Bitcoin Forum
August 20, 2018, 09:55:00 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: The combined sidehack-novak usb stick review thread. AKA GekkoScience BM1384  (Read 26052 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2198
Merit: 1293


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
June 10, 2015, 12:15:22 AM
 #1

This will be the thread for the beta testers of sidehack-novak's adjustable  usb sticks.

I am one of 4 or 5 testers.

I will make it self mod to keep it clean.

I just got mine and I am stuck.

Not because the stick or the gear is an issue.  Basically I have not done a bat file for cg miner in a year and do not remember how to do it.

I will post a few photos .

the stick loaded as com3

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
1534758900
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534758900

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534758900
Reply with quote  #2

1534758900
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1534758900
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534758900

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534758900
Reply with quote  #2

1534758900
Report to moderator
1534758900
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534758900

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534758900
Reply with quote  #2

1534758900
Report to moderator
1534758900
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534758900

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534758900
Reply with quote  #2

1534758900
Report to moderator
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2198
Merit: 1293


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
June 10, 2015, 12:15:55 AM
 #2

I am 1 reviewer . lots of photos and info.

I am using 3.1 watts to get 9.5gh any drop on the charts was my issue not the sticks.


full size link

http://imageshack.com/a/img538/421/3yEN5R.png



I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2198
Merit: 1293


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
June 10, 2015, 12:16:23 AM
 #3

For the next reviewers.

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2198
Merit: 1293


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
June 10, 2015, 12:18:10 AM
 #4

Locked for the next little bit.

all reviewers  shoot me a pm


all others be patient .

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2198
Merit: 1293


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
June 11, 2015, 03:15:27 PM
 #5

photos

full size


http://imageshack.com/a/img537/8740/IM9WVH.jpg
http://imageshack.com/a/img905/450/b5G9Vn.jpg
http://imageshack.com/a/img912/5105/91rjyM.jpg
http://imageshack.com/a/img661/6357/caamyC.jpg
http://imageshack.com/a/img537/3305/Xlot8L.jpg

this is cgminer 4.9.1   I need a bat file



this is my start file/bat file empty due to lack of memory (58 year old minds work like this)



the test stick


note watts 28.4   if I unplug the usb hub i drop to 25 watts




one more shot of stick

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1792
Merit: 1126

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
June 11, 2015, 03:28:55 PM
 #6

If it enumerated as a COM port, you need to install the WinUSB driver for hotplug support and such (Zadig) which will allow cgminer to detect it natively. You'll also want to include "--au3-freq xxx" in the command line, where "xxx" is a valid operating frequency. According to the code I'm seeing (AntMiner U3 is under the Icarus driver), valid frequencies (and their associated per-chip GH/s) are:

   100      5.5   
   125      6.88   
   150      8.25   
   175      9.63   
   193.75      10.66   
   196.88      10.83   
   200      11   
   206.25      11.34   
   212.5      11.69   
   218.75      12.03   
   225      12.38   
   237.5      13.06   
   243.75      13.41   
   250      13.75   


The command line I use is "cgminer.exe -o stratum.mining.eligius.st:3334 -u 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr -p x --au3-volt 0 --au3-freq 150"

The --au3-volt is not really necessary, since the voltage is not software-adjustable on the Compac.

philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2198
Merit: 1293


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
June 11, 2015, 03:38:35 PM
 #7

thanks I will load zadig and set bat file

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Mikestang
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1000



View Profile
June 11, 2015, 04:12:07 PM
 #8

Since this is using the U3 stuff in cgminer, you may want to use cgminer 4.9.0.  4.9.1 does not recognize the U3, it's a known bug, so don't know if that will affect this stick.

You probably also want to add --suggest-diff 1 to your .bat file so that your stick starts at a reasonable pool diff.


If it enumerated as a COM port, you need to install the WinUSB driver for hotplug support and such (Zadig) which will allow cgminer to detect it natively.
Is there a way to do this without using Zadig?  I have a computer that refuses to complete the Zadig installation, so I need to find another way to do what Zadig does.
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1792
Merit: 1126

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
June 11, 2015, 04:17:46 PM
 #9

I've not used suggest-diff but that's probably a good idea. Eligius starts out at 128, which this stick should see about 7 instead.

The 4.9.1 compiled into the latest Minera build works fine, but I've been testing with 4.9.0 on Windows so I can verify it's good.

I think the drivers can be found external to Zadig and possibly installed manually. I've not tried. My Win7 desk machine has never taken kindly to Zadig installer.

AJRGale
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 765
Merit: 500



View Profile
June 11, 2015, 04:25:31 PM
 #10

Since this is using the U3 stuff in cgminer, you may want to use cgminer 4.9.0.  4.9.1 does not recognize the U3, it's a known bug, so don't know if that will affect this stick.

You probably also want to add --suggest-diff 1 to your .bat file so that your stick starts at a reasonable pool diff.


If it enumerated as a COM port, you need to install the WinUSB driver for hotplug support and such (Zadig) which will allow cgminer to detect it natively.
Is there a way to do this without using Zadig?  I have a computer that refuses to complete the Zadig installation, so I need to find another way to do what Zadig does.

could do a 'buntu run, need to give permissions to the com port though, 0224 hours here, so not up to pulling info right now, if you need it, pm me, i'll look for it about 0900
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2198
Merit: 1293


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
June 11, 2015, 05:47:07 PM
 #11

Since this is using the U3 stuff in cgminer, you may want to use cgminer 4.9.0.  4.9.1 does not recognize the U3, it's a known bug, so don't know if that will affect this stick.

You probably also want to add --suggest-diff 1 to your .bat file so that your stick starts at a reasonable pool diff.


If it enumerated as a COM port, you need to install the WinUSB driver for hotplug support and such (Zadig) which will allow cgminer to detect it natively.
Is there a way to do this without using Zadig?  I have a computer that refuses to complete the Zadig installation, so I need to find another way to do what Zadig does.

yeah this win 7 is not liking zadig.  I am going to strip this back.

I had a fear of this issue I have another pc to try on. and I am building a pc next week.

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
alh
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526
Merit: 1011


View Profile
June 11, 2015, 06:52:33 PM
 #12

Does anybody know if bfgminer supports the U3? It's been over 9 months since I worried about USB stick mining, and haven't kept up with support in bfgminer.

I too found the Zadig/Windows interaction to be quite frustrating. I ultimately went to the Raspberry Pi realm, which I found a bit more stable.
HerbPean
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484
Merit: 1000



View Profile
June 11, 2015, 06:53:07 PM
 #13

Since this is using the U3 stuff in cgminer, you may want to use cgminer 4.9.0.  4.9.1 does not recognize the U3, it's a known bug, so don't know if that will affect this stick.

You probably also want to add --suggest-diff 1 to your .bat file so that your stick starts at a reasonable pool diff.


If it enumerated as a COM port, you need to install the WinUSB driver for hotplug support and such (Zadig) which will allow cgminer to detect it natively.
Is there a way to do this without using Zadig?  I have a computer that refuses to complete the Zadig installation, so I need to find another way to do what Zadig does.

yeah this win 7 is not liking zadig.  I am going to strip this back.

I had a fear of this issue I have another pc to try on. and I am building a pc next week.

Phil, I run the zadig driver without issue on my Win7. I have 7 S1 blades running with that driver and some CP2102.

I think the CGminer I run was modify to be able to do that. I run CGMiner 4.7.0.

I can send you my executable if you wanna try.

Here's from the thread => https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=671128.680

Quote

short summary:

we connected the antminer blades to cp2102 usb sticks, and got cgminer to mine at full speed, repo:
https://github.com/FireWalkerX/cgminer-bmsc.git
edit: compile : ./autogen.sh --enable-bmsc;make

windows:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/iuj9fz6zt8qm3q9/cgminer-bmsc.zip?dl=0

underclocked the antminers, per instructions from here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=526060.0

i never recieved the prototype from j4bberwock, so, im guessing we will have to settle for the cp2102 usb sticks,
next, well, since it can still pay to use my s1 boards underclocked ill keep them running for now, and looking for the next project :-p

that about covers it



Hope it helps !


EDIT: Also, make sure within zadig, to install the correct winusb driver for the USB your device is connected (Go in Option => Show all Devices)

EDIT2: I guess the bmsc option won't work with the unit tho ... Sad
Mikestang
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1000



View Profile
June 11, 2015, 07:00:47 PM
 #14

Does anybody know if bfgminer supports the U3? It's been over 9 months since I worried about USB stick mining, and haven't kept up with support in bfgminer. 

The latest version, 5.2.0, has U3 support, although there are mixed results between users.
kingcolex
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1568
Merit: 1006


Anonymous bitcoin mixer


View Profile
June 11, 2015, 07:02:06 PM
 #15

What is the hashrate per chip supposed to be? I haven't been following this as closely as I have want'ed to do.














 

 

█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
BitBlender 

 













 















 












 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
hurricandave
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 945
Merit: 1000



View Profile
June 11, 2015, 07:08:13 PM
 #16

Its usually Windows Defender that is the stick in the mud between Win7 and Zadig. You need to check and see which program Defender is blocking or adjust the security level long enough to let Zadig install then place it in the allowed list within Defender. Don't forget, to get Zadig to work, you need to let the siliconlabs driver install first then run Zadig as Administrator.
alh
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526
Merit: 1011


View Profile
June 11, 2015, 07:08:54 PM
 #17

What is the hashrate per chip supposed to be? I haven't been following this as closely as I have want'ed to do.

Go back up about 8-9 posts, and you'll find a table of frequency/hashrate. That's for one chip, which is what this stick has.
kingcolex
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1568
Merit: 1006


Anonymous bitcoin mixer


View Profile
June 11, 2015, 07:10:45 PM
 #18

What is the hashrate per chip supposed to be? I haven't been following this as closely as I have want'ed to do.

Go back up about 8-9 posts, and you'll find a table of frequency/hashrate. That's for one chip, which is what this stick has.
Oh ok i thought that was for the U3 chip and this is using a different chip isn't it?














 

 

█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
BitBlender 

 













 















 












 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
alh
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526
Merit: 1011


View Profile
June 11, 2015, 07:17:36 PM
 #19

What is the hashrate per chip supposed to be? I haven't been following this as closely as I have want'ed to do.

Go back up about 8-9 posts, and you'll find a table of frequency/hashrate. That's for one chip, which is what this stick has.
Oh ok i thought that was for the U3 chip and this is using a different chip isn't it?

Sidehack or Novak might have to weigh in here, but I think the table was derived by measurements from sidehack. The U3 connection is that it identifies to the driver/miner software as a U3, even though it obviously isn't a U3.

That's how I understand it, but I've been wrong before as my wife likes to say....  Smiley
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1792
Merit: 1126

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
June 11, 2015, 07:22:44 PM
 #20

Its usually Windows Defender that is the stick in the mud between Win7 and Zadig. You need to check and see which program Defender is blocking or adjust the security level long enough to let Zadig install then place it in the allowed list within Defender. Don't forget, to get Zadig to work, you need to let the siliconlabs driver install first then run Zadig as Administrator.

Zadig has never worked on both Win7 systems I've tried to put it on in the last couple years. I have the silabs driver working fine, used it on an older cgminer for TheRealSteve's block erupter competition. But Zadig installer has never worked, and it's not because of any Windows security garbage.

What is the hashrate per chip supposed to be? I haven't been following this as closely as I have want'ed to do.

Go back up about 8-9 posts, and you'll find a table of frequency/hashrate. That's for one chip, which is what this stick has.
Oh ok i thought that was for the U3 chip and this is using a different chip isn't it?

The U3 uses four BM1382 (same as S3/S4); the miner he's testing has a single BM1384 (same as S5) on it. The table was frequencies cgminer understands for the U3, but the listed hashrates are what the BM1384 will do with those frequencies. It's a 55-core chip, so MHz to GH/s is times 0.055

Also, if you have a Raspberry Pi, I ran five sticks off the stock cgminer in the latest Minera build without any problems. If you don't want to screw with the overly scripted and weighty web UI, just ssh into the pi and do stuff from there.

The bulk of this information is already presented in the GekkoScience BM1384 Dev thread, so don't be too surprised if it gets pared out of this review thread. But for now, there it is.

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!