline Offline

Activity: 2492


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 09:00:53 PM
 #6

You must have received a ton of very small transactions. As a result, sending them all requires a lot of data. The fees are usually not so high.

1NXYoJ5xU91Jp83XfVMHwwTUyZFK64BoAD
FreeMoney
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


Strength in numbers


View Profile WWW
May 30, 2011, 09:07:23 PM
 #7

That's pretty ridiculous. Should he get a different version so he can save some?

Play Bitcoin Poker at sealswithclubs.eu. We're active and open to everyone.
theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
expert
Offline Offline

Activity: 2492


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 09:12:11 PM
 #8

That's pretty ridiculous. Should he get a different version so he can save some?

He's going to produce a transaction that's like 160 kB. He should pay a fee. No version of Bitcoin will pay a lower fee for a transaction this large.

1NXYoJ5xU91Jp83XfVMHwwTUyZFK64BoAD
742darek
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 09:15:26 PM
 #9

I have had 13 transatcions at all with amount like 0,5-3BTC per each ... Isn't taht too much for this kind of transactions? :/
theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
expert
Offline Offline

Activity: 2492


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 09:22:28 PM
 #10

If the total number of transactions you've sent/received is only 13, that fee is too high. Did you ever configure Bitcoin to pay a transaction fee above 0.01?

1NXYoJ5xU91Jp83XfVMHwwTUyZFK64BoAD
742darek
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 09:32:46 PM
 #11

This 13 transactions was received and I have not configured fee until now. I have started with 0.01 BTC fee but when I wanted to send bitcoins I've got the messege like this in this thread that at least 0.02 fee is needed so I configure to 0.02 and then I received that the 0.18 BTC fee is needed so I configure it and then I've got that the 0.58 is needed and in the end I stoped at "1.62". I am very upset with that situation, is there any solution for this ?
grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932



View Profile
May 30, 2011, 09:35:29 PM
 #12

This 13 transactions was received and I have not configured fee until now. I have started with 0.01 BTC fee but when I wanted to send bitcoins I've got the messege like this in this thread that at least 0.02 fee is needed so I configure to 0.02 and then I received that the 0.18 BTC fee is needed so I configure it and then I've got that the 0.58 is needed and in the end I stoped at "1.62". I am very upset with that situation, is there any solution for this ?
the fee that you're configuring is PER KB. not a flat fee. leave it at 0.01, and you will be fine

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
742darek
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 09:41:41 PM
 #13

ok thanks PROBLEM SOLVED ... I misunderstand that mechanism Smiley
ShadowOfHarbringer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470


Bringing Legendary Har® to you since 1952


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 10:37:57 PM
 #14

ok thanks PROBLEM SOLVED ... I misunderstand that mechanism Smiley

I don't think the problem is really solved... 0.3.21 calculates the (EDIT: necessity of) fees wrongly. I had the same problem (popup saying i need a fee when trying to send ~10 BTC received within last hour ), i downgraded to 0.3.20 and it let me send immediately.
After that, i got 3 confirmations after about 45 minutes. So fee was not really neded at all.

Sorry guys, but the new "newbie friendly" fee algorithm is totally crap to say the least.

chiropteran
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 348



View Profile WWW
May 31, 2011, 08:36:43 PM
 #15

You must have received a ton of very small transactions. As a result, sending them all requires a lot of data. The fees are usually not so high.

I'm a newbie here, but this sets off a red flag in my mind.  If bitcoins really take off and end up being used for micro-transactions all over, won't this occur more and more often?  It just seems to me that as time goes on bitcoins will get more and more "fragmented" and split into tiny chunks, such that when you do need to spend a large amount it's going to be a "lot of data".  

It seems that transaction fees will inexhaustibly increase without bound as time goes on and the data required just goes up and up.  Is there something I am missing that handles this issue?

grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932



View Profile
May 31, 2011, 09:39:38 PM
 #16

You must have received a ton of very small transactions. As a result, sending them all requires a lot of data. The fees are usually not so high.

I'm a newbie here, but this sets off a red flag in my mind.  If bitcoins really take off and end up being used for micro-transactions all over, won't this occur more and more often?  It just seems to me that as time goes on bitcoins will get more and more "fragmented" and split into tiny chunks, such that when you do need to spend a large amount it's going to be a "lot of data". 

It seems that transaction fees will inexhaustibly increase without bound as time goes on and the data required just goes up and up.  Is there something I am missing that handles this issue?
transaction fees reflect the cost to process each transaction, so it will be adjusted over updates.

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
Garrett Burgwardt
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350



View Profile
May 31, 2011, 09:57:14 PM
 #17

You must have received a ton of very small transactions. As a result, sending them all requires a lot of data. The fees are usually not so high.

I'm a newbie here, but this sets off a red flag in my mind.  If bitcoins really take off and end up being used for micro-transactions all over, won't this occur more and more often?  It just seems to me that as time goes on bitcoins will get more and more "fragmented" and split into tiny chunks, such that when you do need to spend a large amount it's going to be a "lot of data". 

It seems that transaction fees will inexhaustibly increase without bound as time goes on and the data required just goes up and up.  Is there something I am missing that handles this issue?
transaction fees reflect the cost to process each transaction, so it will be adjusted over updates.

More importantly, they are client specific. If you want a client that can send regardless of wait time or fee suggested by the reference client, make it.

Additionally, bitcoin isn't meant for micropayments.
theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
expert
Offline Offline

Activity: 2492


View Profile
May 31, 2011, 10:05:11 PM
 #18

I'm a newbie here, but this sets off a red flag in my mind.  If bitcoins really take off and end up being used for micro-transactions all over, won't this occur more and more often?  It just seems to me that as time goes on bitcoins will get more and more "fragmented" and split into tiny chunks, such that when you do need to spend a large amount it's going to be a "lot of data".  

It seems that transaction fees will inexhaustibly increase without bound as time goes on and the data required just goes up and up.  Is there something I am missing that handles this issue?

Transactions can also be combined. This is what the OP did: he combined ~13 inputs into one output. If the recipient wants to send that same amount later, the transaction will only be about 220 bytes.

1NXYoJ5xU91Jp83XfVMHwwTUyZFK64BoAD
qikaifu
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


God creats math and math creats bitcoin.


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 02:20:10 PM
 #19

I'm a newbie here, but this sets off a red flag in my mind.  If bitcoins really take off and end up being used for micro-transactions all over, won't this occur more and more often?  It just seems to me that as time goes on bitcoins will get more and more "fragmented" and split into tiny chunks, such that when you do need to spend a large amount it's going to be a "lot of data".  

It seems that transaction fees will inexhaustibly increase without bound as time goes on and the data required just goes up and up.  Is there something I am missing that handles this issue?

Transactions can also be combined. This is what the OP did: he combined ~13 inputs into one output. If the recipient wants to send that same amount later, the transaction will only be about 220 bytes.

Do you mean that even if we start to use UTC, the transaction fee won't be too much?

If you see any of my suggestions useful, please donate me. http://btc.to/ec
Dansker
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 740


Hello world!


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 03:48:25 PM
 #20

So there was never an issue to begin with?

Seems crazy that so much can be charged!

Also: Who decides how much is charged? What if you can't even pay the fee?

Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!