Bitcoin Forum
August 21, 2017, 06:45:15 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Is Crossfire required for quad video card mining?  (Read 1863 times)
Jeff
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
May 31, 2011, 04:22:08 PM
 #1

So I have parts on the way for a quad video card (5870s) mining machine and am wondering if I'll need to set them up in crossfire in order to mine with each of the GPUs.

If no, would I need to hook up a monitor to each video card to "activate" it?

If yes, is there such a thing as a quad video card crossfire bridge?  I've only ever seen the two card bridges... how do you setup quad crossfire?

Thanks,
Jeff
1503297915
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503297915

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503297915
Reply with quote  #2

1503297915
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988



View Profile
May 31, 2011, 04:23:44 PM
 #2

use dummy plugs (search for them), no need for crossfire

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
ensign_lee
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 510



View Profile
May 31, 2011, 04:27:09 PM
 #3

If you have windows, then yes, each device will have to be activated using either an actual monitor or a dummy plug for monitors. This is not necessary in Linux.

OR, you can crossfire them. Each card has two bridges. You just connect 1 to 2, 2 to 3, and 3 to 4. (each being a video card obviously). cards 2 and 3 will be using both bridges, while cards 1 and 4 can just have 1

CENTRA

            ▄▄▄██████████▄▄▄
        ▄▄████████████████████▄▄
      ▄███████▀▀         ▀▀███████▄
    ▄█████▀                  ▀██████
   █████▀      ▄▄▄█████▄▄      ▀█████▄
  █████     ▄██████████████▄     ▀████▄
 █████     ██████▀▀  ▀▀██████▄    ▀████
▐████     █████          █████     █████
█████    ▐████                     ▐████
█████    █████                     ▐████
█████     █████          ▄████▌    █████
 ████▌    ▀█████▄▄    ▄▄█████▀    ▄████▌
 ▀████▄     ▀██████████████▀     ▄████▀
  ▀█████▄     `▀████████▀▀     ▄█████▀
   `██████▄                  ▄██████
     ▀███████▄▄          ▄▄███████▀
       ▀██████████████████████▀
           ▀▀▀█████████████▀▀

.
.
.
.
REF
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 527


View Profile
May 31, 2011, 04:29:45 PM
 #4

No.

If you are using Linux you dont need monitors of dummy plugs. With win7 past 2 GpUs you need plugs/ monitors.

Iv seen 3x cross fire. So I assume 4 will work also. It requires 3x regular crossfire cables.

If it's a dedi miner I recommend Linuxcoin

Edit: damn you beat me to it.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!